Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.990655
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I am a mentor for Knights of Heroes. When I came home from Iraq it didn't matter that I had a West Point diploma, Ranger Tab, and combat experience... I felt completely alone, isolated and cut off fr... more

August 8, 2014

Knights of Heroes is a life-changing experience for everyone involved. As a mentor going on seven years, nothing has brought me greater satisfaction than hiking in the wilderness with a group of Knights. Their personal journeys of self discovery (and self efficacy) advance higher each year. Prodigious leaders are unmasked at this camp, it is quite something to behold.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2012

I am a mentor for Knights of Heroes. When I came home from Iraq it didn't matter that I had a West Point diploma, Ranger Tab, and combat experience... I felt completely alone, isolated and cut off from everyone including my own family. Then I found Knights of Heroes. The kids I met in the program taught me this new expression of courage which is the courage to live on. You see, I had lost my will to live. But I learned that if these guys could do it, then I could too. I am so fortunate and blessed to be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband passed away while on Active Duty 3 years ago. This is the second year my son, now 17, has attended Knights Of Heroes camp. This event is one of the highlights of my sons year!
Although KOH can never replace my son's father, they certainly have stepped in a filled a huge hole in his
life. At KOH camp my son gets to be a "Normal" young man. He experiences outdoor adventures, physical challenges, and incredible man to man bonding I cannot give him as his mother. The bonds that have formed with his mentors have been lifelong and life changing. My son has been able to work through many stages of grief through physical activity and real life scenarios.He has been given life skills that will go with him into adulthood. The KOH volunteers are the true heroes in my eyes. How many people give up a week or more of vacation and family time to work tirelessly to pour into the lives of others children.
I have also attended the Moms part of the program which is outstanding and allows the surviving spouses to bond and grow together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the age so my son could continue in this amazing program next year and beyond.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

WOW where do I start with a review for KOH truly Amazing !!!! my children are 3ed year campers and each year is better and better my children look forward to camp all year it is right up there with C... more

August 7, 2014

KOH is wonderful, my children and lost there father and my husband in Feb of 2006 and in that time there has not been a male role model in our lives, so when the opportunity for my 2 youngest children came up to attend the KOH camp it was wonderful we all were able to attend and i say we because the moms program is just as wonderful as the camp for the kids,it offers much needed positive actives and mentoring for all of the kids my children have been able to learn and do things that that may never have been iterdused to them through the camp (rock climbing,shooting,rafting,mountain biking,real out door overnight camping )and the fact that all of the kids have suffered the same kind of loss. there is a wonderful kind of bonding that goes on through this camp my children and my self have made LIFE long friends and connections as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2013

WOW where do I start with a review for KOH truly Amazing !!!! my children are 3ed year campers and each year is better and better my children look forward to camp all year it is right up there with Christmas and birthdays !! The time that KOH give to each child is wonderful the mentors they are just the best. my children have had the same mentors each year and it is wonderful to see the bonds that they are making with other kids and mentors this. there is no other organization like this KOH is truly amazing !!! love love love them already looking forward to next year :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My twins just completed their last year at camp due to graduating from high school. This camp and this group of people who run this charity are truly Christian, wonderful people. This organization has helped my children with the grieving process and also have been mentors to them. My children have benefited from this organization more than I ever thought possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of no way to improve this program. They are doing everything right.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

Knights of Heroes is a grassroots organization that puts everything it has into the kids. Everyone who is a part of it is a volunteer who truly believes in the mission. The foundation is dedicated to being a part of these kids lives for the long run.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

The Knights of Heroes Foundation is the best! They help me through the grieving process. The mentors do things with me that I can't do with my Dad because he is in Heaven.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes if a fabulous program! It is founded by a strong value system that permeates throughout the whole week of camp and that is one of the main reasons the camp is so worthwhile for the ... more

August 6, 2014

Knights of Heroes is great! The camp is such a great opportunity for the kids to connect with their friends with whom they share a common bond, or make new friends. They experience great adventure activities and learn character-building and leadership skills in a supportive and fun environment. The kids are amazing! It's so rewarding to see them grow up before our very eyes, to become positive and motivated individuals ready to tackle the world. As a mentor, it has been my pleasure to serve and be with the kids for 3 seasons. With consistent support and a commitment to their wellbeing, the mentors can really earn the kids' trust... which happens over time. Once that point is reached, it's so worthwhile to be the one they turn to when they need an answer or some advice. Looking forward to serving Knights of Heroes for years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more programs or opportunities to meet besides 1 week out of the summer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

Knights of Heroes if a fabulous program! It is founded by a strong value system that permeates throughout the whole week of camp and that is one of the main reasons the camp is so worthwhile for the campers and also for the mentors. The kids are terrific and really have a great opportunity to reconnect with old friends and make new friends. Everyone has a common bond that becomes very solid throughout the week. The camp's mission and the focus on positive behaviors and challenging activities and a faith-filled lifestyle and of course, the resiliency in the kids, are really why it was such a pleasure for me to serve for a second summer. I will return to KOH for as long as I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Knights of Heroes Foundation is one of the best organization out there. My experience with them was life changing for my son and I. The donors, staff, mentors, event planners and mom were the best. We enjoyed several activities that were planned for us and my son and we came back refresh, renewed and a positive attitude. I enjoyed each and every activity that was planned and I truly enjoyed spending time with the other moms wheather we were relaxing, hanging out or just having a one on one conversation. I could have spent another week. Knights of Heroes is what my son and I really needed and I can see and feel the love and support from every single person in the organization. I came away feeling like I gain another family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend it to twice a year so it can grow more but still have that close family atmosphere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My son attended this camp this year. He had an incredible time bonding with his mentor and other boys who have gone through the loss of their fathers too. For him, getting a chance to just have fun and be a boy is amazing. As a single mom, I can't provide that much needed male bonding that his father would have given him, so having this amazing organization who is willing to step up and provide that for him for an entire week is priceless for us. Thank you Knights of Heroes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Knights of Heroes is great! I am a teen who has been attending the camp for six years. It leaves a big impact on kids lives. The mentors are great stand-up guys who really care about the kids!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers