Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.990655
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

As a mentor, this has been a life changing experience for me. There is no better way to honor our heroes than to care for their children. These kids are amazing! I am so thankful for the opportunity to be a part of Knights of Heroes! I can't wait until next year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

This is my 7th year supporting this great organization. I have had the pleasure of watching young men enter our program and find a sene of fulfilment and purpose as they step through our basic and "high adventure" programs. I have watched them build life long frenships with others in their same situation as well as with the mentors that serve. There is not a single paid possiton in this organization, every minute of work is done on a volunteer basis, the volunteers actualy spend their own money and use their personal leave time to participate in this grand endevor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

This was the 6th year my children have been able to attend this fantastic camp! My son attends the boys' camp, and my daughter the girls'. They both look forward to the camp more than anything all year long. The benefits of the camp are two-fold for our family. First, it allows my children to go and experience activities they would not otherwise have an opportunity to do. Second, it is the only place where they are around other children who have experienced the same type of loss, and that is very comforting for them to know they aren't alone in their journey without a father. The mentors who guide and watch over our children do so with a tremendous amount of love and patience, and their influence upon our children stays throughout the year. We absolutely love this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

My children and I attended Knights of Heros for our first time a few weeks ago. The kids absolutely loved the experience and can't wait for next year! They tried things they wouldn't be able to experience otherwise and talked to other children and mentors they were able to easily relate to. I am greatly appreciative for what the camp and mentors offered to my children. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I have been attending Knights of Heroes camp since I was 7 (the first year of camp) and now I am 14. Knights of Heroes camp is my favorite camp I attend in the summer! I love attending this camp because I don't have to explain about my dad because everyone is in the same situation. The male mentors are great and I admire Steve Harrold so much, they sincerely care about my future. Being able to do activities like shooting, mountain biking, rock climbing, etc with guys is priceless!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise enough money so we could have our own land for camp!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

I attended the Knights of Heroes camp for the first time this summer. It was awesome. I am 12 and my sister is 10. We were nervous at first, but the leaders and mentors were so sweet and super nice. W... more

August 13, 2013

My daughters and I attended the Knights of Heroes camp this summer. This was our second year. We absolutely love this camp! The girls, boys and moms were challenged and soared to new heights. Both of my girls loved rock climbing, mountain biking, archery and the high ropes course. They were thrilled to shoot shot guns and throw hatchets!!! Two things we, clearly, are unable to do at home. My girls enjoyed the beauty of Colorado and truly have a better appreciation for God's creation.

We love this camp because they empower our kids. Each child has lost a military parent while serving in our Nation's Armed Forces. Even though these kids have suffered tremendous losses, the Knights of Heroes leaders and mentors refuse to let the kids play victim. Instead, they encourage them to "rise up" and overcome. It is comforting that the camp is based on Christian principles and I am delighted by the way each mentor encourages each camper to be their best everyday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the camp last forever!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

I attended the Knights of Heroes camp for the first time this summer. It was awesome. I am 12 and my sister is 10. We were nervous at first, but the leaders and mentors were so sweet and super nice. We felt a lot of love from them right away. My dad was in the Army and was killed in the war 5 years ago. It is hard to grow up without him, but we're doing OK. It was really nice to be at a cool camp with kids like me. We didn't have to explain where our dads were. We all already knew. So, we could just be kids. Colorado is beautiful! And this is an AWESOME foundation!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2012

As a Youth Mentor for Knights of Heroes (KoH), I've been incredibly impressed at the year-long support KoH provides for the kids. A grass roots organization, this one stands out from the crowd with i... more

August 13, 2013

I've been a mentor for Knights of Heroes for two years and have seen first hand the immense benefit that KoH provides to these kids. It is so much more than just a summer camp. The personal connection the boys make with each other and the mentors lasts all year long. I've watched these boys' confidence visibly increase during the week of high adventure activities each year. In my 12 years of military service, I've never seen a more effective organization that blesses families of the fallen. The personal touch KoH provides to the entire family (Moms, boys, girls and siblings too young for the camp activities) is absolutely unmatched and more beneficial than a simple review can even begin to describe. And the fact that this grass roots organization is 100% donations based is even more incredible based on the unprecedented blessings it provides. Wow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more funding so KoH can bring even more families to camp next summer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012

As a Youth Mentor for Knights of Heroes (KoH), I've been incredibly impressed at the year-long support KoH provides for the kids. A grass roots organization, this one stands out from the crowd with immense levels of personal support, care and love. Other organizations provide a solitary experience, or give much needed funds - but KoH is the total package deal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I participated as a volunteer/mentor at a week long camp. It was a great experience for both volunteers and those served. The premise is to use the backdrop of outdoor adventure to develop strong traits in youth who have lost a parent to military service. It is an effective approach put on by a great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

My children recently returned from a week at the Knights of Heroes camp. My gratitude is immense as they shared experiences that they had with the volunteer staff and other participants. They had experiences that I would never have been able to provide for them. Since their father's death several years ago I have felt sad that they would never be able to experience 'typical' father-child activities. The Knights of Heroes Foundation has created a program where our surviving children no longer have to miss out on these experiences but also receive mentoring and role modeling from much-needed male figures.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

KOH is an amazing opportunity for young boys and girls to reacquaint themselves with their self confidence since losing their parent in the war. Many people don't realize that when a parent dies sudd... more

August 11, 2013

My son participated in his 3rd year at Knights of Heroes and I am deeply indebted! He has learned how to manage himself in challenging situations that require independent thought. He has learned how to lead. He has learned that he is capable and he can push himself. He has learned a lot about himself thanks to the incredible mentors. He has discovered some of what he would have learned from his dad - had his dad been around to teach him. This organization understands how important it is to lead a boy into manhood with emphasis on character and values. My son has gained insight into his future and his potential and he will use this to guide him into adulthood. Grateful to this organization!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it small

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

KOH is an amazing opportunity for young boys and girls to reacquaint themselves with their self confidence since losing their parent in the war. Many people don't realize that when a parent dies suddenly, the child feels very unsure of what he understands about the world. The loss can be so devastating and have a deep and quiet affect on the self confidence and self esteem of a developing child. I have witnessed my son literally "BLOOM" when he returned from spending 1 week at KOH. The camp philosophy is oriented toward allowing the child to rediscover his or her potential in a safe environment where everyone has experienced loss. Through activities and challenges, the kids are encouraged to rely on themselves to problem solve, dig deep, and reveal that they can accomplish difficult tasks with team work and support. Just like a dad would do, this camp allows for physical experiences and mentoring while learning about the world. It is a place that honors what the dad did, exposes the children to the outdoors, and teaches so much that would have been lost. The KOH experience is life changing, thoughtful, fosters growth and confidence, and exactly what my son needed! Thankfully, he will now have this incredible experience to draw from as he becomes a man!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers