Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2014

When my daughter was diagnosed at the age of one with life-threatening allergies to dairy, eggs, nuts, and wheat, I was completely unprepared for how to keep her safe, let alone included in daily activities. I left our doctors office with an epi-pen prescription and nothing else.

I
found Kidswithfoodallergies.org a few months later while searching the internet for help. It was a life-changing discovery. The online support forums helped me realize that I was not alone on this journey. I posted an introduction to myself only to be warmly welcomed by several volunteers. I asked so many questions and received helpful answers from parents around the country.

When my daughter had her first anaphylactic reaction I turned to the community for support, and learned that my roller coaster emotions following that event were totally normal. I felt so supported.

The organization also introduced me to a local in-person support group that I have been attending for the last couple of years. That has lead to new friendships and community for my family.

The fact that these services are provided for free is a gift. I am thankful for them, and proud to support them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

Solid resources, helpful forums. I've now helped my now 4 yr old adjust to several allergies (dairy, eggs, nuts and peanuts) diagnosed at 1). I had difficulty explaining to daycare, KWFA had great tips, sample forms and education material I used to get her teachers and aids up to speed, including being able to store her epipen near her (instead of locked away with normal meds).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The doctor gives you a diagnosis, but they generally can't give you advice on how to live with it. The support and resources at KFA that make it possible to be a successful parent of a kid with food allergies. Sharing the burden with other families makes it easier to deal with the day to day realities. I'm so grateful for KFA in my life. One of the many reasons I try to pay it forward by volunteering my time with KFA to help other families deal with food allergies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding so they could reach even more families

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KWFA so very helpful when I had a child with food allergies different than his sister. Then more ideas for me when he wasn't allowed to eat at all. They have been the best at supporting me through my son's struggle with eating and being on formula still at 7. I would be lost without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was diagnosed with severe food allergies while still an infant. He is anaphylactic to all forms of dairy and peanuts. It was so hard being told "Just avoid all dairy and peanuts when you feed him." The doctor handed us a list of common "dairy" ingredients and off we went. It really turns your world upside down to realize that the entire way you have eaten up until that point is no longer safe for your child. Have the Kids With Food Allergy network to turn to for advice and just talking about what we were going through was a tremendous help! And then being able to go back to the doctor and say, "Listen, you need to tell people about this organization!" was huge! I've been a supporting member of KWFA for several years now...and I'll continue to be even if one day our son outgrows his food allergies. The work they do is important for both the parents and the kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

KFA was our "lifesaver" when we first entered the world of food allergies and were completely lost trying to figure out the day to day aspects of *living* with food allergies. Our allergist has been great at medical advice, but KFA filled our huge need to be able to do basic things like go grocery shopping and figure out how to safely feed a child with food allergies. KFA is our "go to" resource for great evidence-based information and practical "how to" information as we've navigated holidays, birthday parties, family events, and sending our children with food allergies to school. The KFA support forums are warm and welcoming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

KFA has been there for me from the beginning. I can not thank KFA enough for being there for me when I was first diagnosed through today. From the daily support and encouragement to the recipes and food substitution help, KFA is always there and present. They care and support. I am forever grateful for their constant support and will continue to use and be a part of KFA on a daily basis. They are a lifeline for me. It's a true connection.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KFA was a sanity saver for me and for several years was the only place I could feel secure and discuss allergy-related issues without being criticized for trying to keep my child safe. It was and still is a place where i go to make sure certain foods/brands are safe and where i can find answers to many other questions and meet people who deal with similar challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. It is perfect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Kids with Food Allergies (KFA) Foundation and the website they operate has been very instrumental in helping my wife and I find information concerning foods and other products that are safe for our son. When he was diagnosed with tree nut allergies, we knew nothing about the symptoms, the dangers of common items, or the medications we would need to keep him safe. In addition to the information we receive from our son's allergy doctor, KFA has helped us so much with managing his allergy and giving us the insight and knowledge we need as his parents. We have learned new ways to shop for groceries, how to ask the right questions at restaurants concerning allergies and cross-contamination, and even how to leave him in the care of others. It has been a huge adjustment for our family but KFA has helped in more ways than we could have done on our own. The people who take the time and effort to run the foundation as well as the website have been so helpful they can never truly be repaid. They are a tremendous asset.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing! Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

KFA has been a blessing to me and my family. On the dawn of my daughter's EoE diagnosis in 2010, this community was there to offer me support and encouragement. Since her diagnosis nearly 3 years ago, we've faced not only many challenges, but many victories as well. If it wasn't for the support, encouragement, resources, and the 'been-there-done-that' experiences, I am unsure if my daughter would be thriving and doing as well as she is today. It is truly and honor and privilege to be a part of this wonderful community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers