Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.987185
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes is truly devoted to the well-being of the boys and girls who attend and the mothers who send them. They have had a simple mission since the inception of the program and have not strayed from it. These are amazing kids and the mentors who devote their time are passionate about the well-being of the kids and their futures. The difference this program makes in the lives of the children of our nation's fallen is tremendous. I look forward to next year's camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no change at all

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

So thankful for an amazing first year!! Both of my kiddos are already looking forward to next year, which will be the first year for my son. I can not speak highly enough of all of the people involved!! They give so selflessly of their time for these kids, for our families. It is very humbling!! My daughter is a changed kid! Challenges and hurdles are no longer impossible. What a difference this week has made!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I have been envolved in the Knights of Heroes since it startred. My son Steve is the founder. He had devoted time and lots of love in the camp. We have seen boys and girls grow and develop a respect for family and themselves. They find understanding and respect for their fathers and the sacerfice their lives made. They are surrounded by others that have been through the same experience. The mentors are generous and caring adults that have given of their time and open hearts to young boys and girls that need support at a turning time in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is perfect

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

The knights of Heros camp has had an enormous impact on my two sons. My youngest son just graduated from the camp after attending for 5 years and my older son returned to mentor after graduation. Both boys have grown into responsible, committed and passionate young men. I attribute a lot of their maturity to the mentoring and support that they received at KOH. I would highly recommend this camp to anyone who has lost a spouse in the military and is looking for mentoring and guidance for their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

In 2006 one of my closest friends was killed by an IED in Iraq leaving 3 young boys to navigate this life without him. The following year they were some of the first surviving children to attend the ... more

August 8, 2013

Another amazing year in the backcountry! It's amazing how quickly the boys grow up. I am complete awe of how they adapt, overcome, and use that strength for incredible success. I am honored to be a part of the program, and honored to spend time with such great kids. Congratulations to our graduates! Can't wait to see ya'll next year as mentors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

In 2006 one of my closest friends was killed by an IED in Iraq leaving 3 young boys to navigate this life without him. The following year they were some of the first surviving children to attend the KOH camp. KOH is a truly unique grass roots foundation in that it has stayed true to it's mission, even if that meant turning away large donors that would have made KOH's growth much easier. A large portion of the fundraising is done by the Mentors and Families that are part of the KOH family. The values, and lessons that are learned by the children serve as guiding lights in this chaotic world. The expeiences these children are not only life changing for them, but for the mentors as well that take part in this journey.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the interactions with the children that attend. The impact this camp has is astounding as you watch the kids grow and return year after year. No other organization in this space has near the legitimate impact that KOH does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more kids - but this will come in time. I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There is no better volunteer experience. It is absolutely life changing for everyone involved. The strength of the kids is inspiring on a level that cannot be described. The hearts and motivations of the other mentors is a truly unique experience.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

There is no way to not be effected by the experience that KOH offers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That there are bigger things in life to be concerned with in spite of a troubled economy. It reminds you to live life, and that living life really means living life for others.

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

WOW where do I start with a review for KOH truly Amazing !!!! my children are 3ed year campers and each year is better and better my children look forward to camp all year it is right up there with Christmas and birthdays !! The time that KOH give to each child is wonderful the mentors they are just the best. my children have had the same mentors each year and it is wonderful to see the bonds that they are making with other kids and mentors this. there is no other organization like this KOH is truly amazing !!! love love love them already looking forward to next year :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Another amazing year! Each year, one week at Knights of Heroes exceeds my expectations formed from the previous year. What an organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2013

This is my first year volunteering with Knights of Heroes. So far, my perception of the charity is outstanding. The leadership is very transparent with the financials, which is important for me to k... more

August 8, 2013

This is an outstanging organization. This was my first year working with Knights of Heroes and I was impressed witht the entire operation, from the staff to the kids involved. The difference this organization makes in the kids involved is measurable and easy to identify even within a weeks timeframe. The potitive change to the kids involved over a several year time frame is even more impressive. I offer full endorsement of KOH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

This is my first year volunteering with Knights of Heroes. So far, my perception of the charity is outstanding. The leadership is very transparent with the financials, which is important for me to know and understand that money donated is spent wisely and not wasted in any way.
Most
importantly, I have seen already the impact this has on the kids and families that participate. Not only do the children benefit, but this is a great life lesson and experience for the volunteers as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 8, 2013

My son and I just finished our first year at KOH. We are still sharing our wonderful stories with each other.
As an "only" parent I work hard to provide for my sons needs. There are however certain things I cannot provide no matter how hard I try. Knights Of Heroes has stepped in and filled in
those much needed gaps by providing amazing male mentors (Thank you Collin), positive male role models, a week of outdoor adventure and a challenge to "Rise Up" beyond the circumstances. I believe the experience my son had this week of camp has been life changing and life challenging. Thank you KOH !
As a first year mom I also was challenged to step out of my "comfort" zone and try new adventures. I was amazed at how many of these physical activities represented this journey through grief. While white water rafting we worked as a team, facing rough waters head on, pushing through the fear and then around the corner we would find a beautiful calm river.... so much like life.
Thank you KOH leadership for pouring your hearts and time into the lives of our families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

1st year volunteer. Was impressed with the entire program. From volunteer staff with their impressive military and civilian backgrounds, which many of the campers relate too, to the activities which provide physical and mental challenges (such as rock climbing, mt. biking, skeet shooting, archery, hiking, water sports etc.) More important than the activities are the confidence and the camaraderie built among the campers throughout the week. Extremely rewarding as a volunteer and I can't wait till next year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers