Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
123.2666745
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Kids Wish Network was named as THE worst charity in America by The Center for Investigative Reporting and was featured on CNN as such: "Every year, Kids Wish Network raises millions of dollars in donations in the name of dying children and their families. Every year, it spends less than 3 cents on the dollar helping kids. No charity in the nation has siphoned more money away from the needy over a longer period of time." (http://www.cnn.com/2013/06/13/us/worst-charities) They play off the name of well-established honest charities to confuse donors. They are in the midst of several lawsuits and investigations and should not be trusted with their money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization needs to be shut down once and for all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

They keep calling and calling and calling. They even told me I donated $25 last May which is false. They were insistent I had donated previously and wanted me to make the same pledge. I asked to be put on the do not call list. We'll see if they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not use telemarketers

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

This charity has been professionally rated THE WORST CHARITY IN AMERICA

This is based on a yearlong investigation by the Tampa Bay Times and The Center for Investigative Reporting

http://www.tampabay.com/topics/specials/worst-charities1.page

Impact? Life-changing, but
NOT in a good way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

All you have to do is do a search on "charity navigator" and view the IRS tax statements for any of these organizations. Kids Wish Network is run by a Anna Lanzatella in Florida. The tax statement for 2012 seems to show that their expenditures are excessive. Anna's salary was $119,000 aprox. in 2012
Secretary Barbara Askin's compensation was appox $89,000 in 2012.
The charity navigator site also lists the ratings of many organizations.
Each individual has to investigate, have an accountant look at the figures and then decide for themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Yes, they are a scam, and they also call us night and day after 5 years since we donated to them. They are currently under investigation by the government. Also: THESE REVIEWS ARE MOSTLY FAKE, SEVERAL REVIEWS COME RIGHT AFTER THE OTHER IN THE SAME TIME INTERVALS.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

December 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

My husband contributed to this charity last April and after figuring out that many ask for multiple donations each year, we keep a record. After he informed them that we donate once a year, they pressed for a "current fund drive" donation. When he started to refuse again, she rudely hung up on him. Tonight they called again, and when i told them he was not interested in talking to them, and that I was requesting that we be removed from their phone list, she rudely said that they just wanted to thank him and hung up. Such manners do not reserve support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was called several years ago and asked for a donation. I mistakenly thought I was talking to the "Make a Wish Foundation" and gave $15. When I got my receipt in the mail I realized my mistake. Now they call me at least twice a year, I have asked them to put me on their "do not call list" with no results. They continue to call and tell me that I have been donating for years which is false, I only donated once. I have threatened them with legal action, and they contiune to call. I finally found out how to block their number thru my phone service--what a nuisance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 2, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

These people are a nightmare to deal with. We made the mistake of making a small donation about two years ago, before we had looked into the organization or checked its ratings. Now, we are called incessantly, day and night, even though we have asked with each call to be put on the "do not call list." When we make this request of the call center operator, we get hung up on instantaneously. We've gotten letters from these people -- probably a dozen times -- each one saying that we have made a pledge, when we haven't. I have finally called the organization directly hoping to end the assault; I will keep calling them until they stop calling and sending me mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

isn't it interesting that all the people who have written "positive" reviews never provide their full name, address, organization name or address, or any other way of someone actually being able to contact them to verify that in fact donations were made? i think the Breiners probably either wrote these themselves or paid other people (as part of their "expenses") to write them. What a complete sham! i can't believe KWN continues to be able to exist.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Kids Wish only gets 12% of the donated revenue! This is a scam! Simple as that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers