Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I started out with KFA when it was a Yahoo group in 2005, a few months after my son was diagnosed with multiple food allergies. I did not become an official volunteer until 2013, so I feel like I can write from both the perspective of a volunteer and long term client.
More than any other
organization, KFA helped me figure out what to feed my son early on, especially how to bake, and also time-saving methods. When someone in your family is allergic to 12 different things you spend an awful lot of time in the kitchen, shopping, scouting for new food and different supplies, pre-planning for parties, and don't even get me started on vacations. It's like being on a never-ending expedition, but you have your own virtual search and rescue team to guide you in the form of other parents who have gone through this before - with schools, camps, and difficult relatives!
I learned that my reactions to thorny situations are normal, but manageable. That is the key thing - this is a livable illness. It just requires more prep and thought.
Now I'm a vet, about to enter the adolescent years with him, which brings a whole new set of challenges. As this population of kids grows older, so will their needs, and I suspect our discussions on KFA will change as well (it is mostly parents of younger kids who sign on looking for help, but what am I going to do when he starts dating? Aieeeeee!)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I appreciate the merger with AAFA and I look forward to more professional advice in the areas of advocacy. While we focus on the positive aspects of living with food allergies, we should unite our voices in the areas of public policy that affect our families the most. I think we probably have an untapped resource in our membership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

KFA has been a great source of information and support for my whole family. I do not know how we could have been able to get by in the early days of my son's diagnosis without this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization educated and supported me through one of the most difficult times in my family's life -- my infant son having severe life-threatening food allergies. When you are part of KFA, you are part of an amazing family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KWFA has been an amazing source of information and support since our son was diagnosed with life-threatening food allergies. Like many families with a new diagnosis, we were unsure of what we needed to do to keep our son safe, even after meeting with multiple medical professionals and specialists. The community and resources available at KWFA have helped to validate and normalize the difficult feelings and experiences associated with our son's medical needs. Thanks to KWFA we have established new routines that will keep our whole family safe and healthy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a mother if a 13 month old with five foods he is allergic to. When I found out about this I felt very alone and uneducated until I found this site. The contributors are quick to respond to questions and very supportive. I am so grateful for this group. I really don't know where I would have gone for support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

My son had an anaphylactic reaction to peanut butter when he was 14 months old. My husband and I were both shocked and scared, as we didn't know anyone with food allergies. We didn't know where to turn. While searching online for information on peanut allergies, I found the KFA forums and never looked back. They have helped my family tremendously, with their knowledge and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

KFA is such an amazing resource for the food allergic community! I have life threatening food allergies, as does my son, and I found the support at KFA invaluable, not only to help me with practical tips for living day to day with food allergies, but also to help me maintain my sanity. I truly believe that KFA can be life-changing for those with food allergies and I would bet that it has literally been life-saving for many. I now volunteer for KFA and hope that I can help others in the way that I've been helped.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

After realizing my family diet needed to change due to food intolerances, I stumbled along on my own for a while. When I finally joined Kids With Food Allergies website, I couldn't believe all the opportunities I'd been missing! I can't imagine my life without KFA for the last 5 years. Even though I now consider myself an "expert" on allergies, I'm still learning new tips and ideas from cooking to dealing with school parties and more. The other members are very encouraging and helpful - and more knowledgeable than many doctors in the real-life issues that food allergies create. If you or anyone in your life suffers from food allergies or intolerances, you should definitely visit this site.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

When my son was diagnosed I was at a loss not knowing what exactly I was supposed to do to keep him healthy. I was searching the web and found KFA and immediately knew what a valuable resource I stumbled into. The fact that they offered so many free resources was a huge help and then I decided to join as a family member so that I could get access to the entire site and also support an organization that provides so much real life real time help. The recipe database, the product recommendations and just connecting with other parents who help each other through the support forums really has helped me through those dark days at the beginning of this new lifestyle we were thrown into. I have learned so much through this organization and am so thankful to have found them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

When my daughter was 7, her doctor told me we needed to eliminate wheat, egg, and dairy from her diet, in addition to already known allergies to nuts and soy. I just cried; I had no idea what to even make for dinner. At that point, I was not internet-savvy; I got about a dozen different "allergy" cookbooks, none of which were really right, and cobbled together a way to cook for her. I really wanted to be able to help other parents dealing with the same issues, and went online looking for information on how to start a support group ... and found that one already existed. I was part of KFA when it was an endless email loop, and have continued to be involved as it has grown into an international support group. KFA helps parents cope with the daily challenges of caring for children with food allergies and other related medical issues, with parent-to-parent, how-to-really-live-with-this, support that just isn't available anywhere else. The resources are huge - a recipe database developed by parents, information on new allergy-friendly products being released, and just the knowledge that other parents are walking in your same shoes. It can be awfully lonely when no one you know has a child like yours. KFA changed my life, and I know that I have changed the lives of others because sharing my daughter's story helped a number of other families gain insight on what questions to ask, what rocks to pick up, as they searched for answers for their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers