Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have seen first hand how La Casa de Las Madres is a top notch organization. I recently attended the 40 hour volunteer training and am impressed by its structure, organization and professionalism. They brought in highly knowledgable presenters to lead topics in all areas of domestic violence providing very valuable and helpful training. I've now volunteered at the office as well as the shelter and couldn't be happier about my decision to join La Casa.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at La Casa's women's shelter and I am so impressed with the services and support they provide to women and their children in San Francisco.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

La Casa has shown dedication in their work for families. They are a strong advocate for woman and the fight against domestic violence in San Francisco. It is one of the reasons I have continued to volunteer my time for the past three years as a member of their events committee. The women on their staff are truly inspiring. I also appreciated the efforts of La Casa to help as many families in need as possible. In that spirit, I will continue volunteering for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a resident of San Francisco for almost twelve years, and during that time I've volunteered my time and services for a variety of non-profits. I must say that my volunteer experience at La Casa has been so enjoyable that I'm on my fifth consecutive year of involvement in La Casa's event planning and fundraising. The services they provide are essential to our community and to a future envisioned without violence. I do believe organizations are only as good as the people behind them, and in this case La Casa's staff and Board are one of the main reasons I continue to volunteer. Their dedication, grace, and professionalism in working with volunteers makes it an easy choice for me. And their work as advocates in our community is truly inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Two months ago I moved to the Bay Area after graduating from college. I must say that La Casa was my first home. Volunteering with La Casa De Las Madres has allowed me to become plugged into an incredible community of individuals, staff and volunteers, who are dedicated to supporting women and children who are victims of domestic violence. I am grateful that this organization exists and feel honored to be a part of the necessary and meaningful work that we do here!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Very thorough 40 hour training to help out at shelter. The main idea behind this group is empowerment and lack of judgement for their clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Their commitment to the community is evident through their work. The manner in which La Casa promotes their comprehensive services as well as awareness in individuals to better serve and empower survivors of domestic violence. Their work and passion for what they do is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined La Casa in September of this year, starting with their 40 hour training and continuing as a shelter volunteer. Their impact on each woman that enters their shelter is so profound; I feel so lucky to be involved in their program. There are so many amazing people at La Casa helping each survivor in any way they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

As a recent DV Survivor, La Casa has given me the strength to give back to my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

La Casa de las Madres is an amazing organization that's working toward a future free from domestic violence (DV). The way they serve the Bay Area population currently affected by DV is inspiring. I have been impressed by the warmth, acceptance, understanding and unconditional support they bring to all direct service interactions. The staff is talented and sharp in responding to the spectrum of needs that survivors of DV come with. In addition to this on-the-ground support, La Casa is a strong advocate against DV, rallying around policies and effecting big change. We cannot do without them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

La Casa's 40-hour volunteer training program taught me the complexities of DV and how to make a measurable difference. That will stay with me for life. Volunteering also connected me to other passionate individuals in the community.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Human. Humble, angry, sad, hopeful, empowered.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

could enhance and improve the living space of the women and children fleeing violence at our Emergency Shelter through La Casa de las Madres’ Adopt-A-Room Program. Adopt-A-Room donors help us to furnish our shelter’s individual bedrooms, from head to toe, creating a welcoming and supportive atmosphere where a woman and her children can find peace and heal. Purchased items are brought to La Casa’s Drop In Center, where La Casa offers ongoing support to survivors who have left the shelter or are not in need of immediate safety. Volunteer