Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I recently joined La Casa Norte's Next Generation Board a few months ago after learning more about their mission to support at-risk youth and families in Chicago who are at risk or facing homelessness. The members of this organization are change-agents for good, and I have seen their commitment to this mission first hand. It is an exceptional organization to support and be a part of, and they are making a difference right here in Chicago every day.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I have been on the Next Generation Board for almost a year; after a few years of attending events and doing volunteer work. It's truly been an honor to be a part of such a dedicated, passionate organization that has produced voluminous results in fighting homelessness in Chicago. Hearing first hand accounts from the youths and families that have been helped by LCN is definitely inspiring and of course inspires me to do what I can to help others who are in the same, or similar type of position. LCN has accomplished so much in the twelve years that they've been open, and there is no end of further accomplishment in the present and foreseeable future.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been involved with this organization for about a year. Their comittment to the community and passion for serving clients is amazing. The organization is also efficient and creative in the way it delivers its services.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I joined the Next Generation Board after listening to leaders from LCN speak about the organization's mission at a work event. Working with LCN has been a wonderful experience so far, and it feels great to work with such an incredible group of entrepreneurial, compassionate, and driven individuals to pursue the mission of fighting homelessness.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to help cook lunch for the residents of Solid Ground as part of a volunteer effort through my workplace. I found both the staff and residents to be friendly and helpful. The services that are provided by LCN and Solid Ground are extensive and very much appreciated by the residents and the community. The staff is highly personable and professional and I was glad that I was able to be a part of their resources, if only for one day.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I feel that La Casa Norte has found a uniquely profound way to give back to the Chicago-land community facing homelessness. For instance, its Solid Ground program aids those youth who have been displaced from their homes in a way that encourages the individuals through participation in their recovery and in their continued education instead of just providing a simple hand-out. Through commitment, coaching, encouragement, and participation, I have seen first-hand how LCN opens doors for individuals who simply need a chance to get a do-over in life. It's a small but powerful and forceful nonprofit that is very focused on its mission.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I’m from Chile, and I lived in Chicago this year studying English for four months at Intrax. At school I applied to volunteer at La Casa Norte to be able to practice my English skills in an American office. What a surprise I had when I was there at LCN- I could do more than that! I didn´t just achieve my goal, and learn about planning and organization, but also about commitment. LCN staff endorses their goals, working hard to achieve them. They work with love for everyone, taking care of every detail. They are a great team, with a motivating leader, who is able to give them the vision and energy to reach each goal. I spent 12 hours a week working in the fundraising and development department. It was a great experience that included market research, developing a value proposition and visiting the potential sponsors for the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. I wanted something to grow professionally, but this experience gave me the opportunity to grow beyond what I could expect
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been in touch with LCN over the last few years and I believe it more than exceeds my expectations. The level of service to a under served population in Humboldt Park is absolutely amazing. Originally, I became acquainted with LCN just to gain information, but soon became a member of the board when I realized the immense amount of amazing work they do for the community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have recently started working with LCN and I also attended the annual fundraising event. I have found that the people at LCN really make the organization what it is. I have witnessed a level of investment and generosity of time that is not always apparent when you are dealing with the need to give time to others. In addition there is a variety of ways to contribute and appreciation is always expressed no matter what you do. I think the long range vision of the organization is ambitious but grounded and the efforts to impact the city of Chicago that LCN is making are very admirable.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I volunteered for LCN once a week @ their drop-in center and I can honestly say it was the best, most inclusive, and welcoming space I have ever had the honor of working in. The staff is beyond kind and friendly to volunteers and you can tell they care about/take their jobs very seriously. The mission here is so important and the staff of this agency works incredibly hard to make sure that needs of their youth are being met. I was more than happy to volunteer for La Casa Norte and hope others will follow suit.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!Administrative assistanceAnnual galaClothing closet organizersComputer labFront desk greeterGarden clubHome cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youthHoliday wrapping partyHoliday party for youth & familiesHunger WalkMentorsPainting & Spring cleaningProfessional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketingTutoringTHANK YOU! Volunteer