Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.25
Write A Review
November 19, 2014

more

November 19, 2014

Adopted a baby through Kinship Center four years ago. The Social Workers involved told me the child was fine, despite the child's small head circumference and birth mother's history of drug abuse. Turns out, the child has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and needs all kinds of help. She will probably be dependent on me her whole life. She's in kindergarten and already suspended from school due to behavioral issues. I'm told her behavior will worsen as she ages. Called Kinship months ago for services and was told there was a waitlist of TWENTY children. Called PACT for support several times and never received a return phone call.

Kinship and DSES, train your social workers to recognize the signs of a drug/alcohol exposed child so the child is matched with an appropriate family. Adoptive parents should know exactly what they are getting themselves in to, and they should not have to be smarter than their social workers and even the pediatrician. Have sufficient staff so that when a parent needs help, they are not placed on a wait list. I am getting professional help elsewhere for my daughter, but am completely overwhelmed. Not happy!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

Kinship center is a terrible organization. My wife and I attempted to adopt through their agency. The social worker assigned to our case had a personalilty clash with my wife, so we went to her superviser. The following week when the social worker visited our home we were told that "she did not appreciate us going to her boss" I was also set up by the socail worker through e-mail conversations and the word were twisted about what I said. Two weeks later the boy was removed out of our home with a visit from Kinship Center and Monterey county social workers and we received a letter that stated we were found not fit to be adopted parents. This organization nearly destroyed our marriage and caused deep depression in my wife who has had fertility problems.
December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

Kinship Center helped with the Adoption of our two children many years ago. Although our children (Ariel now 8 and Brandon now 13) are a bit older, we have never forgotten how everything that Kinship did for our family.
A lifetime full of thanks and love.
Armando and Brett

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

My husband and I adopted our 2 boys in 2007 after fostering them for 18 mos. The Kinship Center was a fabulous organization to work with and the adoption process was completed in a timely manner and gentle manner with any stress kept to a minimum. It has been such a successful match with our boys that we are now ( all) hoping to adopt a little girl to complete our family ! I am very much looking forward to working with the Kinship Center again to help us complete this dream. !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

I see some of you are saing that this center is so good but if you only know how some of the worker like to lie about some of the partants you would porbly not say it. I know of a mother who had two children taken away from her and the worker told her she was doing a good job with her visits,and then when they went to court the worker told the judge that she was not fit to have her children. Then when the judge said it would be an open adpotin and that the mother could still talk to the children and the adpoted parents but she needed to wait a coulpe days so things could get in order the mother agree. Then she called the worker she wouldnt late know anything even if the children where all right or not. Still to this day the mother trys to find out something and still is told the can not tell her anything. Now do you thank is right. I know I do not thank so.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

They have done a wonderful job facilitating our fost-adopt children

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Our family has worked with Kinship Center since we adopted our daughter in 2002. We simply could not have done it without the eye opening pre-adoption training as well as the support we were provided. Kinship Center's professionals as well as the programs were the backbone of our ability to make a difference in our daughter's life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Bridge Builders training enabled my husband and I to bring therapeutic healing to our daughter. It helped us to see situations from the unique perspective of the child. Thank you Allison!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone all of them!

June 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

After exploring several other adoption agency alternatives, I went with Kinship Center in 2009 because it seemed like the most helpful, down-to-earth, knowledgeable and ethical of any I had reviewed. The open adoption philosophy takes into consideration all parties involved, ensuring a higher rate of satisfaction from adoptive parents and birth families. We worked with Kinship's Linda Brown as our social worker, and she has been consistently kind and helpful, while never sugar-coating anything. As I write this review, our one-week-old daughter Grace is cooing in the background. We will always be grateful to the fine folks at Kinship.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enable them to reach more birthparents so that there is a good family for every child born.

May 16, 2011

more

May 16, 2011

We signed up with Kinship center to help us with our desire to adopt a child. As a same-sex couple we were worried that we might find bias or be uncomfortable. We weren't and we were happy to see other same-sex couples in our groups.

We chose Kinship because we liked the thought that we
could look for children throughout the whole state of California and not just in our county.

Kinship helped (and continues to help) us navigate the overwhelming amount of information and paperwork that is the Foster System. We took many hours of classes offered through Kinship and I firmly believe that ALL parents should be required to take them. The information was invaluable and allowed us to grow and prepare for parenthood.

Last Friday we signed placement papers on a 12 year old boy. We thought we were looking for a much younger child, thank God for Kinship or we may not have found the son we were meant to have. He is amazing and we love him already.

I would recommend that anyone interested in adopting a child contact your nearest Kinship Center!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having a wonderful, loving, amazing son placed with us through Kinship

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more offices so more families can utilize Kinship Center to help them find children who need a forever family.

April 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 7, 2011

Absolutely the most ethical place in the state of California to pursue adoption. Husband and I worked with attorneys, physicians, social workers, etc. before finally finding Kinship Center.

Staff, professionals and their business model are extremely accountable, professional, kind. They
are not here to swindle, push, manipulate, or take advantage of adoptive families, birth parents or foster families. Staff is not afraid to answer the tough, uncomfortable questions. Also highly recommend their fost/adopt classes vs. the county which is really hard to navigate.

They take great care of the birth families, mothers, dads, etc. and are available long-term for anyone in the adoption process who needs care or guidance. Birth moms are not pressured to commit to adoption. As adoption is not the choice for everyone, Kinship can help birth mother's figure that out. Not at all the methodology or pressure of a 'facilitator', private attorney or religious group.

It's a miracle we finally found them. Can not say enough good things about their professionalism, expertise and support after we've lived through the other options in So. Cal.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Orange County office, Redlands office.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

closer to my home.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers