Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.739135
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

The Alcott Art Center does a fantastic job of keeping the arts alive and thriving in Kansas City, Kansas. They are connected to our community in many ways and are always working hard to make a positive difference, whether it be through live productions, gallery exhibitions or collaboration with other not for profit and service organizations. Their programming reaches across the lifespan from young to old. I'm thrilled to have them as an active part of our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I attended a fall dinner fundraiser a couple of years ago, and it was very entertaining and for a worthy cause. I own rental property up the street from Alcott, and I appreciate all that they do to help the area and serve the local community. Please keep up the good works! It is fine and reputable people like the Greens that make the area a good place to live.

Wendy B

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help with more volunteers and assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I attended a function last year at Alcott, and it was awesome. They had karaoke fundraiser, and it was a load of fun and for a very worthy cause. Thank you for all that you do. We donated a fridge to them last year, and hope that they can continue to do good works.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more volunteers and assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am Elaine Grisnik, a local Kansas City, Kansas artist. My first exhibit at the Alcott in 2009 was a great experience. Chris and Chuck are so enthusiastic and spend many, many hours keeping this venue alive. The Alcott Center is a very positive aspect of the neighborhood. Not only are they restoring life to the once empty, deteriorating, school building, but they bring in a variety of artists, performers, and neighborhood youth to participate in activities. My mother, artist Marijana Grisnik has given presentations of her historic paintings of Strawberry Hill neighborhood of KC, KS to the youth at the center. The youth took pride in their own neighborhoods and were inspired to do paintings .

In 2010, I underwent brain surgery for a tumor. I could not paint after that. I visited the center to view a Second Saturday exhibit and was encouraged by Chris and Chuck to have another exhibit of paintings. By July, 2011 I had my first exhibit of paintings after brain surgery at the Alcott!

The Alcott Center has been a very positive influence in my life and deserves recognition. They truly change people's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need heat to be able to operate year round.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2012

more

January 7, 2012

The following information is also being forwarded to the Secretary of the State and the Social Security Administration for their review and investigation into the following matters.
I am writing in response to a story recently reported regarding Alcott Arts Center in Kansas City, KS. Following
an incident of supposed copper wire theft, Alcott Arts Center has now launched a campaign seeking at least $5,000 in donations from the Kansas City community in order to assist in repairs. As a concerned citizen and taxpayer, I wish to caution any individual in our community from offering financial support to an organization wrought with unethical business practices and financial dealings.
Alcott Arts Center is a nonprofit organization. The entire foundation of their ideology is fraudulent; while they claim to serve Kansas City, they have exploited the goodwill of patrons, partnering artists, and the community, while violating federal regulations and the public’s trust.
• Chuck Green, President and Authoring Co-Founder, uses Social Security Disability benefits to assist in funding the operations of Alcott Arts Center. Furthermore, while Mr. Green has been rendered disabled by the government, our community has witnessed his ability to contribute many working hours at the organization. Mr. Green can regularly be seen mowing the lawn, manning events, and acting as the spokesperson for Alcott Arts Center. This can be verified by the following attached documents resulting from a simple internet search of letters of support, some of which are from quite respectable organizations in the Kansas City community:
o Letter of Support, 2004, Faye Greenwood
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/letterfromfayegreenwood.pdf
o Letter of Support, 2004, United Way of Wyandotte County
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/letterfromunitedway.pdf
o Letter of Support, 2004, Minds Eye Theatre
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/letterfromjeffmace.pdf
o IRS Determination Letter, 2007
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/irsfinaldetermination.pdf
Furthermore, Alcott Arts Center has claimed affiliations on their website with KC Stage and Kansas City Kansas Council PTA—USD 500, among others, and I wonder if all these organizations are aware of and support the business practices that have kept Alcott Arts Center in operation. As a taxpayer, I am ardently against my taxes going to fund an organization when those dollars are intended and very much needed for the truly disabled in our community.
• Alcott Arts Center stated in a recent interview on television that the building was and is uninsured; yet, they host educational classes and events in the arts for both children and adults in the community. I take that to understand should an accident or medical emergency occur in the building, there would be no coverage for the individuals involved. This would seem an unacceptable and foolish existence for any organization, especially one serving our community.
• Alcott Arts Center seems to have engaged in nepotism. My research indicates that Chuck Green, President of the Board of Directors, and Chris Green, Executive Director, are indeed married. If that is the case, then how can a Husband President govern a Wife Executive Director objectively and ethically? Not to mention this opens up a world of opportunity for faulty business practices.
• Alcott Arts Center’s financial dealings have been questionable. Having received $10,000+ in donations several years ago to replace a “much needed boiler,” the organization still has yet to make the purchase according to the news interview mentioned above. I can only assume that money has been appropriated elsewhere, since Mr. Green is requesting yet another round of donations in the amount of $5,000 to fix the recent copper wire theft.
Kansas City has a plethora of sustainable, respected arts organizations devoted to serving our community. I would encourage those interested in donating to Alcott Arts Center to rethink their choice and seek a more established and accredited entity in the community. Perhaps those artists seeking to donate energy, time, and talent to raise funds for Alcott Arts Center may put their gifts to better use and recognition elsewhere. I would ask that an investigation be launched into Alcott Arts Center’s operations, complete with a determination as to the veracity of its financials. Our community deserves better than what Alcott Arts Center offers.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2011

more

July 10, 2011

I highly enjoyed Elaine Grisnik's show lastnight of her drawings of Strawberry Hill. I live in the area myself, and can appreciate the beautiful, & unique drawings of my neighborhood. Elaine captures the essence of the spirit of an old neighborhood & all it's beautiful character. I met the Greens whom were a very warm, & welcoming couple. Thank-you. The Alcott Center is a wonderful place! I'd reccomend it to everybody!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

January 27, 2011

more

January 27, 2011

My son and I attended a fundraising event at Alcott a few years ago in the spring. I just have to say what a joy it was. Not only did we enjoy the fun we had that day, but the fact that we were supporting such an amazing place made the experience that much more rewarding. I feel honored to have been a part of it.

I also have attened a play at the Alcott center that I thouroughly enjoyed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The reward of feeling a part of making an awesome place grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly from what I know about Alcott I would not change a thing.

January 27, 2011

more

January 27, 2011

I became acquainted with the Alcott Art's Center by attending an evening or art exhibits and perfrmance art during a weekend show billed as "The Flying Asbinis Traveling Sideshow Arts-Travaganza!" It was definitely an extravaganza. It is located in an old public school building and I started by touring numerous classrooms that had been turned into galleries full of creations by very talented local artists.

After viewing the visual art I moved on to the auditorium where one after another an eclectic collection of performance artists entertained me and a room full of others with stirring acts including performance poets, dancers, musicians, a jugler and even a standup comic. It was a variety show of a sort not commonly seen these days.

Best of all the performers were not hidden away before and after their appearances. They were available for contact with the public that had come to see them. When acts were not performing they were part of the audience. I made a number of new acquaintaces who not only entertained and inspired me for one night, but some have become friends who continue to encourage and inspire me in my own artistic endeavors.

The Alcott Arts Center provices opportunities for creative people in the Kansas City, KS community to showcase their talents, and it offers classes for students of all ages thereby fostering creativity and artistic growth.

I would highly recommend the Alcott Arts Center to anyone who is either interested in furthering their own creative endeavors or who just wants to observe and be entertained by others.

For more about my experience with this wonderful organization check out this article on my blog at: http://aardvarkdude.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/an-evening-at-alcott-center-with-the-flying-asbinis-traveling-sideshow-arts-travaganza/

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being entertained by their members and having continuing relationship with people I have met there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know that I would change anything. I only wish I lived closer to it so I could be more actively involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Through Facebook posts by artists in the commuity it serves.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 27, 2011

more

January 27, 2011

My personal experience with the Alcott Arts Center has been very positive. The opportunity to see and enjoy live plays at its best has been incredible . Performed by actors and actresses that are keeping the arts alive in a manner that is to be highly commended. We, as a technological society are losing our core of basic arts. This basis is so important to the arts, and to ourselves, developmentally in our society on the whole. Base core arts gives us the fiber to actually communicate and present ourselves as human beings, in a more natural and receptive environment. Doubly, it builds the level of confidence needed to excel in a world that has become very competitive in public speaking and presentation. I have hopes that this organization can survive the tough times and secure funding to keep bringing such quality opportunity to those on both sides of the arts.

Janie Harris

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Plays and in being able to view local art on site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to spread the word about upcoming events and recruit outstanding artists through drama clubs and the like at local public school systems.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers