Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
145 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
June 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 10, 2013

I am an art teacher in an K-8 elementary Title 1 school. I recently won a grant for a ceramics project called "Whimsical Dinnerware." The grant money arrived as scheduled and our supplies were purchased at the local ceramics store. My art students loved working with clay. They never would have had this opportunity without the Kids in Need Foundation grant. I highly recommend them for helping Title 1 schools get grants they need to allow their students to experience success in new materials that they normally would not encounter. We are fortunate to be the recipient of a new ceramics grant for the 2013-14 school year and are very excited.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 10, 2013

Thank you to the Kids in Need Foundation, who has granted my students at San Andreas High School the opportunity to use resources they might have never had access to without their help. I look forward to implementing the resources into my curriculum that they have made available to me.
Thanks
again for your time and consideration, Ms. Andi DuMoulin

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 10, 2013

The Kids in Need Foundation truly is a wonderful organization with an important and vital mission. The idea of giving back to teachers, students, and the community as a whole is awesome and certainly much needed. It is important to ensure that educators who are passionate about meeting the needs of children that they impact daily are given that chance to do so. The Kids in Need Foundation gives both teachers and students a chance to experience success and to have access to the supplies and resources that are needed to ensure success. As an educator, I refuse to be a part of the problem, so when I saw that the Kids in Need Foundation could assist me with becoming a part of the solution, I took advantage of this wonderful opportunity. I was able to create an innovative learning project for my students that will help them for years to come. I teach students with behavior and emotional disabilities and physically aggressive behaviors.

The program encouraged students to behave well, make good decisions, build healthy relationships, exhibit more positive social behaviors, avoid negative or aggressive behaviors, develop a sense of connectedness and belonging, all while closing the achievement gap. The parental involvement component was designed to help parents develop skills to reduce problem behaviors, to improve parent/child relationships, generalize appropriate behaviors to the natural home and community environment outside of the school setting. Various forms of creative expression and hands on activities were interwoven into the curriculum to promote positive social interaction and to encourage self expression as a therapeutic means of dealing with problem behavior.

The use of experiential workshops, speakers, role plays, games, creative play, and bibliotherapy, and access to a mental health therapist assisted with learning coping skills and the ability to control anger and reduce aggressive tendencies. Students showed an increase level of control of their emotions and were able to focus more on academics and being a successful student.

The Parent Night Event would be sponsored by the students who would present what thy have learned to the parents. This way the children would be giving back to their parents and parents in the community and helping their parents and other parents deal with the stressors of parenting a difficult child or a child with a disability.

Thank you again and I will apply again next year as my students truly learned a lot and gained some important skills that caused them to be transformed and transformed others in the process, including myself and their parents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2013

I was able to receive a grant from the Kids in Need Foundation & Elmer's. This fall I will be able to begin a exciting and educational activity with the students in my class. I teach for an inner city public school where 100% of our students receive free lunch. There is very little money available for truly creative projects. This fall my students will begin to make a scrapbook of their writing. This grant was easy to apply for and they had a wide variety of activities that you could choose from. Each month we will add 2-3 stories, reports, poems, etc to their scrapbook. This scrapbook will then be something that they will be able to keep for the rest of their lives. I am so excited and grateful for the opportunity that KINF and Elmer's has provided for me and my students. Thanks so much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

I have been a recipient of the Kids In Need Foundation. I teach in a school where 99% of the kids receive free lunch. The grant gave our Kindergarten kids (125 kids) explore fruits and vegetables they have not seen and tasted. The project promoted healthy eating to the Kindergartners in our school. It was a very awesome experience to them. They had so much fun! Thank you so much!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2013

There are so many things in life that we as adults can not control, especially for our students. As an educator I refuse to let that be an excuse for learning in my classroom and thanks to great programs like the "Kids In Need Foundation" they have allied with me to make sure my students have supplies and materials to help them achieve success. My students come to school to learn and succeed, not to worry about if they have pencils, crayons, and books.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

I filled out the form for a grant and dreamed that I might receive it. When I was notified that I actually DID, I was on cloud nine! I am so excited to be able to do an activity with my students that would normally not be possible because of there not being funding for it. My students will be very excited to complete the autobiography board activity that we DO now have the funding for! THANK YOU!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to get the information out to more people. For teachers, possibly contact unions so that they can give the information out to the masses of teachers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

I am a teacher in an alternative high school. This grant allows me to purchase materials for a new, innovative unit that I could not otherwise afford to give my students access to.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

I am a kindergarten teacher at an "at risk" school. Our students live in a community where outside activity is often limited because of community risks-busy roads, inappropriate adult behaviors, lack of supervision.
This grant will help provide students with movement and problem solving
strategies.
The grant was easy to complete and it will benefit over 100 children.

I will apply again next year. The process was easy. Thanks for your support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

The application for the grant was very simple and straight forward. Customer service was quick to respond to questions asked. I found out I received the grant in a timely manner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers