Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I became aware of LAAR when I helped rescue two abandoned dogs with Hans, one of their volunteers. Since then, I've been very impressed by their hard work and dedication to saving dogs, stepping up when other rescues did not. They recently became involved with a couple of rescue groups in Thailand, helping them fly their dogs into LA and finding them homes and fosters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

Personally, I cannot think of a group with more caring, conscientious, and wonderful selfless people. They will do above and beyond anything in their power to help out all animals. Their philosophy of all beings deserving love and care is truly commendable. I have witnessed their dedication numerous times. They enrich the lives of animals as well as the people that come into contact with them. I am eternally grateful to Su for her continued commitment and devotion to saving lives. Su and Hans are heroes and their continuous effort to make a difference is admirable. It is a great honor to know them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This group is a TRUE rescue group. I feel lucky enough to be able to help them at their numerous events to adopt out the many animals they rescue. The volunteers are wonderful people who dedicate time and personal funds to help animals of all kinds find forever homes. So many families, too, have also benefitted from Los Angeles Animal Rescue as they have adopted a wonderful new family member. LAAR is a group who does so much with the funds they have. The leadership uses the experience they have with managing the seemingly endless pets they save. Su and Hans work so well together to organize the events, find housing, fosters and homes for the animals, and endear and motivate the incredible volunteers who help them. More exposure is needed so that this group can rescue and save more animals. I have personally seen this group in action and the love and care they give these animals is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We are a very new rescue group but our years of experience volunteering for other groups has helped us navigate our way and zero in on the areas we want to focus on. We are lucky enough to have a handful of very dedicated, like-minded people participating in the group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Animals going from being frozen in fear to being confident, happy, active members of a family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

dedicate more time to fundraising so we could help more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Inspired.

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The amazingly generous and warm-hearted volunteers are the main attraction of this organization, and why I joined. We are not your typical socially inept animal-obsessed activists; we are real, everyday people who happen to care about animals; we also understand the need to engage the help of the community in accomplishing our goals. Henceforth, we make sure to follow up with our adopters, reach out to potential adopters, and always keep integrity and responsibility in mind. In the past, when I have approached adoption events held by other rescuers, the volunteers didn't want to answer questions, talk to me, or let me hold the animals. LAAR distinguishes itself from other groups with its simple social graces. We try to do whatever we can to get these animals into good homes. I have, to date, fostered six dogs. I still have the sixth; the others have been adopted! Also, Su and Hans have given me substantial freedom in trying to implement ideas to help our cause--such as researching grants, marketing our group, and getting our management software up and running. The 30+ animals in our care receive top-notch treatment, regular grooming and vet visits, and of course are fixed, microchipped, vaccinated, and dewormed. Our foster families are experienced and passionate. We do what we can with the little resources we have, and make sure every penny is spent wisely and only on costs directly related to caring for the animals.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've fostered six dogs as of July 7, 2012. Five of them have been adopted so far. Su and Hans have let me administrate for the organization, as far as implementing our management software and record keeping. They have given me a lot of trust and leeway, and let me have a huge part in running the organization. They value my opinion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

attempt to get us more funding from outside sources, as we deserve it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There are no changes--Su and Hans are completely open-minded individuals who listen to what other people have to say, and they don't try to micro-manage their volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have gained so many friends, and a deeper understanding of the predicament our society is in because of the lack of spaying and neutering. Animal rescue is emotionally taxing sometimes, but it is rewarding when one realizes he or she is actively helping to alleviate the necessity for such a cause.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel so much more useful! And my intelligence and compassion now has an outlet, whereas my daytime office job can sometimes bore me to tears.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers