Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.990655
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

This is exactly the type of program I was looking for after my husband was killed. I felt powerless in trying to get my kids the knowledge of the outdoors and foster their confidence in doing physical challenges that I was not familiar with---knowing that if Dad were alive, he would be teaching them all of these things. My daughter has emerged from this camp, even stronger and more confident. She can try new things and push her body to go beyond her comfort level. Next year my son will be old enough to participate in the boy's program and I'm so excited for him. Knights of Heroes is giving my kids what I cannot. Our family is grateful for these wonderful people.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to be a mentor/volunteer at Knights of Heroes in 2014. The training, the staff, the activities and the facilities/environment were top shelf. I saw young men help each other find courage and friendship in the context of an excellent camp high in the Rocky Mountains that will help them overcome and achieve throughout their lives. The resilience and humility of these kids is remarkable, and I am certain that their fathers who have fallen in service to their country are very, very proud.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

This was my son's first year and he loved everything about the camp. He returned more confident and self assured. He felt like he had bonded with his mentors and the other kids in the program. He felt challenged to do his best and appreciated for his efforts. He and his mentor made a list of goals that he worked on at camp and that he was able to apply to our home life. This was a great experience for him and my son says he can't wait to go again next year.
August 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2013

So thankful for an amazing first year!! Both of my kiddos are already looking forward to next year, which will be the first year for my son. I can not speak highly enough of all of the people involved... more

August 16, 2014

This was my daughter's second year at camp and my son's first year. I can not speak highly enough about this camp for children of the fallen. The week that they provide for the campers is amazing. The kids come back with huge smiles on their faces, nonstop stories of all of their adventures and best of all excitement about returning next year! While the kids have fun, what sets this camp apart is the values and confidence the kids learn through overcoming and also giving back.
I would easily describe my daughter as very shy, quiet and withdrawn. I would even wager to say she had low self esteem and confidence before she went to camp last year. After 1 week she was a different child. She was chatty and smiley! I couldn't wait to see what this year held for her and now her brother. Again it was amazing!! This kid now has the light back in her eyes! It makes me tear up just thinking about it. The quiet confidence she is gaining from this camp translate into this child now ready to take on more difficult classes in school instead of being fearful and anxious. Asking her teachers, all on her own, to take a class she is interested in. There is no way that would have happened before. As for her brother, he has always been such an outgoing soul but afraid to try, afraid to fail. Now, he is ready to take on new activities that will require his effort. He has learned from camp not to give up but keep trying. I'm so thankful to this organization. Thankful that these amazing mentors give selflessly of their time for our children. So thankful for Knights of Heroes!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

So thankful for an amazing first year!! Both of my kiddos are already looking forward to next year, which will be the first year for my son. I can not speak highly enough of all of the people involved!! They give so selflessly of their time for these kids, for our families. It is very humbling!! My daughter is a changed kid! Challenges and hurdles are no longer impossible. What a difference this week has made!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Knights of Heros was such a wonderful experience for myself and my children. This was our first year coming to this camp, and look forward to returning in the upcoming years. My children lost their father 4 years ago, and the opportunity for them to bond with other children and learn lifelong skills by the mentors is priceless. My daughter came home with not only a smile on her face but more confident and a sense of accomplishment. I can't say enough about the dedication and kindness the mentors showed to the kids and our entire family. We really feel as if they welcomed us into a new family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it was wonderful

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

I lost my father several years before my first camp experience, so I knew first-hand how crucial the influence a positive, adult role model is in the development of young girls and boys. I was eagerl... more

August 11, 2014

As a third year mentor, I am so excited each year to see the growth of our campers from the year before. Campers who once had trepidations about rock climbing now take pride in their rock climbing prowess. Campers who were once withdrawn and quiet have found their leadership potential and care for younger campers. Having seen results for three years now, I am encouraged about the kind of young men and women our campers will be, confident that they will stand out among their peers despite their life situation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2012

I lost my father several years before my first camp experience, so I knew first-hand how crucial the influence a positive, adult role model is in the development of young girls and boys. I was eagerly looking for an opportunity to use my experience in a positive way, and found it as a mentor at Knights of Heroes. The program allows kids to bond with each other over their shared experience while helping them discover their unknown strengths. KOH has the opportunity to bring kids hope, while helping them develop into strong, positive and productive adults, who contribute to healthy communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A more healthy attitude towards the loss of my own father

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help even MORE kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met so many amazing female mentors and inspiring young girls who encouraged me to live more positively.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That at least there was one positive outcome of losing my dad.

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I am a military widow with two boys ages 15 and 11. Knights of Heroes is dedicated to serve children that have experienced the loss of a military parent. The program offers the boys opportunities to connect with mentors that are of a military background to teach them that regardless of the circumstance they can conquer anything that they put their minds to do. Knights of Heroes gives my boys a chance to engage in activities that thier dad would have done with them had he been here to do so. The mentors and other voluteers in this organization are a critical component and make a huge difference in the lives of the children they touch.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Knights of Heroes is a great camp for kids of the fallen! It helps them know that they are not alone. It builds strong friendships that last forever. It helps you overcome fears and face obstacles. The mentors are amazing! They are truly there for the kids!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I was pleased to be part of Knights of Heroes. I did not think that I would have much to contribute as a mentor for these boys. Boys, like men in general, are not overeager when it comes to sharing their problems and their emotional troubles. I wondered how I would help them. I am not a father, nor did I lose my dad at such a young age. It ended up being a great experience for all of us. KOH focuses on wilderness skills and confidence-building activities. We showed them some difficult outdoor activities that they had never seen or done before, and the community of other boys was very powerful for them. The camp emphasizes responsibility, initiative, and hard work to them every day, without beating them over the head with it. Boldness, for example, is better taught through mountain biking than in it could ever be taught in a classroom. The camp exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to go back next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that needs to be changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

This is without a doubt the greatest cause for volunteering your time, to the kids of the fallen serving our country. There is no greater cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers