Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

La Casa has helped so many individuals overcome different obstacles when they have been abused by the people closest to them. It's something that happens so often yet we hear so little about. The dedicated staff and their ongoing efforts to helping individuals overcome these harsh situations are important to our community.
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

La Casa de las Madres is a great non profit organization for a cause that is very important to be addressed in this society and around the world! They are doing great work in bringing awareness to the issue, as well as direct support of the survivors and their volunteers. We need more organizations like La Casa! This is an issue that nobody should be turning a blind eye to, as its consequences are spreading way beyond the person directly impacted. Please support and enable La Casa to do an even better work with more resources. Thank you!
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

La Casa de las Madres is an incredible organization with an inspiring mission and dedicated staff that help fulfill that vision. Domestic violence support and advocacy is difficult to do well but La Casa makes both the people it serves and its volunteers feel valued and appreciated.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

Whenever I go to La Casa to volunteer, I feel like they are working for me instead of me working for them. Everybody always welcomes me with a smile and the volunteer coordinator, Jamie, is a great professional and the nicest human being. She is innovative and works hard to assess volunteer skills, train them and get the most out of them to create better programs for La Casa clients. All the other volunteers I know share this thoughts with me.
I am so happy to be able to invest my time in such an organization like La Casa.

Good Work!!
August 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

Very thorough 40 hour training to help out at shelter. The main idea behind this group is empowerment and lack of judgement for their clients. more

August 25, 2014

La Casa de las Madres has a very special place in my heart. Not only does La Casa offer a wealth of comprehensive services through their shelter program, they also tailor services to the individual. The "no judgements" culture significantly improves the quality of services presented by their advocates. I went through their shelter training program as a volunteer several years ago, and what I learned about myself in the 40 hrs of class was life-altering. It taught me that no matter what you see on the outside on an individual, inside we are all fighting the daily battle of survival so we need to help each other out despite our preconceived notions about how people should handle difficult situations. The most valuable lesson: listen... then, listen some more.
November 13, 2012

Very thorough 40 hour training to help out at shelter. The main idea behind this group is empowerment and lack of judgement for their clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I have been volunteering at La Casa De Las Madres since March of 2013. I thoroughly enjoyed their 40 hour training program. It was incredibly informative and they made participation fun. It is my first experience volunteering anywhere and I appreciate every experience whether on the crisis line, taking care of children, or just lending a hand to clean. La Casa provides important services to support women and children as they transition to healthier, happier lives. And, I am glad to be of some assistance.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I have volunteered over many years at various non-profits and have particularly enjoyed my volunteer experience with La Casa. The staff and fellow volunteers are really amazing and the work they are doing is so important!! Great job everyone.
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I've been volunteering at La Casa for the past 5 months and ever since I started I've always felt happy and excited to go and volunteer. I'm so happy that this association exists and helps so many adults and kids looking for a safe environment. Not only that, they provide additional activities to improve their way of leaving, like computer classes, financial and personal development classes, arts, etc. Giving hope to a lot of individuals and families to have a new beginning. I just feel so proud to be a member of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I completed the training for La Casa last September and I have been a volunteer ever since. The training for La Casa was life changing. I learned so much information that I will never forget. I believe the training would be useful for anyone to take, even those not planning on volunteering or working for a domestic violence shelter. Volunteering for La Casa has also been an amazing experience. I hope to always have a relationship with this organization so I can continue to support the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Since the very first day I started volunteering at La Casa the staff have been very warm and welcoming. La Casa truly stands for what they believe in. They believe in the importance of their clients, staff, and volunteers. La Casa is definitely a safe place to learn and grow. This has been the best non-profit organization I have volunteered at. I enjoyed the 40 hour DV training and have learned so much from this organization. I hope to stay active with La Casa for a very long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

could enhance and improve the living space of the women and children fleeing violence at our Emergency Shelter through La Casa de las Madres’ Adopt-A-Room Program. Adopt-A-Room donors help us to furnish our shelter’s individual bedrooms, from head to toe, creating a welcoming and supportive atmosphere where a woman and her children can find peace and heal. Purchased items are brought to La Casa’s Drop In Center, where La Casa offers ongoing support to survivors who have left the shelter or are not in need of immediate safety. Volunteer