Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
145 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

This organization helped find funding for a fun and exciting math project in my classroom. For one week my students used food everyday to explore various math concepts. While they thoroughly enjoyed the lessons, I feel I walked away with so much more. This grant gave me the opportunity to teach without worrying about how to fund the project. This project made me enjoy and get excited about teaching again! It showed me there are people who care about our youth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell more educators about it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

I work in a low-income school and most students do not have books to read at home. This organization awarded me $500 to purchase books for my students to take home and read with their families. I am very thankful. The application process was simple and easy to understand. Their expectations were clear and their mission is admirable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

KINF has put valuable resources in the hands of urban learners. As a public charter school professional, we are grateful for the generosity of KINF and the Elmers group because of the funding they provide to enhance the learning experiences. These grants help educators create hands on minds on learning by providing much needed state of the art materials and lesson plans. Our students are excited about coming to school each day--and that's half the battle won! Having resources, books, technology and a plethora of lesson plans to choose from, teachers feel supported as well as successful and this in turn leads to the success of the students. Thank you KINF and ELMERS for making our jobs more enjoyable!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have KINF and Elmers visit the classrooms they support so that we could put a face to the name on the computer! We (our students and myself) often like to write and send thank you notes--it would be beneficial for the children to know who to thank!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2013

I work in a high proverty school where resources are very limited. Kids in Need Foundation allows teachers to have the resources that are needed to help students succeed in school. Thank you so much Kids in Need for your support!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

I currently work with students in a high poverty school. It is very difficult to get some of the "extras" that other more affluent schools have because we don't have a PTA or the kinds of parents that can make financial donations to the school. I teach students in grades K-6 in a Science Lab setting. Many of the great experiments that I want to do with my students require consumables which are not covered by our budget. I often buy the materials myself so that the students can do the experiments. The Kids in Need Foundation has proven to be a great resource over the past 2 years. Last year, I applied for and received a grant where 5th grade students learned a specific science topic and taught that concept to younger students. This experience helped all the students. The 5th graders really learned the concepts that they were required to master and took pride in their efforts. The younger students gained from their experiences with 5th graders because they saw their "big buddies" as role models and academic leaders. This year, I received a grant that will allow us to expand our garden program and include more grade levels and students in this hands on learning environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing. I especially like that the grant are made directly to the teacher and not the school. This allows the teacher to buy materials without having to go through the bureaucracy of purchasing through the school.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

I teach in a high poverty district near Chicago. The Kids in Need Foundation has consistently helped our school get connected with other corporations to receive school supplies. These supplies have made a big difference to students and their families who would not have otherwise been able to purchase these items. We are also a fine arts magnet school with limited funds to acquire art and set materials. Kids in Need matched us up for a year with three stores who are generously donating art supplies. We could not be happier with our partnership with Kids in Need. Thank you!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I could suggest. Just keep up the great work that you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

I received a grant from Elmer's kids in need to help work on multicultural awareness and importance in our diverse charter school! This is going to be an awesome asset to our school and is more than greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/a

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

The Kids in Need Foundation provide much needed resources for students with disabilities. I am so thankful to them for providing focused lessons to supplement my curriculum. My school is a K-12 school serving approximately 520 students with mental and physical disabilities. The program is located on Staten Island at several sites. Within this program, we have numerous inclusion and work study sites located throughout Staten Island. Presently, we have 517 students: 12 students are English Language Learners, seven Asian/Pacific Islander, 115 Hispanic, three American Indian/Alaskan Native, 193 Black, 196 White, and one multiracial student are enrolled in our school.

Students are 98% free lunch certified, and travel to attend our special education school. Students are severely, emotionally disturbed and have been diagnosed with a full range of disabling conditions for example Autism, ADD, OCD, and General Anxiety. Students have cognitive disabilities, learning disabilities, and behavioral disorders that require special education supports to succeed including Special Education Teacher Support Services, speech and more.

My goal as the science teacher is to create learning opportunities that are fun and engaging while giving my students the opportunity to participate in citizen science. Thank you to Kids in Need for your assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 17, 2011

I was so excited to be a recipient for a grant. I was able to really shop around and get a lot of books and materials and even technology for my classroom. The students LOVED their projects (of writ... more

March 19, 2012

What a fantastic experience this has been. Having written my first grant and being graciously awarded a Kids in Need Grant, I have since become adicted to applying for them. This particular grant has been very helpful for my students. Through reading Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer, and working on their subsequent people watching project (due to the generous funds donated to us), they were able to see the world through different, less judgemental eyes. They learned that performing random acts of kindness really does make the world a better place. Many of my students still volunteer at local soup kitchens among other non-profit organizations and perform good deeds to this day, months after the unit has finished. Their compassion for others is permanently changed for the better. . . all thanks to you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was so excited to be a recipient for a grant. I was able to really shop around and get a lot of books and materials and even technology for my classroom. The students LOVED their projects (of writing children's stories) and the second graders who received the stories were even happier! Thank you so much for chosing my project to support. I am ever so thankful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I recieved art supplies, paper, a camera, and children's books to help my sophomores read, analyze and write children's literature, interview second graders, and publically present their finished stories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. Everyone was very supportive, helpful, and empowering.

March 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 18, 2011

I teach at a very diverse school with an extensive demographic of students from near poverty to blue collar and some white collar neighborhoods. With the limited resources available in these stressful... more

March 19, 2012

This program has generously supplied my teaching labs with much needed equipment and supplies. Moreover, this program has shown a great level of professionalism in each and every encounter. I cannot praise this endeavor enough.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2011

I teach at a very diverse school with an extensive demographic of students from near poverty to blue collar and some white collar neighborhoods. With the limited resources available in these stressful economic times, with school funding being the target of state cut-backs, the kids in need foundation grants have allowed me to bring in equipment and laboratory techniques that just would not have been possible any other way. This foundation has been nothing but professional and helpful in all aspects of their support. I thank them each and every time I use my electronic balances and other technical equipment to demonstrate Biological processes in my classrooms.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A recipient of grant funding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the maximum grant monies to allow for purchasing equipment that can bring the most recent technology to the classroom.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers