Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 13, 2014

I am a certified animal behavior consultant. King Street Cats has invited me to present information to their volunteers multiple times. I appreciate the dedication of the volunteers, and their eagerne... more

September 5, 2014

Putting on my Cat Behavior Consultant hat, I want to salute King Street Cats for being a learning organization -- one that continues to review its processes and procedures, making changes to improve the lives of all the cats and kittens it touches. These folks are truly passionate about cats, and go to great lengths to save as many as they can.

Changing to my adopter hat, I want to thank KSC for allowing us to adopt the amazing, cool-as-a cucumber cat named Betsey. Bets came into a home with four dogs and three other cats and never batted an eyelash. She's a diplomat, a comfort providing cat, a friend to all our doggies, and a true comedienne. We'll never be able to thank KSC enough for helping us adopt a beloved member of our family.
May 13, 2014

I am a certified animal behavior consultant. King Street Cats has invited me to present information to their volunteers multiple times. I appreciate the dedication of the volunteers, and their eagerness to learn more about the science of feline behavior. The volunteers work hard to provide enrichment for the cats in their care, in addition to giving loving care to all of them. I am very impressed with KSC and their desire to continue to improve their processes.
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I lost my 15 year old cat and was devastated. I had so much love in my heart -- and there was also an emptiness. My sister (and many others) suggested I adopt a rescue kitten. I went several places, but when I looked at the cats on this site my heart felt a tug. I met with them this week and they suggested I adopt two little siblings (5 months old). They had had a horrible start to life and KSC had come to the rescue. They were being "fostered" by a wonderful person who obviously cared for them so much. The minute I laid eyes on this little brother and sister, I was smitten. That very evening, they came into my home and began playing. They slept beside me that first night. It has been less than a week, but these adorable kittens have already secured my love for the rest of their lives. That foster mother did a wonderful job with these two -- they know love and security. I am so very grateful that I will do anything and everything I can to help this amazing group, KSC, with donations and my support. What a great job they do for these cats - young and old. If you are looking for a feline to be part of your family, you should definitely come to KSC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

We come to King Street Cats all the way from Australia each year because it is such a wonderful non-profit where the cats benefit from the incredible work of the people involved. We brought college students with us the last two years on a field trip and they were amazed by how happy the cats are to know they have a life haven like King Street.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with dozens of organizations over the years and I can say, without a doubt, and all my heart, none compare to the MAGIC of King Street Cats! I was immediately welcomed with open arms and introduced to our adorable kitties -- each one with their own little story -- their own little personality -- their own little needs. King Street Cats rescues, fosters, provides medical care, hospitalizion, cleaning, feeding, nurturing, head pats, scratches, stories, manicures and pedicures ;)....and LOVE...LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS OF LOVE -- all through volunteers and donations! I am so excited and honored to be a part of an organization that resembles all that is GOOD and TRUE and WONDERFUL in the world! It's been a joy to be there -- and to be depended upon to help keep our kitties loved and safe until they find their forever homes. King Street Cats is ABSOLUTELY DESERVING of your recognition -- they are a WONDERFUL organization! Thank you for the opportunity to comment!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Oh my goodness -- there is NOTHING I would change! It's evident that all involved love King Street Cats -- because it is just is MAGIC AND LOVE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

We discovered KSC last summer and were immediately impressed by their staff and their ability to care for so many cats. They are a wonderful organization full of caring, dedicated, and professional volunteers. During the last Combined Federal Campaign, I added them to my CFC list for donations. When we were ready to adopt a cat this winter, KSC was the obvious choice to find a cat to fit our home. We found a lovely lady that was 8 years old that we wanted to take home. KSC let us make multiple visits with the cats to make sure our pick was indeed a good fit for our home. They took time to vet us to ensure cats were going to good homes. We've had our sweet girl home for almost 4 months now thanks to KSC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

King Street Cats is a lifesaving organization for cats who are abandoned, found on the street, hit by cars, etc. My husband and I fostered four kittens for them last year, and it was an amazing experience. KSC made it incredibly easy - supplying us with food, litter, and paying for the vet when we had to take them. They then took pains to find homes for those awesome kittens - in pairs. That was awesome because they were all so close.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to be a volunteer for King Street Cats. Now that I have retired, It is my privilege to spend time doing something that is truly important both to cats that enrich so many people's lives and to myself. My hours spent caring for the shelter's cats, raising funds to support the veterinary and supply expenses of the cats and fostering kittens and cats are perhaps more meaningful than decades of my employment life all of which were in charitable organizations. King Street Cats is a no kill shelter that is entirely volunteer staffed. It does not, because it cannot, save every cat in the world or in Alexandria. It does, however, save as many cats, as it can, regardless of cost. Those cats in turn can and do benefit in so many ways the people and families who are fortunate in adopting them. King Street Cats is an organization that is worthy of your support.
Lissa Elliott

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this moment, I can't think of any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

We have known and donated to King Street Cats since they were actually located on King Street and Chester was their front-door "spokescat". We have not yet adopted from King Street because we have 3 older cats but sadly the day will come and then we will certainly go there first. King Street Cats does a wonderful job every year saving cat lives and bringing joy to so many new families, they are an essential safety net in our community!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

I've yet to have the pleasure of adopting from King Street Cats, but in my eyes they are every stray or abandoned cat's heroes. In 2011 a sweet, handsome kitty was abandoned in my neighborhood. I would've kept him, but he was not other animal friendly at the time & I have 3 animals already. I called so many rescues to only be told no then asked for money. I felt awful, because there seemed like little help out there to save the kitty. Until I was turned on to King Street Cats. They never asked for money & took the kitty in. I was so happy & grateful that I've donated when I can to them. They were amazing. I know this is one story of one little kitty, but I will never forget what they did (and said kitty has been adopted) & how they stepped in when no one else would. Great organization!
May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

King Street Cats is a lovely facility that really cares about what's best for their cats. We were so impressed that so many of the cats had free roam: it really seems like such a lovely environment for the cats. The cats we adopted were really healthy: we took them to the vet and there were no problems.
I also really appreciated that King Street Cats tries to keep bonded cats together. Having had a single cat in the past, and now having two bonded brothers, I can tell that it's really best for these little guys to have feline companionship!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a caregiver, an adoption counselor, assist with fundraisers, or assist with admin. Volunteer