Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.323535
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Not quite sure about Kiva any longer. Their idea was initially good and I'm sure they are still working tirelessly to benefit those living in impoverished areas. Yet due to their system (ie. middle-men) they loose over 1/3 of lenders money in credit interest and fees. They have been repeatedly criticized by GiveWell and even by Mohamad Yanus himself. They social impact is to be checked as they seems to focus much energy on the financial side. They ethics (see the animal-fighting loans and the LAPO stories) are also questionable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need to solve the issue with their middle-men as this is causing irresonable interest rates to be paid back by the borrowers. They also need to focus on their own ethics (see the animal-fighting loans) and find ways to audit and check their social impact...not just financial.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Microfinance has a great potential while macro-funding and many charities keep being far too wastefuls systems to help those living in deprecated areas.

What would you tell others about this organization?

There are many choices around now. The very high credit interest that Kiva's middle-man charge borrowers are far too high. GiveWell have enlisted Kiva on "Charities that We Do Not Reccomend".

August 11, 2012

I have been donating with Kiva for over two years now. Kiva makes the whole process very transparent. The best part is that when the loans are paid back, I simply reinvest the payments to another person's needs! A full account of your loan, donations, credits, is clearly posted on your account.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

Kiva gives the donor choices - you can donate at random or choose a specific person/group of people to receive your donation in the form of a loan that is (hopefully) paid back and credited to your account. Most everyone can afford to donate since the minimum is only $25, and that money can be recycled to another borrower once the loan has been repaid. I can't think of a better system, and I would highly recommend Kiva!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

I found out about Kiva off of Youtube and i haven't looked back. My goal is to have enough loans going that i can give out a loan every other week with the money comming back. With the free $25 i am not worried if someone cant pay me back 100%.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

I just joined KIVA last night and made my first two donations. I'm absolutely thrilled. Not only was the whole process of micro-loans thoroughly explained and easy to understand, it was so encouraging to see the progress they've made through the statistics and data. The website is extremely easy to navigate and very straightforward. Payment was simple. And they provide you with a profile page to keep you updated on the progress of the loans you've contributed to. It's an excellent organization, and I will gladly contribute for many more years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

What an outstanding organization that supports the poor around the world in their attempts to get a start economically. The money virtually all comes back and you get to loan it out again, and you get to see who is borrowing your money. It's just superb.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

A simple way to give, and keep on giving, while easily being able to track where your money is going and how much good is being done.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012

more

February 1, 2012

We've been doing loans through Kiva for years and they're wonderful!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012

more

January 9, 2012

I have been a Kiva donor since 2007. I have made over 300 x $25 loans to many countries including the US because Kiva has made it easy to do. When the money is paid back, I can re-loan it again. I add money to my account each year and that allows me to increase my lending capacity - what a great concept!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2011

I love loaning through Kiva. The website is easy to use and I can monitor the people to whom I have loaned quite easily. Loan repayments are made promptly so that I can reloan the money. I enjoy donating money to worthwhile charities; Kiva is currently my favorite by far. The groups of likeminded people that you can join if you wish allow you to connect with other lenders from around the world. This organization and its easy to use website are absolutely outstanding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers