Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have been with La Casa de las Madres for 6 months now and I couldn't be happier. The work this organization does is incredible, and so vital to the well being of our community. Domestic violence is a public health issue that needs to be addressed and stopped, La Casa is such an important and strong voice in the fight to end abuse. I am honored to be a part of an organization so completely dedicated to this movement.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In the 3 years that I have worked with La Casa I have been able to see countless lives be changed in both immediate and long-lasting ways. Time and again when people find out that I work for La Casa, they share an experience of having learned valuable information from a presentation done by our Teen Program or Outreach and Education program; they share of having received support on the crisis line or having referred a friend to our Drop In Center; other service providers share of their positive experiences working with our advocates to get mutual clients into shelter or support in working towards a restraining order. Over the years here I have provided clinical counseling, run support groups, done presentations, answered the crisis line and now manage the Community Programs. I know from both first hand client feedback and second hand feedback from other advocates and members of the community that La Casa provides crucial services in a caring and respectful manner.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have been working with Casa De Las Madres for over 13 years. I have seen them help many, many women and children. One of those women was my Grandchild who got pregnant at 15. They provided safe housing for her and her baby when she was in a domestic violent relationship. They helped her find resources and even provided a therapist for her. My granddaughter is now 30 and still asks about her therapist and some of the counselors from La Casa who worked with and helped her during that time period. Because I too work with survivors of violence, they have helped many of the clients I've worked with that needed assistance. I am proud to have had the opportunity to work with such a wonderful organization and grateful for all the help they gave my granddaughter and her son and the many others they are still helping. When I heard recently they are now helping women over 50 who are in violent relationships, I was so grateful because now I have someone to send those I meet who need help to La Casa de las Madres for assistance and resources. Thank you Staff, Board and Volunteers! Mauryne Lees

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

La Casa de las Madres is an integral player in San Francisco's communal efforst to respond to and reduce domestic violence in our city and beyond. In prevention, intervention and after-care, La Casa strives to think creatively and holistically to build a comprehensive response to client and community needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

La Casa de las Madres provides an amazing range of services, from emergency shelter to ongoing supportive services, that are all completely free of charge. I've never come into contact with an organization that is able to respond to survivors of domestic violence in such a holistic way, treating them as an individual with unique and ongoing needs beyond just shelter. I have shared information about La Casa with numerous colleagues and clients, and will continue to do so. These services are so very critical.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

La Casa de Las Madres is an innovative forward thinking empowerment based organization that is deeply committed to providing compassionate, people led support and advocacy while at the same time working to create long term social change in san francisco. La Casa strives to be flexible, open to change and without compromise committed to ending violence against women and girls.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I worked at La Casa a couple of years ago as a legal services coordinator. I am no longer affiliated with/employed by them, but I want to confirm that this is a life-changing, progressive organization. La Casa offers a spectrum of resources for women and children who are trying to leave or recover from domestic violence situations. It is a lifesaver for many women, who need more than a place to stay - it offers legal help, referrals to trauma and other mental health services, support groups, a teen program, and much more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I can think of multiple clients who told me that La Casa made a meaningful difference in their lives - either with safety, mental health help, or moral support on issues like self-esteem and parenting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm not sure how things are today, but a few years ago I would have encouraged the organization to reach out more to other DV organizations in the Bay Area and foster more collaborative relationships. I was surprised at the amount of competition and/or distrust between organizations within the DV community, and it was something I never quite understood.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

could enhance and improve the living space of the women and children fleeing violence at our Emergency Shelter through La Casa de las Madres’ Adopt-A-Room Program. Adopt-A-Room donors help us to furnish our shelter’s individual bedrooms, from head to toe, creating a welcoming and supportive atmosphere where a woman and her children can find peace and heal. Purchased items are brought to La Casa’s Drop In Center, where La Casa offers ongoing support to survivors who have left the shelter or are not in need of immediate safety. Volunteer