Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
1234.990385
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I found this charity by accident. After reading the mission statement I was hooked. As a retired military member unfortunately this issue hits too close to home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to schedule more camp weeks and buy propert for KoH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I found Knights of Heroes on a suggestion of one of the Gold Star Families that attends the camp. Knights of Heroes (KoH) is one of the most incredible organizations I have found. KoH gives these children an opportunity to feel normal for a week, and be mentored by people that are equipped uniquely to deal with the grief and anger that comes up with traumatic loss. Most of the mentors are associated with the military in some way; many of us are either Active Duty or Prior Service, the vast remainder are spouses or have supported in some way the Military. The children that attend KoH are pushed outside of their comfort zones just enough to build their character and help them find self confidence. The difference we see in the kids over the course of just one week is really remarkable. I have seen a child go from a very timid wallflower who never smiled to a beaming and talkative child just over the course of a week. Even the child's mother was very (pleasantly) shocked to get her child back and see the difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything that would make this organization better except perhaps encouraging more donations so the camp can support more children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I help work with the moms' program! The program is set up for the new moms to come and enjoy a week in Colorado with other surviving spouses. The first and second years the moms are in the program they get to enjoy river rafting, climbing, horseback riding, and dinners out with other women in their same situation. If they have other children too young to go to the Knights of Heroes camp, then those little ones stay back with their moms and participate in the fun activities.

In their third year, we ask the moms to volunteer and give back to the new firs and second year moms. We assign each 3rd year mom to an activity to help organize and run. This lightens our load as long-term volunteers, as well as helps the 3rd year moms give back to the program.

I have been with Knights of Heroes for seven years and I love it...it's a wonderful organization that eases our loss and brings us closer to people in similar situations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it more than once per year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2012

My children have attended the Knights of Heroes camp for the past 6 years. After my husband was killed in action serving in Iraq, I was at a loss as to how to continue to raise our boys with integrit... more

August 5, 2014

Unlike other camps for children who have lost a parent, KOH goes beyond addressing grief. The program promotes long term resiliency, self efficacy, proactive thinking and leadership skills. I have three boys who have attended the camp following the loss of their Dad. The strong mentorship they receive has made a big difference in the young men they are becoming. Focusing on the future and the importance of character and integrity sets KOH apart from any other program!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2012

My children have attended the Knights of Heroes camp for the past 6 years. After my husband was killed in action serving in Iraq, I was at a loss as to how to continue to raise our boys with integrity and character without the help and guidance of their dad. Knights of Heroes has provided amazing mentors in an adventure based program to do just that! The program has helped our boys heal, grow and has also helped them recognize their responsibility to the world around them. This program has changed my children's lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

This year was my seventh year as a volunteer at the KOH camp. The experience is always personally rewarding and the knowledge that I am able to enable a boy or girl to participate in something new is ... more

August 5, 2014

The boys and girls attending the KOH camps are challenged by the activities. They receive the encouragement of their mentors and the other campers to far exceed what they perceive to be their limitations. I personally watched several boys and girls who had never even held a firearm, I run the shotgun range, reluctantly take the shotgun in their hands and hit the target. Each time, the experience of succeeding at something they had never before attempted before brought a huge smile to their face and the desire to do it again. One young man enjoyed the experience so much that he returned to the range seven times. The same results occur throughout the week on the rock climbing cliff faces, obstacle courses, fishing and numerous other activities they have to experience, often times for the very first time. They gain self respectand pride in themselves. They develop new and lasting friendships and the sense that they are not alone and that people, their peers, their mentors and others they encounter truely do care about them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leave it alone, it is working.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2013

This year was my seventh year as a volunteer at the KOH camp. The experience is always personally rewarding and the knowledge that I am able to enable a boy or girl to participate in something new is gratifying. It is exhilarating to see the expressions of joy on ther faces when they accomplish something they were either afraid to try or didn't think they could do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...do nothing, it is great as is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

In September of 2008 my boys and I lost a very important member of our family, their dad and my husband. Every day, Every Month and Every Year comes with new and unique challenges. We are part of an ever growing population of people who have lost a parent/spouse due to our war on terror.

There are a number of opportunities and organizations that are there for my boys (13 and 14) with regards to their specific loss. Knights of Heroes is one of those organizations and they are the most impactful. They are there not just for the week that they attend their camp. They are mentors and friends for life. My boys have attended the Knights of Heroes camp for the past 5 years and they gain such respect by spending time with the male mentors. The respect that they would have shown to their dad on a daily basis if he was still here. The camp is composed of outdoor activities that they would only experience if their dad was able to be here or by them going to this camp. Roughing it in the outdoors for a week is not something most moms are willing or able to do. I am very greatful to Knights of Heroes for inviting my sons to attend their camp and for all of the emotional backing that they offer my boys, from both the mentors and their peers that are going through the same things. We love you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Knights of Heroes is always evaluating and making changes from year to year. They are always welcome comments and criticism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

This was my first year. I could never have understood the true impacts of warfare on military families without having been part of this incredible program. Some of my one-on-one conversations during the week were more intense than I could have ever imagined - it is clearly evident these boys are dealing with traumatic and unexpected experiences that may take many years to get over. Our charge was not to replace their fathers but rather to challenge these kids, listen, and to exemplify strength of character. My family is dedicated to helping these children in their journeys to adulthood and becoming productive members of society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

As a mentor, this has been a life changing experience for me. There is no better way to honor our heroes than to care for their children. These kids are amazing! I am so thankful for the opportunity to be a part of Knights of Heroes! I can't wait until next year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

This is my 7th year supporting this great organization. I have had the pleasure of watching young men enter our program and find a sene of fulfilment and purpose as they step through our basic and "high adventure" programs. I have watched them build life long frenships with others in their same situation as well as with the mentors that serve. There is not a single paid possiton in this organization, every minute of work is done on a volunteer basis, the volunteers actualy spend their own money and use their personal leave time to participate in this grand endevor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

This was the 6th year my children have been able to attend this fantastic camp! My son attends the boys' camp, and my daughter the girls'. They both look forward to the camp more than anything all year long. The benefits of the camp are two-fold for our family. First, it allows my children to go and experience activities they would not otherwise have an opportunity to do. Second, it is the only place where they are around other children who have experienced the same type of loss, and that is very comforting for them to know they aren't alone in their journey without a father. The mentors who guide and watch over our children do so with a tremendous amount of love and patience, and their influence upon our children stays throughout the year. We absolutely love this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers