Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.967745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my oldest was diagnosed with food allergies to milk, eggs and peanuts at the age of 15 months, I was sent home from the allergist's office with a prescription for epi pens and a warning to avoid all of those foods in his diet. The concept of it is simple, but in reality, there are so many little details that can only be discovered by living them day to day. KFA has been an invaluable resource for me over the years. My oldest is now almost 6 and has outgrown his egg and milk allergy and now has to avoid peanuts and tree nuts. I have two more children, one who has outgrown her only food allergy and one who has multiple severe allergies. KFA is a place I can go when I need a shoulder to cry on, ears to listen, an honest opinion, some been there done that experiences, recipes, and more. The resources and links are full of information to help anyone at any stage of their food allergy journey and the forums are priceless.
April 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2014

When my daughter was diagnosed at the age of one with life-threatening allergies to dairy, eggs, nuts, and wheat, I was completely unprepared for how to keep her safe, let alone included in daily activities. I left our doctors office with an epi-pen prescription and nothing else.

I
found Kidswithfoodallergies.org a few months later while searching the internet for help. It was a life-changing discovery. The online support forums helped me realize that I was not alone on this journey. I posted an introduction to myself only to be warmly welcomed by several volunteers. I asked so many questions and received helpful answers from parents around the country.

When my daughter had her first anaphylactic reaction I turned to the community for support, and learned that my roller coaster emotions following that event were totally normal. I felt so supported.

The organization also introduced me to a local in-person support group that I have been attending for the last couple of years. That has lead to new friendships and community for my family.

The fact that these services are provided for free is a gift. I am thankful for them, and proud to support them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

Solid resources, helpful forums. I've now helped my now 4 yr old adjust to several allergies (dairy, eggs, nuts and peanuts) diagnosed at 1). I had difficulty explaining to daycare, KWFA had great tips, sample forms and education material I used to get her teachers and aids up to speed, including being able to store her epipen near her (instead of locked away with normal meds).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KWFA so very helpful when I had a child with food allergies different than his sister. Then more ideas for me when he wasn't allowed to eat at all. They have been the best at supporting me through my son's struggle with eating and being on formula still at 7. I would be lost without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KFA was a sanity saver for me and for several years was the only place I could feel secure and discuss allergy-related issues without being criticized for trying to keep my child safe. It was and still is a place where i go to make sure certain foods/brands are safe and where i can find answers to many other questions and meet people who deal with similar challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. It is perfect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Kids with Food Allergies (KFA) Foundation and the website they operate has been very instrumental in helping my wife and I find information concerning foods and other products that are safe for our son. When he was diagnosed with tree nut allergies, we knew nothing about the symptoms, the dangers of common items, or the medications we would need to keep him safe. In addition to the information we receive from our son's allergy doctor, KFA has helped us so much with managing his allergy and giving us the insight and knowledge we need as his parents. We have learned new ways to shop for groceries, how to ask the right questions at restaurants concerning allergies and cross-contamination, and even how to leave him in the care of others. It has been a huge adjustment for our family but KFA has helped in more ways than we could have done on our own. The people who take the time and effort to run the foundation as well as the website have been so helpful they can never truly be repaid. They are a tremendous asset.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing! Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

KFA has been a great source of information and support for my whole family. I do not know how we could have been able to get by in the early days of my son's diagnosis without this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KWFA has been an amazing source of information and support since our son was diagnosed with life-threatening food allergies. Like many families with a new diagnosis, we were unsure of what we needed to do to keep our son safe, even after meeting with multiple medical professionals and specialists. The community and resources available at KWFA have helped to validate and normalize the difficult feelings and experiences associated with our son's medical needs. Thanks to KWFA we have established new routines that will keep our whole family safe and healthy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

After realizing my family diet needed to change due to food intolerances, I stumbled along on my own for a while. When I finally joined Kids With Food Allergies website, I couldn't believe all the opportunities I'd been missing! I can't imagine my life without KFA for the last 5 years. Even though I now consider myself an "expert" on allergies, I'm still learning new tips and ideas from cooking to dealing with school parties and more. The other members are very encouraging and helpful - and more knowledgeable than many doctors in the real-life issues that food allergies create. If you or anyone in your life suffers from food allergies or intolerances, you should definitely visit this site.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

When my son was diagnosed I was at a loss not knowing what exactly I was supposed to do to keep him healthy. I was searching the web and found KFA and immediately knew what a valuable resource I stumbled into. The fact that they offered so many free resources was a huge help and then I decided to join as a family member so that I could get access to the entire site and also support an organization that provides so much real life real time help. The recipe database, the product recommendations and just connecting with other parents who help each other through the support forums really has helped me through those dark days at the beginning of this new lifestyle we were thrown into. I have learned so much through this organization and am so thankful to have found them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers