Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
Write A Review
November 27, 2014

more

November 27, 2014

I've spent over 300 hours volunteering with IMAlive now, and it has always been an incredible (and sometimes tough!) experience. The supervisors are always supportive and there to step in if needed, but also make sure to invest in your skills so that your own confidence and ability to help others grows. I love the virtual crisis center model, it has made it so that I can continue to keep volunteering and helping others, even after moving across the country.
November 13, 2014

more

November 13, 2014

Volunteering with IMAlive has been very enriching and rewarding. I've learnt a great deal about crisis intervention and listening skills from my supervisors, who have been very generous with their time and feedback. There's always a supervisor on call, which means volunteers never have to feel alone or overwhelmed since help is just an IM away. Plus, the great thing about IMAlive is that the hours and location are flexible, due to its online medium. Thus, my ability to commit and sign up for shifts on a regular basis is enhanced. All in all, I am grateful towards my knowledgeable supervisors and to IMAlive in general for enabling me to help others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 11, 2014

more

November 11, 2014

When I was in university, the girls on my floor helped to make a booth about Suicide Prevention at our school freshman year. Through that experience, we learned about the Kristin Brooks Hope Center and recommended it to people who might be suffering. Working now as a volunteer is a really interesting perspective. It's shown me what it really is to be an active listener and is teaching me a lot about how to treat other people (something I thought I'd already figured out!). I only have about 50 hours so far, but I have no intention of stopping. There's just so much more to learn!
November 10, 2014

more

November 10, 2014

Volunteering with IMAlive has been a humbling experience. It is a community of support and I am grateful to be a part of it. (And the supervisors I get to interact with are incredibly knowledgeable!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

As a volunteer of IMAlive, I absolutely love listening to other people in need. I just started volunteering this past March and I am already past 100 community service hours. It's been extremely rewarding. You would think that the only person getting something out of the chat is the person in crisis, but as the volunteer, I've learned a lot about myself. The people I talk to reassure me that everyone feels the same emotions. I just love knowing that I've helped someone change heir life. I've gotten feedback from the people I've helped days later, saying how they're doing much better and how they're so happy they found me. A few weeks ago after ending a chat, the person in crisis told me that she had been in contact with 3 different crisis hotlines that day and that I, by far, was the best. That completely makes my day! I love IMAlive.
November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

I just hit 100 volunteer hours recently. It has been a great experience working with IMAlive. I've learned how to really listen to someone and read between the lines to see the feelings they are having. The supervisors are really positive and friendly and are there to help you get through a difficult call or help put something into the right words.
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

I began with IMAlive in 2011 and nothing can be more rewarding than helping people in crisis. Hearing their words and helping them find options by being that ear they needed. Plus I am able to train and volunteer from home at the hours that work best for me. Learning with each chat that is taken makes volunteering so rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I started volunteering with IMALIVE just this year, and the experience has far exceeded my expectations.

Nothing is more rewarding than helping someone find their way.

The training and staff are both very hands on (as it needs to be!), and I couldn't ask for a better or more
supportive team to be working with.
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I started volunteering with ImAlive in 2011 and I have been loving it ever since. I wasn't sure what I was getting into, talking to people in crisis? Would I be able to help?!
The answer is yes! I can help and so can so many other people.
Its rare that an organization makes you feel so
empowered, so knowledgeable and so supported and ImAlive does that everyday! I love my time volunteering. I love the team, I love the support and I love the fact that I can feel like I am making a real difference in people's lives.
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

I have been volunteering with IMAlive since 2012. This is a great organization dedicated to helping those in crisis who feel they have nowhere else to turn. The supervisors provide thorough training in the fundamentals of crisis intervention, and volunteers are certified before they start interacting with users of the site. My time working with this organization has been very fulfilling.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers