Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 20, 2013

Virginia "Ginny" Swartzell and her Therapy Dogs have become a part of the 4Main family at Holy Spirit. Each week Ginny and one of her “children” bring joy and laughter to the many patients on 4Main as well as the staff. Tessa, one of Ginny’s “children“, has become one of our 4Main “RNs” with her beautiful, frilly nursing outfit that she wears when she visits with our patients.
Holy Spirit Hospital recently participated in their Magnet Appraisal Visit to achieve Magnet Designation through the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). Ginny and Tessa were gracious enough to come in and be here for the 4Main unit tour with the Magnet Appraiser. As part of our 4Main family, Ginny and Tessa were very helpful in demonstrating the mission and vision of 4Main and the commitment to our patients and their families.
4Main thanks Ginny and Tessa and K-Pets for their dedication to the patients and staff on our unit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2013

more

January 11, 2013

Jill Herbert, who use to work for SeniorLIFE brought pet therapy to our center and put information on your website.

Jill, her high school daughter Jubilee Herbert, and their dog Molly brought along Nancy Dixon and her dog Jill to our Adult Day Care Center in 2012. Our Members loved them!
They were very professional and courteous, and their dogs calm and obedient. This group had problems with our hours, due to our Monday through Friday 8-4:30 PM, conflicting with Jubilees schooling.

We now have Lori Napoli and her dog Kramer coming to our center. This is such a blessing! The SeniorLIFE members are so happy. One of our members stated that the new therapy dog “really connected with her and that has never happened before.”

Thank you all so much for what you do. This is such a treat for those who miss having animals!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

My Golden Retriever, Hunter, and I jointed KPETS over a year ago. Hunter is only two years old but has the demeanor of an “old soul”. This “Old Soul” has melted the hearts of many children at the Shrewsbury Library’s “Tales for Tails”.
There are moments when five children are reading five
different books all at the same time. Some will show Hunter the pictures in the books. One little boy was very shy to read in front of his parents. They decided to walk around the library while the boy sat and rubbed Hunter’s belly. There was a dog book sitting on Hunter’s blanket. I told the little boy Hunter had just finished reading the book and if he liked, he could read it to Hunter. The boy was slow at picking up the book. As the boy read, he would stumble through some of the words. I asked him to show the word to Hunter. I would then put my ear to Hunter’s snout. I would then tell the boy the word. He was so impressed that Hunter “could read”. This encouraged him that he decided to get another book to read. When his parents returned to the reading area, they were thrilled by the sight of their shy son reading to Hunter. They kept thanking me for breaking the shyness and shell that was surrounding their son. One dog, one boy, one book, one magical moment is all it took.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the numbers of children grow who come to Tales for Tails. The regulars always return but it's exciting to see so many new faces who are eager to read to Hunter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful if larger organizations would fund this incredible organization. If only we would take a handful of potential donors and let them see first hand the challenges, goals and miracle moments the volunteers experience. Pet therapy is in such demand. We just need the funding to spead the service, love and fur.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Encourage people to include KPETS in their estate planning. Many of us would love to volunteer full-time for KPETS. Winning the lottery would definately make me change my life plans and come to KPETS full-time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I don't know who benefits more from the pet therapy, me or the children. Being childless by choice I am able to spend more time with MANY children and make a difference in their lives by just being there with my dog and listening.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I have been in healthcare for over 34 years. Keystone Pet Enhanced Therapy has been the most rewarding experience. My dog has made me a better person.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2011

more

April 23, 2011

I became involved with KPETS last year with my 10 year old Brittany who I rescued 7 years ago. She was put into a rescue organization because her original owners could not spend enough time with her since they commuted over an hour each way to their employment. This is important since Haley, my KPETS certified dog, just craves attention from everyone. Haley gets as much out of KPETS as she gives to the kids at the library or the folks at the nursing home or the people who stop at the information booth when we are fundraising. We have been to the golf tournament and to the Bow Wow Bingo fundraisers and she just loves everyone and all of the dogs too!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the excitement that I see in the kids who come to read to Haley and to see how much their reading ability gets better. Also seeing the senior citizens and how much they appreciate the visits and how the staff at the nursing homes tell us that our visits make such a difference in the seniors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a big benefactor to fund this group so they can train and certify more pet teams to make more visits and keep up with all of the requests for our services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

They could win the lottery so we would have enough money to keep operating without having to raise money. This would give the 300+ KPETS teams more time to visit and service all of the many requests.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Being involved with KPETS has been so much fun for Haley and me because we get to see kids become better readers, see older folks with a smile on their face, and to see people in rehab work harder to get better. Success for all involved.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Thankful for being a part of an organization that gives so much to others but allows Haley and me to receive also and to feel fulfillment.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

KPETS have been in the New Oxford Area Library since 2008.
I have had parents tell me their child began reading with more confidence since they visited the library to read aloud to the therapy animals.
We have also had the therapy animals in the library for writing workshop for 5th to 7th
grade students. The families are so impressed with the training and the impact on the kids and the pleasure they have in this experience. Talented writers and therapy animals at the library. A wining combination for all.
Be sure to "check out" the books in the New Oxford Area Library Mystery series.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

So much fun and I am learning about the training for the therapy animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

April 15, 2011

more

April 15, 2011

We first heard about KPETS when Karen and Sammy visited the hospital where I was an occupational therapist. Having a golden retriever(Poz, a 6 year old golden whom we rescued from the humane league at age 2), I immediately thought "Poz would LOVE doing this" as well as did all my therapist friends. My husband and I went to the pre-assessment and we knew KPETS would be a great thing for Poz, we were hooked. Poz passed all his assessments with flying colors and we were officially a KPETS team. Seeing the joy and happiness on people's faces when they see Poz coming is something that just brings such joy to our lives. We love Poz so much and to be able to share him with others and know what a good job and good work he is doing by just being himself and letting them pet him, is so rewarding. We absolutely LOVE KPETs and doing as much as we can to be involved whenever we can(which can sometimes be difficult with a very active 2 year old!). You can not imagine the smiles you can get from a visit or the stories you hear from others about their lives, their dogs and just their lives today. KPETS means so much to us, to be able to give back to our community is something we love. Poz is truly an amazing Golden and we are so happy to have him and can't imagine a day without him! Even better is being able to share him with so many others when we do therapy with him, it's the smiles on other's faces seeing him and knowing the joy it brings them, just absolutely amazing!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The smiles and outcomes you see in people you visit as well as the community. Therapy dogs and dogs in general just bring joy to everyone's faces not to mention all the health benefits that have been proven by visits by dogs(lower blood pressure, lower stress, etc)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More places to share our Furry therapy child with the community, there can never be too many!!

April 15, 2011

more

April 15, 2011

While Chester, my golden retriever Pet Therapy dog, and I were walking down the hallway to our regular Pet Therapy appt. at Schreiber Pediatric Rehab, a speech therapist came out of her room and asked, "Excuse me, would you mind coming back to my room for a moment? I am working with a little girl, in all my time working with her I have never heard her speak a complete sentence, or be able to put words together. When you walked past my door she said, 'Can I pet the dog?'" Well, of course I immediately turned around and went into her room with Chester. The little 10 year old girl was all smiles and so excited to pet the dog! While petting him she said, "I have a dog at home!" The therapist amazed, quietly spoke to me, "Sentence #2!" She asked the girl about her dog at home. The girl reached into her backpack, pulled out a stuffed doggie, kissed Chester with her stuffed doggie, and said, "This is my doggie!" The therapist looked my way and mouthed the words, "Sentence #3..." My eyes filled with tears, so privilged to be apart of this miracle-moment.

What a difference Pet Therapy can make in the life of a child, an adult, whoever could benefit from the undconditional love and a tail wag of a furry friend.

These stories happen everyday. God moments for sure. And sometimes... when you least expect it, while you are on your way to someplace just walkin' and waggin' down the hallway, miracles can pop up and surprise you.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Chester and I go to my appointments each week, I see the amazing difference Chester, my pet therapy dog, makes in the lives of those he works with ~ reading with children at schools, working in therapy with chidren and adults, visiting children at Domestic Violence safe houses, and sharing love with adults and children with special needs. Those we visit are blessed ~ I am blessed beyond words as well. What a joy to see the difference we can make in someone elses life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

KPETS is a non profit, with over 300 volunteers visiting homes and facilities everyday of the year ~ to encourage, love, bring hope, and healing to countless lives and hearts. We give of our time for free, but it does not come without cost to KPETS. It takes $$ to run this amazing organization effeciently & caringly. A CHANGE I would love to see happen ~ full funding for KPETS, so we all could be investing our time in Pet Therapy hours, rather than countless hours of fundraising to pay the bills.

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

My Golden Retriever, Buster, and I participated in a Paws for Reading program at East Berlin (PA) library. Children of all ages would come in to read to a KPETS therapy dog. One of the kids we worked with improved so much, he was selected to go to a literacy camp that year. Buster and I were very proud of his success!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Paws for Reading

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help KPETS become more widely known for the great work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Expand into Adams County (PA)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I felt pride in helping children improve their reading skills.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Needed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

I am the program director for a school-based Boys and Girls Club site. We have been so lucky to have a KPETS volunteer join our program this school year. Over the course of the year, Kathy and her wonderful dog, Jazz, have worked with groups of our students to improve their reading skills. Over a series of weeks, the students are able to take turns reading to Jazz, which makes them less nervous than reading with an adult. The students are exposed to other crafts and dog-related activities as well. It is truly a great incentive to deepen their interest in reading, and the program is reaping results as well- a teacher of a current participant just came to me and said, "I don't know what you're doing with [name removed for privacy], but keep it up because her test scores are rocketing up!"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Students participating in KPETS with Kathy and Jazz are more interested in reading during their free periods at the Club. Several of them also moved into the proficient category on their most recent round of Foresight tests, which is an important achievement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A- terrific organization

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

KPETS is an amazing organization. I bond with my dog and others. I can share the gift of my furry friend with those who are in need of a smile. It is wonderful to see those who are struggling light up and smile when they see the therapy dogs coming.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every aspect of our local community- Lancaster PA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

branch out so we can touch more lives.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers