Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

My Golden Retriever, Hunter, and I jointed KPETS over a year ago. Hunter is only two years old but has the demeanor of an “old soul”. This “Old Soul” has melted the hearts of many children at the Shrewsbury Library’s “Tales for Tails”.
There are moments when five children are reading five
different books all at the same time. Some will show Hunter the pictures in the books. One little boy was very shy to read in front of his parents. They decided to walk around the library while the boy sat and rubbed Hunter’s belly. There was a dog book sitting on Hunter’s blanket. I told the little boy Hunter had just finished reading the book and if he liked, he could read it to Hunter. The boy was slow at picking up the book. As the boy read, he would stumble through some of the words. I asked him to show the word to Hunter. I would then put my ear to Hunter’s snout. I would then tell the boy the word. He was so impressed that Hunter “could read”. This encouraged him that he decided to get another book to read. When his parents returned to the reading area, they were thrilled by the sight of their shy son reading to Hunter. They kept thanking me for breaking the shyness and shell that was surrounding their son. One dog, one boy, one book, one magical moment is all it took.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the numbers of children grow who come to Tales for Tails. The regulars always return but it's exciting to see so many new faces who are eager to read to Hunter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful if larger organizations would fund this incredible organization. If only we would take a handful of potential donors and let them see first hand the challenges, goals and miracle moments the volunteers experience. Pet therapy is in such demand. We just need the funding to spead the service, love and fur.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Encourage people to include KPETS in their estate planning. Many of us would love to volunteer full-time for KPETS. Winning the lottery would definately make me change my life plans and come to KPETS full-time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I don't know who benefits more from the pet therapy, me or the children. Being childless by choice I am able to spend more time with MANY children and make a difference in their lives by just being there with my dog and listening.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I have been in healthcare for over 34 years. Keystone Pet Enhanced Therapy has been the most rewarding experience. My dog has made me a better person.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2011

more

April 23, 2011

I became involved with KPETS last year with my 10 year old Brittany who I rescued 7 years ago. She was put into a rescue organization because her original owners could not spend enough time with her since they commuted over an hour each way to their employment. This is important since Haley, my KPETS certified dog, just craves attention from everyone. Haley gets as much out of KPETS as she gives to the kids at the library or the folks at the nursing home or the people who stop at the information booth when we are fundraising. We have been to the golf tournament and to the Bow Wow Bingo fundraisers and she just loves everyone and all of the dogs too!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the excitement that I see in the kids who come to read to Haley and to see how much their reading ability gets better. Also seeing the senior citizens and how much they appreciate the visits and how the staff at the nursing homes tell us that our visits make such a difference in the seniors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a big benefactor to fund this group so they can train and certify more pet teams to make more visits and keep up with all of the requests for our services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

They could win the lottery so we would have enough money to keep operating without having to raise money. This would give the 300+ KPETS teams more time to visit and service all of the many requests.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Being involved with KPETS has been so much fun for Haley and me because we get to see kids become better readers, see older folks with a smile on their face, and to see people in rehab work harder to get better. Success for all involved.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Thankful for being a part of an organization that gives so much to others but allows Haley and me to receive also and to feel fulfillment.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2011

more

April 15, 2011

We first heard about KPETS when Karen and Sammy visited the hospital where I was an occupational therapist. Having a golden retriever(Poz, a 6 year old golden whom we rescued from the humane league at age 2), I immediately thought "Poz would LOVE doing this" as well as did all my therapist friends. My husband and I went to the pre-assessment and we knew KPETS would be a great thing for Poz, we were hooked. Poz passed all his assessments with flying colors and we were officially a KPETS team. Seeing the joy and happiness on people's faces when they see Poz coming is something that just brings such joy to our lives. We love Poz so much and to be able to share him with others and know what a good job and good work he is doing by just being himself and letting them pet him, is so rewarding. We absolutely LOVE KPETs and doing as much as we can to be involved whenever we can(which can sometimes be difficult with a very active 2 year old!). You can not imagine the smiles you can get from a visit or the stories you hear from others about their lives, their dogs and just their lives today. KPETS means so much to us, to be able to give back to our community is something we love. Poz is truly an amazing Golden and we are so happy to have him and can't imagine a day without him! Even better is being able to share him with so many others when we do therapy with him, it's the smiles on other's faces seeing him and knowing the joy it brings them, just absolutely amazing!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The smiles and outcomes you see in people you visit as well as the community. Therapy dogs and dogs in general just bring joy to everyone's faces not to mention all the health benefits that have been proven by visits by dogs(lower blood pressure, lower stress, etc)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More places to share our Furry therapy child with the community, there can never be too many!!

April 15, 2011

more

April 15, 2011

While Chester, my golden retriever Pet Therapy dog, and I were walking down the hallway to our regular Pet Therapy appt. at Schreiber Pediatric Rehab, a speech therapist came out of her room and asked, "Excuse me, would you mind coming back to my room for a moment? I am working with a little girl, in all my time working with her I have never heard her speak a complete sentence, or be able to put words together. When you walked past my door she said, 'Can I pet the dog?'" Well, of course I immediately turned around and went into her room with Chester. The little 10 year old girl was all smiles and so excited to pet the dog! While petting him she said, "I have a dog at home!" The therapist amazed, quietly spoke to me, "Sentence #2!" She asked the girl about her dog at home. The girl reached into her backpack, pulled out a stuffed doggie, kissed Chester with her stuffed doggie, and said, "This is my doggie!" The therapist looked my way and mouthed the words, "Sentence #3..." My eyes filled with tears, so privilged to be apart of this miracle-moment.

What a difference Pet Therapy can make in the life of a child, an adult, whoever could benefit from the undconditional love and a tail wag of a furry friend.

These stories happen everyday. God moments for sure. And sometimes... when you least expect it, while you are on your way to someplace just walkin' and waggin' down the hallway, miracles can pop up and surprise you.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Chester and I go to my appointments each week, I see the amazing difference Chester, my pet therapy dog, makes in the lives of those he works with ~ reading with children at schools, working in therapy with chidren and adults, visiting children at Domestic Violence safe houses, and sharing love with adults and children with special needs. Those we visit are blessed ~ I am blessed beyond words as well. What a joy to see the difference we can make in someone elses life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

KPETS is a non profit, with over 300 volunteers visiting homes and facilities everyday of the year ~ to encourage, love, bring hope, and healing to countless lives and hearts. We give of our time for free, but it does not come without cost to KPETS. It takes $$ to run this amazing organization effeciently & caringly. A CHANGE I would love to see happen ~ full funding for KPETS, so we all could be investing our time in Pet Therapy hours, rather than countless hours of fundraising to pay the bills.

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

My Golden Retriever, Buster, and I participated in a Paws for Reading program at East Berlin (PA) library. Children of all ages would come in to read to a KPETS therapy dog. One of the kids we worked with improved so much, he was selected to go to a literacy camp that year. Buster and I were very proud of his success!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Paws for Reading

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help KPETS become more widely known for the great work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Expand into Adams County (PA)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I felt pride in helping children improve their reading skills.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Needed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

KPETS is an amazing organization. I bond with my dog and others. I can share the gift of my furry friend with those who are in need of a smile. It is wonderful to see those who are struggling light up and smile when they see the therapy dogs coming.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every aspect of our local community- Lancaster PA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

branch out so we can touch more lives.

April 13, 2011

more

April 13, 2011

KPETS is an amazing organization!! Karen and her team of volunteers are selfless in the time and devotion that give to the community ... not to mention the unconditional love and kisses provided by their furry friends. Watching the children run to the dogs when they are at church or at other locations allows one to see the human bonding between the therapy dogs and others. Furry friends greet everyone warmly and compassionately ... creating a ray of sunshine for everyone!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I watched their endless hours and devotion seeking out fundraising opportunities so they can GROW the organization. Additionally, I have personally observed how the therapy dogs have the changed the lives of sick children and adults... giving them hope and unconditional love beyond measure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None ... the organization does an amazing job at carrying out it's mission to adults and children alike ... bring smiles and warm hearts to everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None at this time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I felt a sense of love and compassion like never before ... watching the dogs changing the lives of sick children.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Warm & fuzzy!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2011

more

April 13, 2011

Meeko and I were doing our regular visit with a small class at a school. Our visit went really well and the students had a great time working and visiting with Meeko. That was awesome enough. Meeko is truly turning into a fantastic little therapy dog. He may only weigh 6lbs, but he really has a big heart for kids and just seems to know who needs a little extra therapy at times.

We had finished our classroom visit, exited the room and were making our way down the hall to leave when we came upon a student and a staff member sitting in the hall. Meeko immediately went to this student, I asked the staff member if it was okay, noting that it appeared the student had been crying. He nodded and the student asked if he could hold Meeko. I said certainly, and placed Meeko in his lap. Meeko looked up and began licking this child’s tears. The child began smiling and talking to Meeko. He had Meeko do a few a tricks, sat on the floor and played with him for a couple of minutes, got up turned to me, smiled and ran off into the classroom.

I looked at the staff member sitting on the chair who had been with this student, obviously consoling this child. He looked at me in wonder and said, “That was the most amazing thing I ever saw.” He proceeded to tell me that there was speaker in the class talking about smoking and the effects of it. This student’s mother had just been diagnosed with lung cancer from smoking. He had become upset when they began talking about it in class. The staff member said he had been trying to console him for about 20 minutes but was unable to. He said he had never seen anything like that happen before. I smiled and said that is the magic of pet therapy. We peeked in on the child in the classroom before we left, he looked back with the biggest smile ever, gave us two thumbs up. I returned the thumbs up, smiled and winked, then as we turned and made our way down the hall, I thought, “Isn’t it amazing how our dog’s just know what to do?” I am so proud of Meeko. He will forever be the Chihuahua that touched the lives of so many children. The little dog with a big heart!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Libraries, schools, nursing and retirement homes, teen detention centers, and mental health facilities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers. We have so many facilities who would like visits that we need more volunteers to fill the need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely yes! I have learned so many new skills, met so many new people and made lots of new friends!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Made me feel like we could make a difference in someone's life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2011

more

April 13, 2011

My little Westie, McGuffee, loves meeting with children and senior citizens. He is small and friendly and everyone enjoys him. He marched in the K-Pets Christmas Parade, made several visits to Manorcare and participates in the annual Pupapolooza.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Enjoyed activity with my dog

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce the amount of annoying regulations and restrictions

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

too many annoying rules and regulations for a volunteer activity. Nearly every time I do a K-Pets activity someone complains about some minor infraction--leash is not the right length, no wear proper ID, some legal form not signed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers