Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.323535
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 5, 2014

more

July 5, 2014

Kiva is still a great organization, with lots of opportunities to make, and dreams to fulfill !
I still have a question:
I have referred a friend and 25$ were added to my account, in which I've lent it to the most needed.
My question is: when the loan is returned, will I be able to
withdraw it to my account?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

loan a 1 million dollars to help others that mostly need it, in case I've become a millionare.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I'm looking at the form 990 from these clowns.

Year/ revenue / / salaries and benifits payed
2011 / 12mil / 5.5mil
2012 / 15mil /
7.25

so about half of the hard earned money you donate is going directly into their pockets.
Mr Flannery and about 20 of his croneys are making average more then 100k a year plus extra benefits. What doesn't go directly into their pockets goes to crooked international bankers
I know in your heart of hearts you want to help the people they seem to portray. Unfortunatly it looks like the main lives they want to change are there own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Jail them

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 27, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

After supporting two Kiva loans in South Sudan, I began thinking about the interest rate. Of course, the loans had been pre-disbursed, so I was supporting the Kiva field partner and not the borrowers. I didn't mind that. What I did mind was the staggering interest rate (61.5%).

Okay, so
microloans are expensive to administer, but in 2011 the average worldwide was just 26.9%. [1] Take away the cost of capital (7.8%), which Kiva provides free, and you get 19.1%. This is what you might expect of a for-profit Kiva field partner, and the 61.5% now seemed extortionary. Also take away the profit (2.6%) and you get 16.5%, what you might expect of a non-profit Kiva field partner.

So, why does Kiva fail to crack the whip on the interest rates of loans that use the capital it provides for free? It surely has some leverage there. I have contacted Kiva, and was told they have no plans to address what to them I have contacted Kiva, and was told they have no plans to address what to them appears not to be an issue. This is unfortunate because high interest rates are one of the main reasons microloans haven't made much progress in alleviating poverty. I suspect that, like too many charities, Kiva is more interested in growing than in furthering its stated mission.

I am staying with Kiva for now, but will make the interest rate a top criterion in selecting the loans I support. There are plenty of reasonable field partners to choose from, in a variety of countries. Here are some: Cooperativa San José (Ecuador) 15.7%, FATEN (Palestine) 18.3%, WAGES (Togo) 18.5%, CIDRE (Bolivia) 18.8%, FPW (Vietnam) 23.1%, Soro Yiriwaso (Mali) 23.1%.

If you want to dig deeper, see [2,3].

[1] www.microfinancegateway.org/p/site/m/template.rc/1.26.23685/
[2] strom.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/kiva/
[3] blog.microfinancetransparency.com/what's-wrong-with-kivas-portfolio-yield-statistic/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use the leverage of the capital Kiva provides for free to get field partners to lower interest rates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been participating in Kiva loans as a lender for 4 years. The borrowers do pay interest to the local bank that manages the loan. As a Kiva lender my money, joined with the money of others, guarantees the loan, getting the banks to lend to the people. If not for Kiva, many of these borrowers would be dependent on loan sharks to fund their cyclical businesses or restock their inventory. And loan sharks not only charge a much higher interest rate, some even require the borrower sell their product to the shark at a barely profitable cost. Sure in a perfect world everyone could get loans with no interest and the bank would work for free to manage the loans but that's not going to happen. I like that Kiva helps people learn to budget their finances and grow their businesses. I don't have a lot to donate to charities. With Kiva, I usually get most or all of the money back (not counting my donation to the Kiva office) and I can then help someone else with the same money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

No business can survive with a 30% interest rate. This cannot be helpful, but instead is most likely a last resort that people make in dire circumstances.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As some have mentioned, most of the loans do have quite high interest rates. I wrote to Kiva about this and they explained that the cost of living increase in these countries can be very high (even 20-30%) and also these small finance companies also have to look after loans that don't get repaid. Often the only loans available to these people where they are have much, much higher loan rates and so in the big picture, Kiva's rates are not entirely unjustified. All in all, Kiva is providing access to loans which these people cannot get through the regular banks and most are finding it makes a great improvement in their lives. Also, there are some loans on the site which do not get disbursed to the "loanee" until the loan is fully funded. KIVA has a new site called KIVA ZIP where the loans must be fully funded BEFORE being disbursed to the "loanee". The Zidisha site, I think, is also a good option - where funds must be fully funded before being disbursed to the person needing the loan and the interest rates are much lower (between 0 and 12 approx.) but an additional 5% is paid in interest on top of the listed interest rate. The interest is paid to the person making the loan (i.e. me, you, anyone who goes on and makes a loan). It's an interesting one and, of course, one can make a little interest oneself while helping someone else in a far away land change their life. I don't think, however, we should be beating up on Kiva too much as they are, all in all, doing a good thing and are innovating all the time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was initially very enthusiastic about Kiva and about supporting them as a lender. The web site in particular is very well organised; it gives you a real sense of being able, with others, to directly help those in many developing and third-world countries. Similarly, the wide range of people seeking loans from Kiva means you can support people from across the World, in different continents, who are seeking to borrow for a host of different purposes. But I became increasing concerned about the high interest rates Kiva are charging - up to 30% - and the amount leaching out into administrative charges. The final straw came when I realised they also post applications for loans from people living in the USA. Now, I am sure there are very many poor people in the US, and that small business owners there may well have difficult in financing their enterprises. But I don't think this is where Kiva should be devoting its energy or resources.

So I have scaled back my involvement with Kiva and now mainly offer finance instead via Zidisha. They have a much smaller client base (focussed in Kenya) and the web site is much less sophisticated. But their admin charges are low and uniquely, I think, they allow the borrower to set the interest rate at what they can afford (sometimes even at 0%). I will still offer some loans through Kiva, but through gritted teeth and only where they appear to be the only micro-finance organisation operating in a country I am interested in.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Fantastic idea. But, they do need to reduce the interest rates for the people who are getting the loans. I will still keep lending, BUT KIVA must work with the third party lenders to reduce interest rates should be their CEO and board biggest goal for the future. Interest rates are, at an all time low, around the world, it's time for hard working poor people to able to receive some of the benefits of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I first found Kiva I was amazed by what they were doing. I even donated all the Christmas money I had saved for my family to the to Kiva and had my family help me choose lenders. However, after doing a bit more research, I realized that some of the problems for the borrowers (high interest rates - they state the average for all their loans is 30%! ) are not alleviated through this platform. They have started a new platform to try and alleviate this problem (Kiva Zip) , but I really do not know how much the original site is HELPING those borrowing.... when they are paying 1/3 of their principal in interest! Other microfinancing non profits (I ran into zidisha.org yesterday for the first time) do a much better job at bringing down those rates, making the loans much more beneficial for the borrowers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Kiva works with lenders to provide micro loans to people who would never have access otherwise. They connect donors and borrowers to help make a farm more productive in a poor area of the world, or help someone buy stock for a used clothing store. I truly believe they provide a stepping stone to independence in places where there are no other ways to change your life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers