Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
123.4761945
Write A Review
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

My friend has a dog from this school. It's a shame because they raised money to get to travel to KSDS and their dog isn't even capable of doing basic skills, let alone being able to do advanced skills like they need. They love the dog, but love doesn't turn on and off lights or open or close doors or retrieve dropped items. My friend has contacted the school for additional followup and support and has consistently been told it's her fault. WRONG, that's not how you treat people.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I've seen several dogs from this school. Usually after the person serviced then comes to me to help "fix" or teach the dogs what they should have learned while under the guidance of this school. I can't believe the incompetence of the staff to place the dogs the way they do and claim they are "trained". They obviously do not understand their clientele. Shame on ADI for accrediting this school too.
October 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 26, 2014

I got a dog from this organization. It doesn't (and never did) know what I was promised the dog would know. I have asked for assistance from the trainers on multiple occasions and just keep getting told it's my fault and making me feel guilty that I can't get the dog to do simple tasks to help mitigate my disability. I'm not ALPHA enough. I'll never get a dog from this school ever again. In my opinion, KSDS is just a glorified puppy mill.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I have witnessed several dogs that have graduated from this school being aggressive. One even attacked my dog and bloodied it's ear and I had to take it to the emergency veterinarian. The dogs are too much for their clients to handle and they don't do a good job of matching dogs with people. I feel bad for anyone who gets a dog from them.
November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

As a previous donor to this organization, I became suspicious in the last few years with all the changes and none that have been positive. I did some research on the current training staff and found that the senior trainer has in fact been convicted for steeling money in her prior job at a bank right there in Washington. I can't believe that they are allowing her to collect donations and etc. What type of place is this.
Every time they make one of their changes, they explain how there will be new guidelines such as the breeding and training programs. I have taken the time to look back at past newsletters and such and they are not changing anything but staff members and leadership.
The new duplexes were supposed to allow for larger classes, however I have not seen a class larger than five since the addition. You never see more that one or two guide students in class. Why do they even place guide dogs?
The new breeding guidelines are not new, but have been in place for years...established by Karen Acre Price herself. The puppies in training are kept in their puppy homes until the age of two or older so that the latest placements are being made when the dog is between 3-4 years of age. How is that fair for a person with a disability to receive a dog that old when they only work 8 -10 years?
How is it fair for dogs to spend over a year in the kennels in training? The poor puppy raisers waiting and waiting for the dog they spent time loving and training to finally be placed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire qualified people who believe in the mission and get some real leadership in this program. A CEO that is a retired extension agent for home economics is not a good choice.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 29, 2013

My friend raised puppies for this organization until the last one, she got back was so sick she had to take him directly to the vet. They had this dog in training for over a year and then released him because he was too easily distracted. When my friend went to pick up the dog, he was very skinny, no longer house broken and did not even respond to his name. The vet said that he had lost over 12% of his body weight and was severely under nourished. The acting CEO and trainer insisted that the dog was healthy. What did they do to this poor dog and how can they think a dog healthy like this?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get better guidelines for evaluation and caring for the dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 26, 2013

The current employees are not even certified for training dogs. The Accreditation received by Assistance Dogs International only applies to the Service Dog Program, however they imply that all the programs including Social and Guide are also under this Accreditation. The Guide Program has never been certified or acknowledged by the Guide Dog Federation. They consistently lie to the public and their potential clients about their creditability.

The release rate of dogs from this program is almost 50% and when dogs are released, some are not even offered back to their puppy raisers for adoption but given to other families for a donation. There are several very sad and hurt young people who had to find out through the grapevine that the puppy they raised was even released and then of course not offered back to them. These people enjoy hurting those or "getting even" with those people who voice their opinion or have different ideas.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop blaming the release rate on past employees and take responsibility for the inability to train dogs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2013

more

November 26, 2013

This organization is anything but transparent...just try asking to see any of their financial information or board meeting minutes. There are no term limits on this board and the won't invite new members on. The board members secretly meet and make decisions in groups of 2-3 and then sway the rest of the board members to agree. Previous employees were treated like dirt after dedicating and developing the programs for over 10 years. These employees were discarded but their ideas were kept and later implemented being passed off as the "new guidelines".
Any signs of leadership from employees is frown upon and seen as a struggle for power and attempt at taking over. These board members have a warped sense of "helping people", they are all about themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Rebuild the entire board of directors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011

I've called KSDS, Inc. family for 14 years. They are a strong people oriented organization. As a puppy raiser my efforts are rewarded with a high percentage of puppies accepted into the program with Service, Guide and Social dogs being developed. Extra care is taken to match the person with the Assistance Dog. When I've had a puppy not make the program the staff strive above and beyond to place the puppy that family that best matches.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Full circle puppy raising

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them closer to my home.

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

When I began looking for an organization to assist as a volunteer, I researched several other organizations, but none as impressive as Ksds. What impressed me most was their success rate and their true commitment to helping people with disabilitiies become happier, more independent individuals. At Ksds, everyone is family, and everyone is valued as individuals. They haveamazing follow up procedures with each individual whos life they have touched.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Several ways, yearly seminars, graduation ceremonies, daily contact with other volunteers and staff, speaking to graduates whos lives they have changed

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not!!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers