Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.764715
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

My professional career began at Ku Aloha (formerly known as DASH). During my tenure I learned work ethic, I learned a sense of belonging, I learned how to be a good supervisor. The lessons taught to me were invaluable and I have taken those lessons and incorporated into my sense of style and leadership abilities. Thank you DASH!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ku Aloha Ola Mau has taken great strides to move above and beyond the usual substance abuse treatment, focusing not only on evidence based practices (such as cognitive behavioral therapy, motivational interviewing/motivation enhancement therapy, and brief strategic therapy), but also holistic, spiritual approaches which aims to heal the individual and their families as a whole, mentally, physically, and spiritually.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase in outreach and advertising to better inform community of services and break down misconceptions surrounding methadone maintenance treatment and substance abuse treatment as a whole.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KAOM is an organization that is determined to help our haumana be successful in life by providing comprehensive programs to assist them with addiction and in other areas of their life (art group, counseling, men's and women's group, acupuncture) just to name a few.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more funding!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ku Aloha has saved my life! I would be in a much different place right now if it weren't for them. Every person who works there always greats you with a warm smile. I feel like it is my home away from home. Mahalo to Ku Aloha for not just going through the motions but actually caring and being present without any judgement,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see my counselor more than once per week

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Ku Aloha Ola Mau as a practicum counseling psychology student. What attracted me to this place is that they view helping the client from a wholistic perspecitive, not just treating the addiction. Ku Aloha Ola Mau sees each person an individual that needs to be understood within the context of their unique history in order to be helped in the way that will bring them to a place of higher functioning. The time I have spent here has challenged my personal stereotypes of addiction and has educated me that addiction does not discriminate who it can fall upon. Ku Aloha Ola Mau is a place where acceptance, growth and accountability are encouraged to the staff and clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow for more education to the public about misconceptions of addiction and the role of methadone treatment in order to facilitate better funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ku Aloha Ola Mau is a place of healing and sanctuary for those seeking out assistance and recovery from opiate addiction. Their warm and loving " ohana" like environment and caring staff makes it easy to feel at ease which enhances the connection with the staff in tune leading to a successful recovery. Ku Aloha Ola Mau is culturally sensitive and diverse which is a component that makes them stand out from other programs statewide. I highly recommend contacting them if you or someone you know is in need of help for opiate addiction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would renovate their offices to give them more space as they do the best they can with what they have. Being a non profit agency funds are often limited. However they are very humble and appreciative for all that they do have.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Rachel and I would like to say that I have worked with Ku Aloha Ola Mau's Hilo Office as a HIV/Hep C tester and counselor and have really enjoyed sharing my services with them. I have offered my expertise to both clients and employees. Every time I have gone to their office it has been a great experience. The clients are very engaging and of course the employees have all been very caring and compassionate. Ku Aloha Ola Mau does a very good job at providing their services and meeting the needs of their client's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This program assist those that has an addiction to Opioid and unfortunately it is often misunderstood, yet the services is much needed. This program helps make changes to clients lives, who previously saw no end to their addiction. Methadone and Suboxone treatment, along with counseling and group sessions, provide a different avenue for clients to get themselves better and to be productive individual.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had personal experience working with Ku Aloha Ola Mau. They have a comprehensive addiction treatment program including not just Methadone Medication but Meditation, Acupuncture, Psychological treatment , Arts program, Music program, Recovery groups and individual counseling. The emphasis is to address not just the disease but the overall person. To see a person in recovery as they change and become self assured and healthy is so worth the hard work and effort the entire staff puts in. I am proud to work for this company.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

facilitate funding for expansion so we could reach more people who deserve to have excellent and comprehensive treatment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The staff is very professional and friendly. Ku Aloha Ola Mau is organized and helpful to each and every patient. It is a great place to work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers