Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
106 Reviews
1234.990575
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

This was my son's first year and he loved everything about the camp. He returned more confident and self assured. He felt like he had bonded with his mentors and the other kids in the program. He felt challenged to do his best and appreciated for his efforts. He and his mentor made a list of goals that he worked on at camp and that he was able to apply to our home life. This was a great experience for him and my son says he can't wait to go again next year.
August 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

So thankful for an amazing first year!! Both of my kiddos are already looking forward to next year, which will be the first year for my son. I can not speak highly enough of all of the people involved... more

August 16, 2014

This was my daughter's second year at camp and my son's first year. I can not speak highly enough about this camp for children of the fallen. The week that they provide for the campers is amazing. The kids come back with huge smiles on their faces, nonstop stories of all of their adventures and best of all excitement about returning next year! While the kids have fun, what sets this camp apart is the values and confidence the kids learn through overcoming and also giving back.
I would easily describe my daughter as very shy, quiet and withdrawn. I would even wager to say she had low self esteem and confidence before she went to camp last year. After 1 week she was a different child. She was chatty and smiley! I couldn't wait to see what this year held for her and now her brother. Again it was amazing!! This kid now has the light back in her eyes! It makes me tear up just thinking about it. The quiet confidence she is gaining from this camp translate into this child now ready to take on more difficult classes in school instead of being fearful and anxious. Asking her teachers, all on her own, to take a class she is interested in. There is no way that would have happened before. As for her brother, he has always been such an outgoing soul but afraid to try, afraid to fail. Now, he is ready to take on new activities that will require his effort. He has learned from camp not to give up but keep trying. I'm so thankful to this organization. Thankful that these amazing mentors give selflessly of their time for our children. So thankful for Knights of Heroes!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

So thankful for an amazing first year!! Both of my kiddos are already looking forward to next year, which will be the first year for my son. I can not speak highly enough of all of the people involved!! They give so selflessly of their time for these kids, for our families. It is very humbling!! My daughter is a changed kid! Challenges and hurdles are no longer impossible. What a difference this week has made!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Knights of Heros was such a wonderful experience for myself and my children. This was our first year coming to this camp, and look forward to returning in the upcoming years. My children lost their father 4 years ago, and the opportunity for them to bond with other children and learn lifelong skills by the mentors is priceless. My daughter came home with not only a smile on her face but more confident and a sense of accomplishment. I can't say enough about the dedication and kindness the mentors showed to the kids and our entire family. We really feel as if they welcomed us into a new family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it was wonderful

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I am a military widow with two boys ages 15 and 11. Knights of Heroes is dedicated to serve children that have experienced the loss of a military parent. The program offers the boys opportunities to connect with mentors that are of a military background to teach them that regardless of the circumstance they can conquer anything that they put their minds to do. Knights of Heroes gives my boys a chance to engage in activities that thier dad would have done with them had he been here to do so. The mentors and other voluteers in this organization are a critical component and make a huge difference in the lives of the children they touch.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Knights of Heroes is a great camp for kids of the fallen! It helps them know that they are not alone. It builds strong friendships that last forever. It helps you overcome fears and face obstacles. The mentors are amazing! They are truly there for the kids!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband passed away while on Active Duty 3 years ago. This is the second year my son, now 17, has attended Knights Of Heroes camp. This event is one of the highlights of my sons year!
Although KOH can never replace my son's father, they certainly have stepped in a filled a huge hole in his
life. At KOH camp my son gets to be a "Normal" young man. He experiences outdoor adventures, physical challenges, and incredible man to man bonding I cannot give him as his mother. The bonds that have formed with his mentors have been lifelong and life changing. My son has been able to work through many stages of grief through physical activity and real life scenarios.He has been given life skills that will go with him into adulthood. The KOH volunteers are the true heroes in my eyes. How many people give up a week or more of vacation and family time to work tirelessly to pour into the lives of others children.
I have also attended the Moms part of the program which is outstanding and allows the surviving spouses to bond and grow together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the age so my son could continue in this amazing program next year and beyond.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

WOW where do I start with a review for KOH truly Amazing !!!! my children are 3ed year campers and each year is better and better my children look forward to camp all year it is right up there with C... more

August 7, 2014

KOH is wonderful, my children and lost there father and my husband in Feb of 2006 and in that time there has not been a male role model in our lives, so when the opportunity for my 2 youngest children came up to attend the KOH camp it was wonderful we all were able to attend and i say we because the moms program is just as wonderful as the camp for the kids,it offers much needed positive actives and mentoring for all of the kids my children have been able to learn and do things that that may never have been iterdused to them through the camp (rock climbing,shooting,rafting,mountain biking,real out door overnight camping )and the fact that all of the kids have suffered the same kind of loss. there is a wonderful kind of bonding that goes on through this camp my children and my self have made LIFE long friends and connections as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2013

WOW where do I start with a review for KOH truly Amazing !!!! my children are 3ed year campers and each year is better and better my children look forward to camp all year it is right up there with Christmas and birthdays !! The time that KOH give to each child is wonderful the mentors they are just the best. my children have had the same mentors each year and it is wonderful to see the bonds that they are making with other kids and mentors this. there is no other organization like this KOH is truly amazing !!! love love love them already looking forward to next year :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My twins just completed their last year at camp due to graduating from high school. This camp and this group of people who run this charity are truly Christian, wonderful people. This organization has helped my children with the grieving process and also have been mentors to them. My children have benefited from this organization more than I ever thought possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of no way to improve this program. They are doing everything right.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

The Knights of Heroes Foundation is the best! They help me through the grieving process. The mentors do things with me that I can't do with my Dad because he is in Heaven.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Knights of Heroes Foundation is one of the best organization out there. My experience with them was life changing for my son and I. The donors, staff, mentors, event planners and mom were the best. We enjoyed several activities that were planned for us and my son and we came back refresh, renewed and a positive attitude. I enjoyed each and every activity that was planned and I truly enjoyed spending time with the other moms wheather we were relaxing, hanging out or just having a one on one conversation. I could have spent another week. Knights of Heroes is what my son and I really needed and I can see and feel the love and support from every single person in the organization. I came away feeling like I gain another family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend it to twice a year so it can grow more but still have that close family atmosphere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers