Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.739135
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Alcott Art Center creates a unique experience for the community in original theater and arts. The staff, board and volunteers dedicate many hours of time and service to theater and the arts for the entire community, children and adults alike. Bringing the community together to produce excellence in the theater and arts experience, an important concept for all communities. Alcott Art Center continues to build this community and provide opportunities for activity, creativity and entertainment for the entire family. The atmosphere is friendly, well-managed and maintained, and welcoming everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share this experience with the entire community. Bring in more volunteers, more artists, actors, dancers and musicians. Increase community support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Alcott is amazing it is the heart and soul of the community. This organization makes it a point to welcome everyone. in order to keep organizations such as the Alcott running it certainly helps when the generosity of the community comes thru but when you see the energy of the people involved that dedicate their time and wear many hats to make this organization who wouldn't want to join this amazing group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to keep them open all year round so more people could benefit from this amazing organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Alcott Arts Center is truly inspiring. I performed in a few of their Shakespeare productions and the Alcott team treats their performers like family. I am always welcome and I enjoy coming up to the other events throughout the year. It's a safe place and I've met some amazing fellow volunteers, artists, and performers that I otherwise may not have met. There is a great balance of events for children, teens, and adults.

On a more personal level, I met my husband through one of the productions we were both performing in. My stepson was able to perform in his first two real theatrical productions thanks to the generosity and open opportunities provided. He now wants to pursue theater and art thanks to the positive influences he has experienced at the Alcott. My husband and I also have a young son who loves visiting the Alcott. Chris always opens up creative art projects or play for him whenever we visit.

The Alcott also serves my neighborhood. I'm very proud that a positive and artistic institution is a part of my area. It is a great example of Wyandotte residents working hard to make their home a better and friendlier area. Due to this organization, I am more aware of being involved in local programs. They are always partnering with schools, the area food pantry, and artists to make our world better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could market more and make the space ADA accessible. This is costly and the organization is understandably limited.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Alcott Center helped me out with my first Art showing! Chuck and Chris are nice people and are always thinking of new ways on how to keep the Alcott Center alive and well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Alcott Art Center offers great free art events in an impoverished, art-starved area. And they do it with such a small budget. I volunteer every year for their Trunk or Treat event which guarantees low-income kids a safe, fun Halloween event. They work so hard to help the community that it is an honor to help them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have known about the Alcott for years, but was never able to do anything until 2009. There, I was in a version of Shakespeare's "A Comedy of Errors." It was an amazing experience that created lasting friendships and a stronger connection to the community.

Since then i have been involved
with other volunteer actives and has always been worth the time and effort.

I can truthfully say my life has been changed for the better since volunteering at the Alcott.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are doing a great job. Keep going!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 28, 2011

I am the PTA Council President for our school district. We started working together three years ago. It has been a great partnership. They have let us use the building a couple of times for our meetin... more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A few years ago, I met Chris and Chuck Green. They told me of a place they have and there ideas of what they wanted to do to help the community. I have attended plays, art shows, speciality events and even "Trick or Trunk" nights. I have asked them to let us use the building for another not for profit and they always tell me yes. My youngest daughter has been to many of these events with me and has gotten to experience different types of plays, she was part of an art show, and loves to dress up and volunteer for trick or trunk. They have faced many challanges and always rise above and come out on top. I love there motto, my favorite part is "everything positive". I try and help when I can, I have printed off flyers for events and put them up in various places, I have donated candy and time for the Trick or Trunk nights. I also try and help to promote events when I can. I really enjoy the events that I have attended and will continue to get to them when I can. I love that they are trying to promote a love of the arts and support local artist's at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 28, 2011

I am the PTA Council President for our school district. We started working together three years ago. It has been a great partnership. They have let us use the building a couple of times for our meetings, we had an art show together, they did the displays and we provided the food. We try and help provide information about the plays and programs they provide for our community on our website and thru our schools. My daughter's and I have gone to radios shows, and some of the plays they have done. one of my daughter's took part in some of the art shows. My daughters attended one of the trick or trunk events and this year my 11year old and I worked the trick or trunk event. The Alcott Arts Center is a jewell that has only been discovered by a few, but should be shared by all. If you have the chance to visit this place, please do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the faces of the people who were looking at the works of art. Also watching the kids as they got candy, juice drinks and other treats. also checking out the displays and costumes of the people helping.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more help, more patrons, more volunteers and a heating system so they can stay open year round.

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

I once took part in a New Media Art show there and the staff at Alcott Arts were incredibly kind and helpful, especially the owner Chuck. They gave us the room and respect to express ourselves creatively within a rich historical environment. This show was a really good resume builder too. I have been in many non profit art shows around the world and the support that the Alcott Arts Center gave surpassed many of those experiences. They provide great cultural events that are a necessity to any community, especially during a time where there is little support for the arts. Alcott Art Center deserves any support that they can get because they are the ones that keep hope alive for the arts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

My first experience working with Alcott Art Center was helping my friend install his a new media art project in the building for his Senior Thesis for the Kansas City Art Institute. The building was great, and Chuck and Chris were the most helpful and nicest people you could ever meet. You could tell from the moment you meet them that they genuinely LOVE art, LOVE theIr building, and, most importantly, LOVE the people in their lives. Chuck will happily tell you all about how he went to school in the building as a kid and how he has lived right up the street his whole life. I was so impressed by the center and their eagerness to work with young artists that I had my senior thesis show at the building as well and even helped curate two different shows in the space. After that I was eager to Help Chuck and Chris in any capacity I could including computers and video taping some events for them. I have been involved with the arts and art centers in different states and countries my entire life so I can say with a small bit of authority that a place like the Alcott Arts Center is rare and amazing and should be supported in any and all ways possible. I am sorry to hear about the break in, the last people in the world who deserved this were Chuck and Chris. Thank you for everything!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping my classmates at KCAI with hosting their art shows.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, I loved every moment of it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I made a pile of new friends and was introduced to an amazing place.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

A-MAZ-ING!!

January 30, 2011

more

January 30, 2011

The Alcott Center is a fantastic place for supporting art, music, poetry, performance, life, laughter an fun.
I have volunteered on several occasions- and have always had a fulfilling experience knowing that I was supporting good people who care about the arts and perhaps more importantly, the
community of artists who work with them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Flying Asbinis Arts Extravaganza, several theater performances

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek funding to hold activity year round.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers