Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I completed the training for La Casa last September and I have been a volunteer ever since. The training for La Casa was life changing. I learned so much information that I will never forget. I believe the training would be useful for anyone to take, even those not planning on volunteering or working for a domestic violence shelter. Volunteering for La Casa has also been an amazing experience. I hope to always have a relationship with this organization so I can continue to support the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Since the very first day I started volunteering at La Casa the staff have been very warm and welcoming. La Casa truly stands for what they believe in. They believe in the importance of their clients, staff, and volunteers. La Casa is definitely a safe place to learn and grow. This has been the best non-profit organization I have volunteered at. I enjoyed the 40 hour DV training and have learned so much from this organization. I hope to stay active with La Casa for a very long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I just completed a 40 hour DV training at La Casa and it was informational, empowering and I cannot wait to begin my work as a volunteer for the organization! I am proud to soon be a part of an organization that advocates for survivors of abuse in such a humble and effective manner. I was inspired by many of the speakers, their strength and passion for this work is apparent and it was truly motivational. Looking forward to volunteering for La Casa, I am sure that it will be a wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

After recently completing the 40 hour training course at La Casa, I am astounded at this program's capability. The training was incredibly intense, which is nothing less than the survivors of domestic violence, who seek resources from La Casa, deserve. I can't say enough about the people involved in facilitating this training. They were warm, friendly and both emotionally and intellectually nurturing. I never felt at any point that my contributions were any less valid than those of the teachers. In addition to being thorough, ideologically sound, and professional, the program expressed both the capacity for an effective learning environment and a vulnerability that implied desire for growth in keeping current and relevant to survivor's needs in consistently changing social justice movement. I will miss the women I was in the training with, we were a pretty bonded group at the end of the course. I would especially like to recognize Jaime Cox, a pretty spectacular activist and woman.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In order to answer this question accurately, I would have to spend more time within the many different spaces of La Casa.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have recently finished the 40 hour training to become a volunteer at La Casa. I am blown away by how extensive, and ultimately rewarding, the experience was. I learned so much about all of the different resources that are available surrounding DV, as well as a broad overview of the subejcy itself. I never expected to receive training/presentations from such a wide array of organizations. My interactions with La Casa staff thus far have been extremely friendly and inviting. I am touched by just how much La Casa does for the community. It is truly invested in the welfare of its clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

La Casa de las Madres, is a leader in domestic violence services; free, confidential, and open to all. La Casa serves women, teens, and their children to provide safety, resources, and hope. There are a number of ways to support this organization, including volunteering, donating goods and services, and spreading the word. Join the movement to end domestic violence in our homes and communities.
Check out their website: www.lacasa.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

This is one of the best volunteering experiences I have had. I strongly believe I have made a change to someone life. I will continue to help out in any way possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A Everything was great!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I was fortunate this summer to be an administrative volunteer at La Casa. All of the staff are very knowledgable, warm, and welcoming. I enjoyed all of the outreach events I participated in as a La Casa volunteer, including Sunday Streets events. I'm inspired by the work they do and will hopefully work for them again in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

La Casa is the leading voice in San Francisco against violence towards women and children. By donating to their services, I know that somewhere a survivor is getting the free services they deserve to end the cycle of violence.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I have been fortunate to be touched by the work of La Casa through my volunteer work with the organization. My office banded together to adopt a couple of families from La Casa for the holiday gift drive-- and that experience of helping to provide gifts for the La Casa families brought so much cohesion and spirit to our own holiday season. We have already committed to adopting even more families for next season. La Casa gives so much to the women and children that they serve, and they also provide many wonderful opportunities to the greater San Francisco community to engage in meaningful ways to the important issue of domestic violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

could enhance and improve the living space of the women and children fleeing violence at our Emergency Shelter through La Casa de las Madres’ Adopt-A-Room Program. Adopt-A-Room donors help us to furnish our shelter’s individual bedrooms, from head to toe, creating a welcoming and supportive atmosphere where a woman and her children can find peace and heal. Purchased items are brought to La Casa’s Drop In Center, where La Casa offers ongoing support to survivors who have left the shelter or are not in need of immediate safety. Volunteer