Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.990485
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

I lost my father several years before my first camp experience, so I knew first-hand how crucial the influence a positive, adult role model is in the development of young girls and boys. I was eagerl... more

August 11, 2014

As a third year mentor, I am so excited each year to see the growth of our campers from the year before. Campers who once had trepidations about rock climbing now take pride in their rock climbing prowess. Campers who were once withdrawn and quiet have found their leadership potential and care for younger campers. Having seen results for three years now, I am encouraged about the kind of young men and women our campers will be, confident that they will stand out among their peers despite their life situation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2012

I lost my father several years before my first camp experience, so I knew first-hand how crucial the influence a positive, adult role model is in the development of young girls and boys. I was eagerly looking for an opportunity to use my experience in a positive way, and found it as a mentor at Knights of Heroes. The program allows kids to bond with each other over their shared experience while helping them discover their unknown strengths. KOH has the opportunity to bring kids hope, while helping them develop into strong, positive and productive adults, who contribute to healthy communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A more healthy attitude towards the loss of my own father

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help even MORE kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met so many amazing female mentors and inspiring young girls who encouraged me to live more positively.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That at least there was one positive outcome of losing my dad.

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I was pleased to be part of Knights of Heroes. I did not think that I would have much to contribute as a mentor for these boys. Boys, like men in general, are not overeager when it comes to sharing their problems and their emotional troubles. I wondered how I would help them. I am not a father, nor did I lose my dad at such a young age. It ended up being a great experience for all of us. KOH focuses on wilderness skills and confidence-building activities. We showed them some difficult outdoor activities that they had never seen or done before, and the community of other boys was very powerful for them. The camp emphasizes responsibility, initiative, and hard work to them every day, without beating them over the head with it. Boldness, for example, is better taught through mountain biking than in it could ever be taught in a classroom. The camp exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to go back next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that needs to be changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

This is without a doubt the greatest cause for volunteering your time, to the kids of the fallen serving our country. There is no greater cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I am a mentor for Knights of Heroes. When I came home from Iraq it didn't matter that I had a West Point diploma, Ranger Tab, and combat experience... I felt completely alone, isolated and cut off fr... more

August 8, 2014

Knights of Heroes is a life-changing experience for everyone involved. As a mentor going on seven years, nothing has brought me greater satisfaction than hiking in the wilderness with a group of Knights. Their personal journeys of self discovery (and self efficacy) advance higher each year. Prodigious leaders are unmasked at this camp, it is quite something to behold.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2012

I am a mentor for Knights of Heroes. When I came home from Iraq it didn't matter that I had a West Point diploma, Ranger Tab, and combat experience... I felt completely alone, isolated and cut off from everyone including my own family. Then I found Knights of Heroes. The kids I met in the program taught me this new expression of courage which is the courage to live on. You see, I had lost my will to live. But I learned that if these guys could do it, then I could too. I am so fortunate and blessed to be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

Knights of Heroes is a grassroots organization that puts everything it has into the kids. Everyone who is a part of it is a volunteer who truly believes in the mission. The foundation is dedicated to being a part of these kids lives for the long run.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes if a fabulous program! It is founded by a strong value system that permeates throughout the whole week of camp and that is one of the main reasons the camp is so worthwhile for the ... more

August 6, 2014

Knights of Heroes is great! The camp is such a great opportunity for the kids to connect with their friends with whom they share a common bond, or make new friends. They experience great adventure activities and learn character-building and leadership skills in a supportive and fun environment. The kids are amazing! It's so rewarding to see them grow up before our very eyes, to become positive and motivated individuals ready to tackle the world. As a mentor, it has been my pleasure to serve and be with the kids for 3 seasons. With consistent support and a commitment to their wellbeing, the mentors can really earn the kids' trust... which happens over time. Once that point is reached, it's so worthwhile to be the one they turn to when they need an answer or some advice. Looking forward to serving Knights of Heroes for years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more programs or opportunities to meet besides 1 week out of the summer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes if a fabulous program! It is founded by a strong value system that permeates throughout the whole week of camp and that is one of the main reasons the camp is so worthwhile for the campers and also for the mentors. The kids are terrific and really have a great opportunity to reconnect with old friends and make new friends. Everyone has a common bond that becomes very solid throughout the week. The camp's mission and the focus on positive behaviors and challenging activities and a faith-filled lifestyle and of course, the resiliency in the kids, are really why it was such a pleasure for me to serve for a second summer. I will return to KOH for as long as I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 21, 2012

I have been a volunteer working with the Knights of Heroes (KOH) for the six years. The KOH experience has been as rewarding to me as it is to the young men attending. I have witnessed the positive i... more

August 6, 2014

I have been involved with Knights of Heroes since the first year. It has grown from 17 boys to 79 boys and girls. It is sad to have a need for such a camp but a blessing for Steve Harrold to offer it for these brave kids. They have been through more than any child should and to be able to spend a week laughing, sharing and making new friends with kids who share the same loss as them is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2012

I have been a volunteer working with the Knights of Heroes (KOH) for the six years. The KOH experience has been as rewarding to me as it is to the young men attending. I have witnessed the positive impact that attending the annual KOH camp has had upon them. This year I had the opportunity to witness young men, who had attended the KOH camps as boys, return as mentors to work with the new boys attending the camp to the first time. Their positve impact was obvious. The new boys saw, first hand, what they will one day become even though their hero fathers will not be the ones to guide them. They know that their KOH mentors will do all they can to help fill that void and that their mentors will be there for them anytime they are needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 8, 2013

Another amazing year in the backcountry! It's amazing how quickly the boys grow up. I am complete awe of how they adapt, overcome, and use that strength for incredible success. I am honored to be a... more

August 6, 2014

KOH is simply the most effective program of it's kind. I became involved with KOH following the death of one of my closest friends. His children were 2 of the original children to attend at the founding of the camp. Since then, the camp has evolved into a program whose impact far exceeds the expectations for something with such a short duration. The program progression for the children keeps things relevant, exciting, and impactful as they continue to attend through their high school years. The proof of this is when they return after graduation to become mentors themselves. The 360 degree approach between mothers, brothers, and sisters puts the entire family on the same page when referring to tools taught and an effective means of implementation. As a mentor, I wait all year to live this week with these amazing kids. To witness, and get to take a small part, in their development as young men and future leaders can never be overstated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

Another amazing year in the backcountry! It's amazing how quickly the boys grow up. I am complete awe of how they adapt, overcome, and use that strength for incredible success. I am honored to be a part of the program, and honored to spend time with such great kids. Congratulations to our graduates! Can't wait to see ya'll next year as mentors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

In 2006 one of my closest friends was killed by an IED in Iraq leaving 3 young boys to navigate this life without him. The following year they were some of the first surviving children to attend the KOH camp. KOH is a truly unique grass roots foundation in that it has stayed true to it's mission, even if that meant turning away large donors that would have made KOH's growth much easier. A large portion of the fundraising is done by the Mentors and Families that are part of the KOH family. The values, and lessons that are learned by the children serve as guiding lights in this chaotic world. The expeiences these children are not only life changing for them, but for the mentors as well that take part in this journey.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the interactions with the children that attend. The impact this camp has is astounding as you watch the kids grow and return year after year. No other organization in this space has near the legitimate impact that KOH does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more kids - but this will come in time. I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There is no better volunteer experience. It is absolutely life changing for everyone involved. The strength of the kids is inspiring on a level that cannot be described. The hearts and motivations of the other mentors is a truly unique experience.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

There is no way to not be effected by the experience that KOH offers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That there are bigger things in life to be concerned with in spite of a troubled economy. It reminds you to live life, and that living life really means living life for others.

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I found this charity by accident. After reading the mission statement I was hooked. As a retired military member unfortunately this issue hits too close to home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to schedule more camp weeks and buy propert for KoH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I found Knights of Heroes on a suggestion of one of the Gold Star Families that attends the camp. Knights of Heroes (KoH) is one of the most incredible organizations I have found. KoH gives these children an opportunity to feel normal for a week, and be mentored by people that are equipped uniquely to deal with the grief and anger that comes up with traumatic loss. Most of the mentors are associated with the military in some way; many of us are either Active Duty or Prior Service, the vast remainder are spouses or have supported in some way the Military. The children that attend KoH are pushed outside of their comfort zones just enough to build their character and help them find self confidence. The difference we see in the kids over the course of just one week is really remarkable. I have seen a child go from a very timid wallflower who never smiled to a beaming and talkative child just over the course of a week. Even the child's mother was very (pleasantly) shocked to get her child back and see the difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything that would make this organization better except perhaps encouraging more donations so the camp can support more children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers