Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Write A Review
April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I met Tate at a wonderful event at her place.
i have had the opportunity to meet her and speak with her on organization.
We are working together to get some more things going to help her in her wonderful cause to help children with their ambitions and dreams.
I grew up in that area and
to see what she is doing brings hope in an area where it has long died and all but forgotten by others.
Her passion and dedication is unparalleled and to have the opportunity to work with her is a privilege.
I have spoken with people who still live in the area and they are excited that someone has taken a true interest in helping in a very valuable way in their community.

Thank You,
Mark Cooper

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In the summer of 2011 I volunteered at Kunsthalle Detroit. I helped get the museum ready for the grand opening. I couldn't believe the amount of work put into the museum by one small family. There was A LOT to do before the opening so I was glad to help! The opening was a great success and I was proud to be a part of it. The art is nothing like I've ever seen before and it's awesome we have this type of museum in Detroit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Kunsthalle Detroit epitomizes the passion, guts, and forward thinking that Detroit needs to realize a true renaissance. Few possess the vision to look beyond deterioration and see opportunity with international scope, and even fewer possess the confidence to take the risks necessary to make a vision reality. Kunstalle Detroit is poised to grow from a flicker to bright flames in Detroit's cultural offerings, contributing not only to the contemporary art scene, but the community as a whole.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Kunsthalle Detroit is doing fantastic work in the field of multimedia and light based art. There are not so many places out there specialized in light based art. As an artist myself I really apreciate what they are doing. kind regards Stefan Gross, the Netherlands

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

If creativity should prosper re-creativities, we don´t have to forget, that all kind of art is bound up with human culture in general, and that artistic creations, even those which at the moment appear the most advanced and esoteric and difficult to grasp, are meaningless outside their cultural context. Here creativity is destined to be framed in concepts and words that have a grip on the communities and become part and parcel of the general world picture. The image we all should be working on ... KUNSTHALLE DETROIT is a very good example how to work in a post-idusrial and cultural desert.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a relatively new Board Member, the forward thinking and international outlook of Kunsthalle Detroit continually inspires new generations of artists and viewers around the world. Networking and planning international exhibitions that connect the visual arts in new ways, encourages unprecedented potentials and educational initiatives. Kunsthalle Detroit provides a proactive forum that contributes through a wide diversity of emerging technologies, while placing new individual forms expression at the forefront. Such challenging foundation building establishes an advanced model of exploration and innovation for the new century. Partly rooted in the experimentation of the early modern era, the art of light transcends any single medium, traditional approaches or modern styles. Kunsthalle Detroit leads and contributes to new potentials. Realizing what Moholy-Nagy envisioned across the spectrum of new vision, from light-displays and unimagined photographic forms of expression, to "a wealth of undreamed-of optical experiences that will be profoundly stirring to our emotions."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Kunsthalle Detroit is a brave and needed experiment. The art it shows - film, video, light - is important; the space it has created - mentally, socially - is preparing Detroit for a new kind of dialogue around art / space / community; and its ambition, just right.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The American economist John Kenneth Galbraith said - " It's not economy that comes first but Culture ". The mission of KUNSTHALLE DETROIT, animated by the foresight of its director Tate Osten, exemplify that acute and discerning vision of Galbraith to help revitalise the city of Detroit.
KUNSTHALLE DETROIT by the very nature of the arts it promote, Light Art — art using technology fruit of science and knowledge — is putting forth all witch embodies Culture globally. And with the event of LUMINALE DETROIT, the revitalizing of a city is carried out on it's very own urban body, the public space, our space.

" There is certainly no absolute standard of beauty. That precisely is what makes its pursuit so interesting "
- John Kenneth Galbraith

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

No impact in the community- terrible coming-out press statements with factual errors inflating their importance; these are the only things I know about this place. And that they tried to be exclusive with their opening and invited the wrong people. Having never been there, I don't know why I was asked to participate in this review.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no way whatsoever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start from scratch

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

How did you learn about this organization?

Bad publicity

May 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the most exciting experience with Kunsthalle Detroit and I admire Tate Osten so much for building the first light based art museum in the USA. I have a feeling the "team" is special too. The best of good luck to you, Cal

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers