Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.739135
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I love everything about the L.M. Alcott Arts Center. The husband and wife team of Chuck and Chris Green have given their heart and soul to keeping this urban arts center alive and vibrant - and it shows! The Alcott is a truly grassroots effort, which does creates challenges, but it also makes it very authentic. The Alcott is always finding new ways to bring arts to our downtown Kansas City, Kansas area. Where they find the time and energy to continue this pace, I do not know. But I do know that our community would suffer if Alcott was not open and available to all walks of life in our town. They support our neighborhoods, and those who live in them. They support youth employment opportunities; they look for leadership development opportunities; they provide holiday events for young people - so that they might enjoy safe activities; they engage their supporters in helping them with major projects. These are faithful, loyal people who love the arts and love their community. The L.M. Alcott Arts Center is a gem and a blessing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure everyone knew about Alcott Arts, AND, I would make sure everyone found a way to support - with both time and treasure.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am familiar with the good works that Alcott Arts Center has been involved with the past few years, and I think they are a wonderful non-profit organization that provides exposure to the arts to many local individuals, that may not otherwise be involved or have the opportunity to be involved in theater and acting classes. Chris and Chuck Green are a wonderful asset to the area, and I wholeheartedly support their efforts to expose the younger generation to the arts and culture. Good job! I wish them the best of success in all they endeavor to do.

Pete and Angela Gosserand

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them to operate on a larger budget (more donations), to positively impact more local residents, and expand their reach to the local youth in the area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Alcott Art Center serves an important role in Kansas City, Kansas by offering a venue for local artists to exhibit their works. The center hosts many public events, and offers a variety of classes. Chuck and Chris Green are dedicated to insuring that this venue remains open and accessible to all types of art. The Green's are both active and involved in the local community, and their level of caring shows in the way they treat everyone who walks through the center's doors.
A couple of years ago the Alcott submitted a funding request to our local utility company. I am an elected board member, and head of the committee which reviews these requests. Our board saw the merit in the Alcott's activiteis and voted unanimously to approve the funds. These dollars have been wisely spent to offer additional classes which are open to all applicants. I have followed up with Chris Green to see how the funds have changed their approach, and was pleased to see that it has increased their scope of offerings to the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek additional funds to increase the length of their open dates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2011

more

March 13, 2011

I first encountered the Alcott Art Center while working on a play they produced in 2004. Their positive attitude and willingness to support the arts community in every way possible was why I decided to support the organization as much as I could. I have been a supporter and friend to them ever since.

The Alcott has an open-mindedness that is becoming more and more scarce as our culture becomes more and more reserved, and the work that they display and support reflects that. They push at the boundaries of our comfort zone and make us better people because of it.

When my friend, an actor and director, was horribly disfigured in a brutal attack, he needed some money to cover medical expenses. I decided to throw a fundraiser for him, and within minutes of soliciting a venue, they offered their theater space, and did everything they could to help me help my friend, who is now recovered and doing well. I don't know of any other organization that would have gone to such lengths to help a fellow artist like that. It was amazing.

I look forward to continued and expanded involvement in the organization as I believe that with all they do for their community, they deserve as much support as possible. I will continue to headquarter my film club there, and I will always look to them first when planning events and shows.

They deserve your support!
Curtis Smith
Actor, Musician, President of the Kansas City Horror Club

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As I mentioned in my review, they sprung to action when I helped a fellow artist overcome a tragic event, and they are always there when my club needs a venue for an event.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They DESPERATELY need a new heating system for their building. If I could do anything, I would help them make that happen so they could continue their work through the cold months.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 31, 2011

more

January 31, 2011

My organization is a new partner of the Alcott. I chose to do this because the Alcott embodies what all great art charities should be: For the people, by the people, and for the sake of art. It is run by citizens who are dedicated to bettering their community and keeping the arts alive in the process and relies solely on donations. Everyone is always made feel welcome and all art is accepted. This is a great organization and is the reason why my own organization has raised almost $2000 for the Alcott in order to keep it going.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was welcomed and accepted as a "member" long before I helped raise money for the Alcott. The Alcott has always supported and promoted my organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More marketing! :)

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers