Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

What has impressed me as a Board Member of La Casa Norte is the extent to which the people and the organization will extend itself to make a difference. Instead of just trying to work within the system, LCN employees actively try to help change the system to better serve their clients. They have a deep respect for those they serve, and reach out to those in need with full hearts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I don't have direct experience with LCN, but I have a number of good friends who have volunteered here. All of them have been just over the moon about their experiences--they love the people who work there, they think the mission is wonderful, and they feel like La Casa Norte actually gets things done. That combination is hard to come by.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte during a winter coat drive. I had the opportunity to meet and talk with members of the community who came in because they needed winter coats. La Casa Norte was filling a very real need and it was amazing to work with their staff while spending time with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I helped to give out winter coats to people they needed them. Even though I just volunteered for like 3 hours did it seem that it helped a lot. Also was it awesome to see how happy we made some people, especially kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte as part of project for my Master's program at DePaul. I spent a day at Solid Ground, LCN's male-intentional transitional housing facility for youth ages 16 to 21, and I could not have had a better experience. The residents, staff members, and I made lunch together, played games, and had a wide breadth of conversations, discussing everything from superheroes and movies to bullying, conflict resolution, drug use, and higher education. Besides having an excellent facility, it was clear to me that the staff and interns are committed to providing an educational experience for all residents and, most of all, promoting their autonomy and putting them on a path to independence. I was also blown away by the residents at Solid Ground, who were warm, welcoming, creative, and intellectually curious. I can't wait to spend more time at La Casa Norte.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte this past summer through a social service internship. Though I was expecting to learn from and enjoy my time at LCN, I was not prepared for it to be such a life-changing experience. LCN is truly the definition of an effective non-profit. On my first day at LCN, Sol Flores, the organization's Executive Director, told me never to worry about interrupting any staff member if it was to serve a client, because service to the clients was the reason for LCN's existence and the most important goal each day. As a new intern, this was extremely empowering and is also exemplary of the passion, dedication, humbleness, and ethos of service that pervades the organization. The staff of LCN believe strongly in their mission and strive to best serve each client that walks through their doors each day. As an intern, I carried out a project where I interviewed long-term clients of LCN, and each client that I spoke with identified LCN as a major factor in assisting them and helping them to get on their feet. I personally witnessed this each day as I saw caseworkers, therapists, and Sol form strong connections with clients and go above and beyond to serve them. Though LCN is doing an amazing service for the community, the organization is not content to remain where it is, but constantly strives to do even more. Within a few years, LCN will consolidate its services in one, first-of-its-kind center, and will be able to better assist clients with a true wrap-around model. LCN is an amazing place with a clear mission. Each staff member strives to serve the clients and continue to improve their services. La Casa Norte is, to me, the definition of an effective non-profit, and I will always be grateful for the time that I spent at such an inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

i live in the community and also work as a professional in the field and so see this organization from a few vantage points. Number one, they provide excellent service to youth in the community. Their Programs offer emergency support and from there engage youth in positive Programs that go way beyond the crisis that often brings them into the organization. At a time when youth are starving for positive opportunities, LaCasa Norte is that positive influence. I love that the organization is vibrant young leadership as well. They stand above the best. There is also a very strong vision for their future and the well being of this community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As an Executive Director for another nonprofit organization in Chicago, I can speak both professionally and personally to the excellence of Casa Norte. These are very difficult times in the nonprofit arena particularly in Illinois with one of the largest state deficits across the country and continuous cuts to human services and at-risk populations such as the population served by Casa Norte. However, Casa Norte has not only continued to survive but thrive in a difficult economic climate. This growth also comes without sacrificing the individual attention, dedication, and professionalism that allows this organization to treat every individual that comes through their door with dignity and respect. On a personal level, my peer and colleague Sol Flores is one of the most energetic and visionary Executive Directors I have ever met. And this leadership is a major factor in the success and expansion of this organization. It is a privilege to share a mission of service with Casa Norte.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

La Casa Norte is a vital nonprofit servicing an a community that is often overlooked and starved for resources. The work done to help men and homeless youth in and around Chicago brought light to the needs of a niche group I as a member of the community do not give much thought to. One assumes youth have many resources made available to them by the state or federal government. But what happens if a person is in their early 20s and needs help? La Casa Norte not only works to provide education and resources, the end goal is to help each participant attain the skills they need to procure resources for themselves and live productive, independent lives. I am proud to know such an organization is working tirelessly in Chicago and to know the reach of their work extends beyond our neighborhoods.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been on the Board of La Casa Norte (LCN) for now almost two years but have known about their work since the beginning, ten years ago. What most amazes me about LCN work is how much they/us try to bring the mission to life! Whether at a Board meeting, fundraising event or working with staff or other volunteers on different projects, you always get this sense that its more than just about solving individual problems. It's about a greater purpose and the need to change how we as society understand, think and feel about homelessness in this country. I know, when I hear about what is being done and the impact it has not just on the families or individuals but on the systems then I feel a great sense hope for the future. Finally, when I talk with my friends and colleagues about LCN, I have sense of confidence and pride. Because I know the approach or strategies LCN uses are bringing about real change as they serve those families and individuals who are homeless and are hoping for a better future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!

Administrative assistance
Annual gala
Clothing closet organizers
Computer lab
Front desk greeter
Garden club
Home cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youth
Holiday wrapping party
Holiday party for youth & families
Hunger Walk
Mentors
Painting & Spring cleaning
Professional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketing
Tutoring

THANK YOU! Volunteer