Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have been working with Casa De Las Madres for over 13 years. I have seen them help many, many women and children. One of those women was my Grandchild who got pregnant at 15. They provided safe housing for her and her baby when she was in a domestic violent relationship. They helped her find resources and even provided a therapist for her. My granddaughter is now 30 and still asks about her therapist and some of the counselors from La Casa who worked with and helped her during that time period. Because I too work with survivors of violence, they have helped many of the clients I've worked with that needed assistance. I am proud to have had the opportunity to work with such a wonderful organization and grateful for all the help they gave my granddaughter and her son and the many others they are still helping. When I heard recently they are now helping women over 50 who are in violent relationships, I was so grateful because now I have someone to send those I meet who need help to La Casa de las Madres for assistance and resources. Thank you Staff, Board and Volunteers! Mauryne Lees

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

As a recent DV Survivor, La Casa has given me the strength to give back to my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

La Casa de las Madres is an amazing organization that's working toward a future free from domestic violence (DV). The way they serve the Bay Area population currently affected by DV is inspiring. I have been impressed by the warmth, acceptance, understanding and unconditional support they bring to all direct service interactions. The staff is talented and sharp in responding to the spectrum of needs that survivors of DV come with. In addition to this on-the-ground support, La Casa is a strong advocate against DV, rallying around policies and effecting big change. We cannot do without them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

La Casa's 40-hour volunteer training program taught me the complexities of DV and how to make a measurable difference. That will stay with me for life. Volunteering also connected me to other passionate individuals in the community.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Human. Humble, angry, sad, hopeful, empowered.

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

La Casa is a wonderful nonprofit to volunteer with. Volunteering for La Casa has to be one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. Being able to help women who have been victims of domestic violence is so improtant and until our world understands that violence is not acceptable we absolutely need organizations like La Casa De Las Madres who provide support, services and a safe community to victims of violence!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

La Case is an amazing organization that prioritizes the well-being of everyone involved - the women served, staff, and volunteers. The organization's approach empowers women in a culturally competent, loving way. It's an amazing organization to volunteer for!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

La Casa is a wonderful organization! They help thousands of victims and their children every year, and engage the community in an ongoing dialogue about how to help victims and hold perpetrators accountable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have voluunteered in the Strike Out Violence event at AT & T Park and believe that that campaign has made a difference along with the signs and billboards naming La Casa de las Madres in bold letters with the 24 hour service information and telephone number-- on public buses, in BART stations. And that campaign has been done in Spanish as well.The outreach in educating many levels of the community is huge, not to mention the shelter services provided in emergency situations.The list of their services goes on. It is a San Francisco resource of huge importance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

La Casa de las Madres is an integral player in San Francisco's communal efforst to respond to and reduce domestic violence in our city and beyond. In prevention, intervention and after-care, La Casa strives to think creatively and holistically to build a comprehensive response to client and community needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

La Casa de las Madres provides an amazing range of services, from emergency shelter to ongoing supportive services, that are all completely free of charge. I've never come into contact with an organization that is able to respond to survivors of domestic violence in such a holistic way, treating them as an individual with unique and ongoing needs beyond just shelter. I have shared information about La Casa with numerous colleagues and clients, and will continue to do so. These services are so very critical.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

La Casa de Las Madres, not only cares for the population they serve but also very much so for their volunteers. They understand that we are doing this on top of our own jobs and lives and are flexible and accommodating. They also express often their appreciation for the work the volunteers do. A little appreciation goes a long way! It makes me want to serve more! I LOVE working wit La Casa and look forward to a long relationship with them! Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

could enhance and improve the living space of the women and children fleeing violence at our Emergency Shelter through La Casa de las Madres’ Adopt-A-Room Program. Adopt-A-Room donors help us to furnish our shelter’s individual bedrooms, from head to toe, creating a welcoming and supportive atmosphere where a woman and her children can find peace and heal. Purchased items are brought to La Casa’s Drop In Center, where La Casa offers ongoing support to survivors who have left the shelter or are not in need of immediate safety. Volunteer