Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.987185
| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

We just returned from an amazing first year at KOH. The kids smiles and stories have not ended. Thank you KOH. The many volunteers and mentors are truly selfless and make a lasting difference in not only our children but ourselves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

We just returned from our first year at KOH. This trip will go down as one of our lifetime favorite camps. It was truly a blessing to have a week to experience God's beautiful creation. The activities were both relaxing and challenging, the support was outstanding! The children discovered some qualities in themselves they never knew existed! The location was fantastic and we look forward to attending camp next year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

This year was my seventh year as a volunteer at the KOH camp. The experience is always personally rewarding and the knowledge that I am able to enable a boy or girl to participate in something new is gratifying. It is exhilarating to see the expressions of joy on ther faces when they accomplish something they were either afraid to try or didn't think they could do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...do nothing, it is great as is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

KOH has been around for 7 years. Every year the camp grows and improves to serve the needs of these incredible families. The foundation is very open about finances. Tax returns can be found online at www.knightsofheroes.org; any additional information such as annual budgets can be obtained upon request.

One of the goals of the organization is to purchase land and have a place where families can escape year around. Additionally, programs will be offered throughout the year which will open the door for more kids to enjoy this unique program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

The opportunities the week of camp with Knights of Heroes provides for my children is invaluable. For them to have the benefit of the outstanding male and female mentors KOH has assembled to help gui... more

August 7, 2013

Knights of Heroes is an amazing week long summer camp opportunity for children who have lost their Dads to military service. I simply can't say enough good things about KOH and what it has meant to our family. My children look forward to it every year and the time spent with their mentors in invaluable. The men and women who work so hard to put this together every year and simply outstanding people. Thank you KOH!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the funds to buy their own land so they could have their own camp each summer instead of having to rent and borrow facilities from other ogranizations

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

The opportunities the week of camp with Knights of Heroes provides for my children is invaluable. For them to have the benefit of the outstanding male and female mentors KOH has assembled to help guide and educate our kids is a gift. My children all had fun, but more importantly, I know they grew and learned and are better people for the experience. KOH is making a difference it is making in these kids lives. AS long as they hold the camp, we will keep coming back, and when we are too old to participate as campers, I know my children will want to serve as mentors as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

This organization is amazing! The Knights of Heros camp is not about babysitting or entertaining the kids, it's about instilling in them life-essential values that will help ensure their smooth transition to adulthood. These kids have lived through something no kid should have to experience. However, KOH is there to help them overcome and go on to become the men and women God destined them to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it even further so as to accomodate even more children of our fallen heros.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

When my husband died 5 1/2 yrs ago, one of my biggest fears was raising 2 boys alone without their dad. I was very concerned about raising them to become great men of courage, faith, and confidence. I wanted my boys to have great men in their lives as role models. I am very grateful to Steve and the organization for bringing my boys into this family or courageous, Christian men. It makes my heart smile when a mentor affirms my parenting and compliments my sons character, leadership, and his abilities. It is healing for me and for both of my children. After my husband died, my oldest son's confidence plummeted. However, within this organization, he receives encouragement, team building, leadership, and life skills. They are learning to be grateful and to give back to the community.The mentors are grooming our sons to grow into hardworking, faithful, committed men. The mentors give their time and efforts to the organization wholeheartedly. I know they truly love our children. The volunteers dedicate many hours to the organization to ensure they are meeting the needs of the leadership, families and organization as a whole. I am grateful that we are a part of this organization. Both of my boys look forward to camp each year. They feel safe, secure and most of all normal. They understand that they're not alone in this grief journey. They are building life-long friends who will share the journey with them. Thanks to knights of heroes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

This is a great organization. The activities of the campers are all to support certain values. It's a great nonprofit and I will definitely volunteer again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 5, 2013

KOH has meant the world to my sons and I. This year was our third year, truly an amazing time. Though I know the program was originally intended with the children in mind; the help and support the moms and younger siblings program had provided has helped me cope with losing my husband better then any other "therapy" I could have received! My older son continues to flourish and advance with the help of selfless mentors. The praise, guidance and devotion they demonstrate is a testament to what KOH is all about. My younger son has found so much comfort in being with children just like himself. As a fourth year mother this year I am looking forward to help raising funds for this remarkable program as well as offering in any other way I possibly can.
Cheryl Pone'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more "jobs" for the moms and younger siblings program. There are four year moms like myself which really want to help with that portion of the program. It would be wonderful to help the first and second year moms navigate and understand what the moms program is all about;-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2013

more

August 4, 2013

I've been involved with Knights of Heroes since 2007. My contribution is guiding horseback rides for the ladies, daughters and sons. The ride has become my favorite event of the year. Just to see the smiles and happiness the ride provides is very emotional. I love my involvement with Knights of Heroes and hope to continue volunteering with this organization.
Saturday, 3 August, was the first time I attended the end-of-program gathering of participants from the entire program. I was blown away by the awesome mentors, leaders, and participants. My congratulations to all for an outstanding program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, no changes are recommended.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers