Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Ku Aloha Ola Mau lives and breathes aloha by providing one of the best culturally sensitive treatment services to individuals suffering from drug addiction. Lisa Cook, their executive director willingly shares her mana`o with everyone who asks for help. Po`okela!
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Ku Aloha Mau provides culturally sensitive and appropriate substance and mental health education, prevention, and treatment to both rural and urban communities in Hawaii on two island; Hawaii and Oahu. The program incorporates Native Hawaiian healing and spiritual practices, values, and language into their work. This makes them unique in their approach and services. Program outcomes have been very positive. Staff is caring and supportive and wonderful to work with. They really understand and connect with the individuals the agency serves. The staff's respect for the land, values and elders of the community are exemplary. The agency holds a high respect from the community they serve, community and State partners, and vendors. As a professional social worker, I have worked with the organization as a community consultant and partner for a number of years and have a high degree of respect for the staff and their services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, They need to continue to provide their unique blend of services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

this is one of the most outstanding agencies that addresses a specific population which many agencies are unable to address and that is of the opiate addicted individual. the agency addresses the needs of this population both spiritually culturally and professionally. in my opinion they do the best work with the people who need them the most.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Been an employee for almost 24 years, its been the most caring, loving and wonderful working experience that I continue to have. The staff are wonderful and our haumana make this such a great place to come to each day! Thank you Ku Aloha !
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I first encountered Ku Aloha Ola Mau as someone who helps organizations become more Trauma-Informed, I was curious about how their traditional values-driven program worked. The more I came to understand the focus on helping the haumana (students) learn and practicing reconnecting to health, learning how to build sturdy relationships grounded in acceptance--shame-free acceptance--the more I realized how powerful their work is. I am convinced that the success of their work, grounded in values and practices that are life-restoring and healing, welcoming instead of shaming, connecting and restoring, is because of its' grounding. Ku Aloha completes the circle of healing, and helps people extend their own. It's Pono at the highest level.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2013

The staff is very professional and friendly. Ku Aloha Ola Mau is organized and helpful to each and every patient. It is a great place to work. more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working at KAOM for 2 1/2 years now and have found the staff very friendly and genuinely concerned for the clients. They whole staff takes good care of their clients. They staff work hard to be the best in their field.
October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The staff is very professional and friendly. Ku Aloha Ola Mau is organized and helpful to each and every patient. It is a great place to work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Ku Aloha Ola Mau has taken great strides to move above and beyond the usual substance abuse treatment, focusing not only on evidence based practices (such as cognitive behavioral therapy, motivational interviewing/motivation enhancement therapy, and brief strategic therapy), but also holistic, spiritual approaches which aims to heal the individual and their families as a whole, mentally, physically, and spiritually.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase in outreach and advertising to better inform community of services and break down misconceptions surrounding methadone maintenance treatment and substance abuse treatment as a whole.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

KAOM is an organization that is determined to help our haumana be successful in life by providing comprehensive programs to assist them with addiction and in other areas of their life (art group, counseling, men's and women's group, acupuncture) just to name a few.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more funding!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ku Aloha Ola Mau is a place of healing and sanctuary for those seeking out assistance and recovery from opiate addiction. Their warm and loving " ohana" like environment and caring staff makes it easy to feel at ease which enhances the connection with the staff in tune leading to a successful recovery. Ku Aloha Ola Mau is culturally sensitive and diverse which is a component that makes them stand out from other programs statewide. I highly recommend contacting them if you or someone you know is in need of help for opiate addiction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would renovate their offices to give them more space as they do the best they can with what they have. Being a non profit agency funds are often limited. However they are very humble and appreciative for all that they do have.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This program assist those that has an addiction to Opioid and unfortunately it is often misunderstood, yet the services is much needed. This program helps make changes to clients lives, who previously saw no end to their addiction. Methadone and Suboxone treatment, along with counseling and group sessions, provide a different avenue for clients to get themselves better and to be productive individual.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers