Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.739135
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

I once took part in a New Media Art show there and the staff at Alcott Arts were incredibly kind and helpful, especially the owner Chuck. They gave us the room and respect to express ourselves creatively within a rich historical environment. This show was a really good resume builder too. I have been in many non profit art shows around the world and the support that the Alcott Arts Center gave surpassed many of those experiences. They provide great cultural events that are a necessity to any community, especially during a time where there is little support for the arts. Alcott Art Center deserves any support that they can get because they are the ones that keep hope alive for the arts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

My first experience working with Alcott Art Center was helping my friend install his a new media art project in the building for his Senior Thesis for the Kansas City Art Institute. The building was great, and Chuck and Chris were the most helpful and nicest people you could ever meet. You could tell from the moment you meet them that they genuinely LOVE art, LOVE theIr building, and, most importantly, LOVE the people in their lives. Chuck will happily tell you all about how he went to school in the building as a kid and how he has lived right up the street his whole life. I was so impressed by the center and their eagerness to work with young artists that I had my senior thesis show at the building as well and even helped curate two different shows in the space. After that I was eager to Help Chuck and Chris in any capacity I could including computers and video taping some events for them. I have been involved with the arts and art centers in different states and countries my entire life so I can say with a small bit of authority that a place like the Alcott Arts Center is rare and amazing and should be supported in any and all ways possible. I am sorry to hear about the break in, the last people in the world who deserved this were Chuck and Chris. Thank you for everything!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping my classmates at KCAI with hosting their art shows.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, I loved every moment of it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I made a pile of new friends and was introduced to an amazing place.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

A-MAZ-ING!!

January 7, 2012

more

January 7, 2012

The following information is also being forwarded to the Secretary of the State and the Social Security Administration for their review and investigation into the following matters.
I am writing in response to a story recently reported regarding Alcott Arts Center in Kansas City, KS. Following
an incident of supposed copper wire theft, Alcott Arts Center has now launched a campaign seeking at least $5,000 in donations from the Kansas City community in order to assist in repairs. As a concerned citizen and taxpayer, I wish to caution any individual in our community from offering financial support to an organization wrought with unethical business practices and financial dealings.
Alcott Arts Center is a nonprofit organization. The entire foundation of their ideology is fraudulent; while they claim to serve Kansas City, they have exploited the goodwill of patrons, partnering artists, and the community, while violating federal regulations and the public’s trust.
• Chuck Green, President and Authoring Co-Founder, uses Social Security Disability benefits to assist in funding the operations of Alcott Arts Center. Furthermore, while Mr. Green has been rendered disabled by the government, our community has witnessed his ability to contribute many working hours at the organization. Mr. Green can regularly be seen mowing the lawn, manning events, and acting as the spokesperson for Alcott Arts Center. This can be verified by the following attached documents resulting from a simple internet search of letters of support, some of which are from quite respectable organizations in the Kansas City community:
o Letter of Support, 2004, Faye Greenwood
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/letterfromfayegreenwood.pdf
o Letter of Support, 2004, United Way of Wyandotte County
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/letterfromunitedway.pdf
o Letter of Support, 2004, Minds Eye Theatre
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/letterfromjeffmace.pdf
o IRS Determination Letter, 2007
http://www.alcottartscenter.org/irsfinaldetermination.pdf
Furthermore, Alcott Arts Center has claimed affiliations on their website with KC Stage and Kansas City Kansas Council PTA—USD 500, among others, and I wonder if all these organizations are aware of and support the business practices that have kept Alcott Arts Center in operation. As a taxpayer, I am ardently against my taxes going to fund an organization when those dollars are intended and very much needed for the truly disabled in our community.
• Alcott Arts Center stated in a recent interview on television that the building was and is uninsured; yet, they host educational classes and events in the arts for both children and adults in the community. I take that to understand should an accident or medical emergency occur in the building, there would be no coverage for the individuals involved. This would seem an unacceptable and foolish existence for any organization, especially one serving our community.
• Alcott Arts Center seems to have engaged in nepotism. My research indicates that Chuck Green, President of the Board of Directors, and Chris Green, Executive Director, are indeed married. If that is the case, then how can a Husband President govern a Wife Executive Director objectively and ethically? Not to mention this opens up a world of opportunity for faulty business practices.
• Alcott Arts Center’s financial dealings have been questionable. Having received $10,000+ in donations several years ago to replace a “much needed boiler,” the organization still has yet to make the purchase according to the news interview mentioned above. I can only assume that money has been appropriated elsewhere, since Mr. Green is requesting yet another round of donations in the amount of $5,000 to fix the recent copper wire theft.
Kansas City has a plethora of sustainable, respected arts organizations devoted to serving our community. I would encourage those interested in donating to Alcott Arts Center to rethink their choice and seek a more established and accredited entity in the community. Perhaps those artists seeking to donate energy, time, and talent to raise funds for Alcott Arts Center may put their gifts to better use and recognition elsewhere. I would ask that an investigation be launched into Alcott Arts Center’s operations, complete with a determination as to the veracity of its financials. Our community deserves better than what Alcott Arts Center offers.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

My son, Mother & myself visited the Alcott Arts Center for their 2011 Trunk or Treat. The people were friendly & polite; the set up was awesome & my son really enjoyed it. I think it's great that they do the trunk or treat as well as all the other activities etc. they do. I think it's important to keep the arts alive & that the arts are a great outlet for many young & troubled people. This review is my way of showing my support & love for organization & what they do. I am more than proud to have them as a part of my community; A community my family has been a part of for many many generations. Kudos to The Alcott Arts Center! Keep up the wonderful work! :D

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son was very happy & comfortable there; the people we're polite & considerate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more help; more publicity; just simply do & get them more to help with their mission. If I can, I myself will be lending a hand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

A neighbor suggested I go there & I live in the area & have always been curious about the center & it's activities.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Upon looking over their website they sparked an old interest & goal that I had once; To sing. I only hope that in some way I can share my talent with them as well as many others.

September 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has had the grand opportunity to perfom at the Alcott Arts Center for Shakespeare in the Parking Lot V 2011, "As You Like It". The experience has been great for us as a family and individually for my daugther. What the founders are doing for the community is to be commended and I can only hope that they are able to continue receiving donations to keep this great center going for many, many years to come. My daughter has had the fortune to work with Director, Dr. Susan Proctor who has first of all taught my 13 year the appreciation of Shakespeare and provided her with the experience to work beside several talented actors in the community. Thanks to everyone at Alcott for the experience and we hope to work with you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jenny Wolff

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daugther was challenged with the lengthy monologue's in the play and truly quite daunted by the challenge of memorization. As she worked beside a great Director and several talented actors she was able to calm her nerves buckle down and conquer her fear of doing a very tricky and hard to memorize play by Shakepeare. I couldn't be more proud of her growth as an actor in this play!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to provide more funding to Alcott.

July 10, 2011

more

July 10, 2011

I highly enjoyed Elaine Grisnik's show lastnight of her drawings of Strawberry Hill. I live in the area myself, and can appreciate the beautiful, & unique drawings of my neighborhood. Elaine captures the essence of the spirit of an old neighborhood & all it's beautiful character. I met the Greens whom were a very warm, & welcoming couple. Thank-you. The Alcott Center is a wonderful place! I'd reccomend it to everybody!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

March 13, 2011

more

March 13, 2011

I first encountered the Alcott Art Center while working on a play they produced in 2004. Their positive attitude and willingness to support the arts community in every way possible was why I decided to support the organization as much as I could. I have been a supporter and friend to them ever since.

The Alcott has an open-mindedness that is becoming more and more scarce as our culture becomes more and more reserved, and the work that they display and support reflects that. They push at the boundaries of our comfort zone and make us better people because of it.

When my friend, an actor and director, was horribly disfigured in a brutal attack, he needed some money to cover medical expenses. I decided to throw a fundraiser for him, and within minutes of soliciting a venue, they offered their theater space, and did everything they could to help me help my friend, who is now recovered and doing well. I don't know of any other organization that would have gone to such lengths to help a fellow artist like that. It was amazing.

I look forward to continued and expanded involvement in the organization as I believe that with all they do for their community, they deserve as much support as possible. I will continue to headquarter my film club there, and I will always look to them first when planning events and shows.

They deserve your support!
Curtis Smith
Actor, Musician, President of the Kansas City Horror Club

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As I mentioned in my review, they sprung to action when I helped a fellow artist overcome a tragic event, and they are always there when my club needs a venue for an event.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They DESPERATELY need a new heating system for their building. If I could do anything, I would help them make that happen so they could continue their work through the cold months.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 31, 2011

more

January 31, 2011

I’m the Executive Director and Co-Founder of the L. M. Alcott Arts Center Foundation and the Alcott Arts Center. The Foundation and Arts Center came about by organizing our community to come together to save our building from being sold to an outside interest. The community wanted the building to stay a teaching institution thus the Foundation and Arts Center was formed.
My involvement is; I’m the go-to person, you need it, I have it, I will find it or make it happen for you. I teach classes at the Arts Center and at local schools and events, along with all of the office responsibilities and organizing events. I have been a working volunteer since we started ten years ago and I strongly believe in working and giving freely of myself to make things happen.
I love working with children giving them the chance for a hands on experience in the Arts. I feel strongly about keeping the arts available to all who love or want to experience it. Putting on productions of Classics like “Little Women” and the Works of William Shakespeare are rewarding. To see it them evolve from a raw form to pulling off a stellar production. I enjoy the fact that we are an “Outside the Box” organization taking risks with controversial art and Theater productions, to show you can produce them in good taste and spot light some very talented people.
Working with all the Artists, Actors, Musicians and Performers has enriched my life. I’ve made many lasting friendships with some very interesting and talented people. I feel this organization is very important to the Arts Community with all we have to offer.
I love doing what I do, being able to offer Art to the community. It would be great to be open year round and have the chance to offer so much more to so many more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have had the chance to bring our grand children to the Arts Center. They enjoy all aspects of the arts, have participated in arts classes and performed or helped with props during productions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the Center have more funding and volunteers this would enable Alcott to offer more arts related classes.

January 31, 2011

more

January 31, 2011

As a performing artist in Kansas City, there are not many places for someone without a lot of experience to perform. Furthermore, there are not a lot of opportunities for a family to experience the arts together. I have really enjoyed the Alcott's focus on the family and children and providing a community place for us to experience and enjoy art together. Without the Alcott, my son would not have seen Shakespeare, because they have Shakespeare in the Parking Lot every summer which we attend. Also, the Arts-travaganza every May, gives my son an opportunity to get on stage in the annual talent show. The Alcott supports many local artists and helps them to develop shows that serve our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I got to put together a costume called "Wired," wear a TV on my head and read an excerpt from 1984, which I couldn't have done without the help and encouragement of my local community arts center, The Alcott

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a heater so they could be open year round

January 31, 2011

more

January 31, 2011

My organization is a new partner of the Alcott. I chose to do this because the Alcott embodies what all great art charities should be: For the people, by the people, and for the sake of art. It is run by citizens who are dedicated to bettering their community and keeping the arts alive in the process and relies solely on donations. Everyone is always made feel welcome and all art is accepted. This is a great organization and is the reason why my own organization has raised almost $2000 for the Alcott in order to keep it going.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was welcomed and accepted as a "member" long before I helped raise money for the Alcott. The Alcott has always supported and promoted my organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More marketing! :)

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers