Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I feel that La Casa Norte has found a uniquely profound way to give back to the Chicago-land community facing homelessness. For instance, its Solid Ground program aids those youth who have been displaced from their homes in a way that encourages the individuals through participation in their recovery and in their continued education instead of just providing a simple hand-out. Through commitment, coaching, encouragement, and participation, I have seen first-hand how LCN opens doors for individuals who simply need a chance to get a do-over in life. It's a small but powerful and forceful nonprofit that is very focused on its mission.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I’m from Chile, and I lived in Chicago this year studying English for four months at Intrax. At school I applied to volunteer at La Casa Norte to be able to practice my English skills in an American office. What a surprise I had when I was there at LCN- I could do more than that! I didn´t just achieve my goal, and learn about planning and organization, but also about commitment. LCN staff endorses their goals, working hard to achieve them. They work with love for everyone, taking care of every detail. They are a great team, with a motivating leader, who is able to give them the vision and energy to reach each goal. I spent 12 hours a week working in the fundraising and development department. It was a great experience that included market research, developing a value proposition and visiting the potential sponsors for the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. I wanted something to grow professionally, but this experience gave me the opportunity to grow beyond what I could expect
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been in touch with LCN over the last few years and I believe it more than exceeds my expectations. The level of service to a under served population in Humboldt Park is absolutely amazing. Originally, I became acquainted with LCN just to gain information, but soon became a member of the board when I realized the immense amount of amazing work they do for the community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have recently started working with LCN and I also attended the annual fundraising event. I have found that the people at LCN really make the organization what it is. I have witnessed a level of investment and generosity of time that is not always apparent when you are dealing with the need to give time to others. In addition there is a variety of ways to contribute and appreciation is always expressed no matter what you do. I think the long range vision of the organization is ambitious but grounded and the efforts to impact the city of Chicago that LCN is making are very admirable.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I volunteered for LCN once a week @ their drop-in center and I can honestly say it was the best, most inclusive, and welcoming space I have ever had the honor of working in. The staff is beyond kind and friendly to volunteers and you can tell they care about/take their jobs very seriously. The mission here is so important and the staff of this agency works incredibly hard to make sure that needs of their youth are being met. I was more than happy to volunteer for La Casa Norte and hope others will follow suit.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I was a volunteer at La Casa Norte last year and I was blown away at all the different things they do to help people who are facing homelessness. Many organizations just set up housing, or just pass out food, but La Casa Norte does it all. They have housing for teens, a free clothing closet that is full of nice clothes that range in use, and many other services that act as catalysts to help those in need. I stand for everything La Casa Norte does, and really do believe they are one of the greatest organizations in the greater Chicago area.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I work as a Student Advisor for Intrax, which is an English school located in downtown Chicago. During the past year, I established a partnership with La Casa Norte for our Career Preparation Activity, where students have the opportunity to help local businesses as volunteer workers. LCN has been an excellent host company, exposing our students to the inner-workings of a local non-profit and helping them improve their English and develop professional skills. It has been a pleasure working with SommerAnn and Jessica, and we really appreciate the rewarding experiences our students have had with them. Through this partnership, we have also been able to participate in various charity events, such as Christmas gift wrapping last year and this year's Hunger Walk. We are excited to continue working with La Casa Norte, and we value the work they do!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

As a Service Learning Coordinator at a local Chicago high school, I cannot say enough positive things about the mission and staff of La Casa Norte. Our students have helped sort items in the clothing closet, we painted one of LCN's facilities, and prepared a meal for the young adults LCN's provides a home to. LCN, however, continues to go above and beyond in not only providing volunteer opportunities for our students, but educating them on the plight of homelessness in Chicago and empowering students with hope in what work is being done (and what work they themselves can do) to make a positive difference. I had a student volunteer at La Casa Norte and reflect, "I didn't realize there were so many children in Chicago living without food. I want to learn more about why this is happening," while another student shared, "My family has almost been homeless. I'm glad I could come and help, even if in a small way." LCN's supportive and hard working staff has really opened the eyes of our students and welcome them to take an active role in the LCN mission. We are truly blessed to have LCN as a model partner in our Service Learning program.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Junjia Xi (Jenny) I have worked as a volunteer in La Casa Norte for more than two months. Working in La Casa Norte is a really great experience for me. I am excited to work here to help those homeless youth especially one day I helped with doing the photo shot. I can feel the happiness from those homeless youths when they saw the pictures i took for them. Also, people in this organization are nice to me and I learned a lot from the volunteer experience.
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am impressed with their youth work and organizational leadership. Their cause is important and worthy of ongoing support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity to serve more youth and families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!Administrative assistanceAnnual galaClothing closet organizersComputer labFront desk greeterGarden clubHome cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youthHoliday wrapping partyHoliday party for youth & familiesHunger WalkMentorsPainting & Spring cleaningProfessional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketingTutoringTHANK YOU! Volunteer