Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.987185
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

This was my first year. I could never have understood the true impacts of warfare on military families without having been part of this incredible program. Some of my one-on-one conversations during the week were more intense than I could have ever imagined - it is clearly evident these boys are dealing with traumatic and unexpected experiences that may take many years to get over. Our charge was not to replace their fathers but rather to challenge these kids, listen, and to exemplify strength of character. My family is dedicated to helping these children in their journeys to adulthood and becoming productive members of society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

As a mentor, this has been a life changing experience for me. There is no better way to honor our heroes than to care for their children. These kids are amazing! I am so thankful for the opportunity to be a part of Knights of Heroes! I can't wait until next year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

This is my 7th year supporting this great organization. I have had the pleasure of watching young men enter our program and find a sene of fulfilment and purpose as they step through our basic and "high adventure" programs. I have watched them build life long frenships with others in their same situation as well as with the mentors that serve. There is not a single paid possiton in this organization, every minute of work is done on a volunteer basis, the volunteers actualy spend their own money and use their personal leave time to participate in this grand endevor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2012

As a Youth Mentor for Knights of Heroes (KoH), I've been incredibly impressed at the year-long support KoH provides for the kids. A grass roots organization, this one stands out from the crowd with i... more

August 13, 2013

I've been a mentor for Knights of Heroes for two years and have seen first hand the immense benefit that KoH provides to these kids. It is so much more than just a summer camp. The personal connection the boys make with each other and the mentors lasts all year long. I've watched these boys' confidence visibly increase during the week of high adventure activities each year. In my 12 years of military service, I've never seen a more effective organization that blesses families of the fallen. The personal touch KoH provides to the entire family (Moms, boys, girls and siblings too young for the camp activities) is absolutely unmatched and more beneficial than a simple review can even begin to describe. And the fact that this grass roots organization is 100% donations based is even more incredible based on the unprecedented blessings it provides. Wow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more funding so KoH can bring even more families to camp next summer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012

As a Youth Mentor for Knights of Heroes (KoH), I've been incredibly impressed at the year-long support KoH provides for the kids. A grass roots organization, this one stands out from the crowd with immense levels of personal support, care and love. Other organizations provide a solitary experience, or give much needed funds - but KoH is the total package deal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I participated as a volunteer/mentor at a week long camp. It was a great experience for both volunteers and those served. The premise is to use the backdrop of outdoor adventure to develop strong traits in youth who have lost a parent to military service. It is an effective approach put on by a great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Nothing like acting on God's plan of serving widows and their children in distress! "Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless to look after widows and orphans in distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world." James 1:27
Serving at Knights of Heroe's touches
the spirit and moves the heart! Love the mom's and children who push on in times of difficulty!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes if a fabulous program! It is founded by a strong value system that permeates throughout the whole week of camp and that is one of the main reasons the camp is so worthwhile for the campers and also for the mentors. The kids are terrific and really have a great opportunity to reconnect with old friends and make new friends. Everyone has a common bond that becomes very solid throughout the week. The camp's mission and the focus on positive behaviors and challenging activities and a faith-filled lifestyle and of course, the resiliency in the kids, are really why it was such a pleasure for me to serve for a second summer. I will return to KOH for as long as I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes is truly devoted to the well-being of the boys and girls who attend and the mothers who send them. They have had a simple mission since the inception of the program and have not strayed from it. These are amazing kids and the mentors who devote their time are passionate about the well-being of the kids and their futures. The difference this program makes in the lives of the children of our nation's fallen is tremendous. I look forward to next year's camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no change at all

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I have been envolved in the Knights of Heroes since it startred. My son Steve is the founder. He had devoted time and lots of love in the camp. We have seen boys and girls grow and develop a respect for family and themselves. They find understanding and respect for their fathers and the sacerfice their lives made. They are surrounded by others that have been through the same experience. The mentors are generous and caring adults that have given of their time and open hearts to young boys and girls that need support at a turning time in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is perfect

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

In 2006 one of my closest friends was killed by an IED in Iraq leaving 3 young boys to navigate this life without him. The following year they were some of the first surviving children to attend the ... more

August 8, 2013

Another amazing year in the backcountry! It's amazing how quickly the boys grow up. I am complete awe of how they adapt, overcome, and use that strength for incredible success. I am honored to be a part of the program, and honored to spend time with such great kids. Congratulations to our graduates! Can't wait to see ya'll next year as mentors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

In 2006 one of my closest friends was killed by an IED in Iraq leaving 3 young boys to navigate this life without him. The following year they were some of the first surviving children to attend the KOH camp. KOH is a truly unique grass roots foundation in that it has stayed true to it's mission, even if that meant turning away large donors that would have made KOH's growth much easier. A large portion of the fundraising is done by the Mentors and Families that are part of the KOH family. The values, and lessons that are learned by the children serve as guiding lights in this chaotic world. The expeiences these children are not only life changing for them, but for the mentors as well that take part in this journey.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the interactions with the children that attend. The impact this camp has is astounding as you watch the kids grow and return year after year. No other organization in this space has near the legitimate impact that KOH does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more kids - but this will come in time. I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There is no better volunteer experience. It is absolutely life changing for everyone involved. The strength of the kids is inspiring on a level that cannot be described. The hearts and motivations of the other mentors is a truly unique experience.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

There is no way to not be effected by the experience that KOH offers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That there are bigger things in life to be concerned with in spite of a troubled economy. It reminds you to live life, and that living life really means living life for others.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers