Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
123.2666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

They keep calling and calling and calling. They even told me I donated $25 last May which is false. They were insistent I had donated previously and wanted me to make the same pledge. I asked to be put on the do not call list. We'll see if they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not use telemarketers

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2011

more

October 10, 2011

I am a Child Life Specialist that is employed at a children's hospital in Wisconsin. We have been enrolled in the Hero of the Month program for a very long time now.
It is amazing to see the looks on the patients AND family members faces when you tell them they have been selected to
be the "Hero" for that month. Parents are so appreciative of the thought of a just a nomination.
There are many wonderful programs that acknowledge patient's that have life-threatening illnesses. Not many are for family's and patients who don't experience a life-threatening illness, but rather a traumatic event or unexpected stay in the hospital that can be just as stressful.
This program is PRICELESS and we hope to be able to continue to nominiate our "Hero's" every month and continue to put those smiles on their faces!
Thank you VERY much!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2011

more

October 7, 2011

Kids Wish Network is an amazing organization. Our facility feels incredibly lucky to have a rapport with them and the ability to nominate and have recognition for these hospital hero's. Currently, I work on a general 31 bed medical/surgical/cardiac unit with kids of all ages and varying diagnoses. When I nominate kids for this special award, they truly light up. Kids Wish Network helps these kids hospital stay and all the tests/procedures they endured become validated.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 6, 2011

more

October 6, 2011

The Kids Wish Network's Hero of the Month program has been a tremendous success at our facility. We are a not-for-profit pediatric outpatient rehabilitation facility that serves children of all ages with special needs. However, most of the children we serve are not eligible for large "wishes" granted for children with life-threatening diagnoses. The Kids Wish Hero of the Month allows us to formally recognize and honor the children who work hard each and every day, striving to overcome non-life-threatening disabilities. This program has been a trememdous benefit to our clinic and the patients we have been lucky enough to be able to recognize as our heroes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...watching the faces of the children that have been recognized as Heroes of the Month. Many children with non-life-threatening disabilities work hard each and every day, striving to overcome nearly impossible odds in their everyday lives. It is wonderful to be able to reward their hard work!. The awards include a gift card for the child, a gold medal (REAL metal, NOT plastic!), a colorful certificate and a cool t-shirt. Parents and children have all been extremely appreciative of the recognition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing that I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Their recognition that not all children with special needs have a life-threatening diagnosis. However, they all work hard to overcome sometimes spectacular odds working against their success and achievements in life. Kids Wish Network has established a program to recognize and honor these children, even though they would not be eligible for a large wish.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 1, 2011

more

July 1, 2011

While working at the homeless shelter, I am given the opportunity to meet children who continue to inspire me each & every day. I recognize young leaders and amazing individuals, despite their difficult living circumstances. Because of the Kids Wish Network, I am able to acknowledge and nominate a deserving child. When I present a child with a Hero of the Month certificate, along with the package sent from the KWN organization, the biggest smile appears on the child's face. It is great to see a child be proud and stand tall as they are awarded. Not only are they ecstatic about being recognized, they also appreciate the love and support that is given to them.
We truly appreciate the tremendous support the Kids Wish Network has provided for our families. You are our Hero!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We award children with the HERO of the month.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

June 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

CAUTION! Read the archived reviews.

This charity has a terrible record of enriching itself and related fundraisers at the expense of donors and kids whose dreams could be made true with sincere leadership and effective management.

Convincing a handful of beneficiaries and
volunteers to write letters of support does not make a organization worthwhile. If you care about kids, give to one of the many organizations that will use the vast majority of your money for the kid's benefit instead of to line their own pockets.

In addition to outlandish payments to fundraisers, the Breiners are pocketing over $230K per year off-the-top.

See older reviews for dozens of complaints.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The attrocious financial statements and misleading solicitations

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down and direct funds to sincere and efficient organizations

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers