Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 10, 2013

more

January 10, 2013

I have worked in the area of child safeguarding for many years. As a volunteer I have been involved with many projects supporting children's rights in several countries in East Africa and I count myself very fortunate to have had the privilege of visiting Kids Home International upon two occasions. The first time I visited was in December 2011 when the home was being run from a small rented house. In December 2012 I was able to return to Kericho to visit Kids Home International once again, now residing in a new building just outside of town which is able to accommodate many more children in need of their support.
What I can say about the success of this project is hardly related to the physical changes which have taken place but more to do with the amazing staff who have run the home now for over 10 years. The dedication and commitment they show on a daily basis to caring for dozens of vulnerable children (on top of their own family commitments) is extremely commendable. It only takes a few minutes for any visitor to feel the great sense of warmth and belonging that exists within the walls of KHI. The compassion and understanding that the staff show towards the children is overwhelmingly inspiring.
I was lucky enough to be able to volunteer my time and some resources towards the needs of the home over Christmas.
KHI is also a model of transparency and every shilling donated is not only well accounted for but goes directly towards the priority needs of the children, again a huge credit to the staff who follow a strict code of 'watoto kwanza' (children first) in everything they do.
Kids Home International is a fantastic place to work or volunteer, or even to visit. So many other children's projects could learn a great deal from them about how we should take care of the needs of orphans and vulnerable children.
There is a great deal of work still to be undertaken at KHI and it has the capacity now to serve so many more needy children in the town of Kericho. I would recommend to anyone reading this who has a desire to reach out and help in a project that is deserving of their support to contact KHI and make a donation. If you find yourself in the vicinity of Kericho, Kenya, go and do more than that. Go and make a real difference. Or at least go and meet the staff and learn how real differences are made.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 10, 2013

more

January 10, 2013

I first visited Kids Home International in July 2011 while volunteering for a community organisation in Kericho, western Kenya. During my 3 month stay in Kericho, I spent a few days each week helping out at the home and entertaining the kids. It's hard to put into words how much the kids and staff in KHI touched my heart. The kids have been through so much in their young lives and yet they have found their smiles and are full of fun. The staff are incredibly dedicated and so supportive of the kids; the fact that the home has such a happy and loving environment is down to the staffs' positive attitutes and devotion to each and every child.

Many children in Western Kenya become orphans due to HIV/AIDS, whilst others suffer neglect and/or abuse at the hands of their carers. KHI offers these children a home and family in which to grow, to be loved, become educated and feel supported. I can't praise the staff at KHI enough for the help they give the kids in their care. They work tirelessly day and night, acting as mothers and aunties to 30+ children, helping them deal with and move on from their early childhood traumas.

In December 2012 the KHI family moved into a new home which had been purpose built and donated to them. I was lucky enough to be able to spend Christmas 2012 with the kids in their new home and reconnect with the staff. The home is big enough to support 100 children - to enable them to care for that many kids, they need essentials such as beds, tables, chairs, clothes, food, etc., in addition to school equipment to create their in-built nursery school. I would not hesitate to support KHI and their work and Christmas allowed me to do just that and raise funds with family and friends to help purchase a few things they needed.

Volunteering with KHI and being able to support them a little has brought me a lot of happiness but more importantly has helped put smiles on small faces and that's worth more than anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I am a high school teacher by proffesion and I was Introduced to Kids Home International by my husband Richard who knew how passionate I am about working with children especially those in need. Kids Home is a lovely , spiritual and homely environment that provides Tender love and care to the orphaned and vulnereable children from Kericho County and beyond. The kids are brought up to love , respect and share all they can with one another thanks to the dedicated members of staff who care about the children like thir own...Despite the challenge of inadequate resources and the large number of kids they care for, the kids get the educational,emotional, physical and spiritual support that promotes their support their stability to face life even after leaving the home...Now that I am living in the UK , am saddened that i cannot see the kids everyday....Although i work with kids in my current job (and thanks to Kids Home for helping me develop my career in working with children) , Kids Home International children are just special...I cannot wait to see them again when we visit next summer...Everyone whose been here falls in love with it.....x

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Kid International visited where I am pastoring to share their ministry story with us. We invited them due to our interest in them as a non-profit organization. The occasion far exceeded our expectation. The clear honesty and integrity as well as obvious live as well as passion for what they do led those there that day to become supporters of this great ministry!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2011

more

July 20, 2011

Kids Home international is not only a shelter to destitute kids but a home to them all. In my stay at KHI, i understood better Helen Keller's words that "Face your deficiencies and acknowledge them; but do not let
them master you. Let them teach you patience, sweetness,
insight. When we do
the best we can, we never know what
miracle is wrought in our life, or in the life of another". With patience and hopefulness KHI has lived through a difficult time, not more than once, and in all that the children still felt warm, appreciated and loved. financial strains could not be an obstacle to the love the staff of the HOME give the children, whom they took in as their own, care for and hoped for, sacrificed their comfort to let them have it, inspired to a fruitful life and above all, gave them the knowledge of the word of God, as their constant shield and source of hope and more so gave them education, the wealth they posses fully as their own. I remember a time they were almost kicked out of the place they have rented for having not paid the rent for a whole two years (this landlord must have been really patient with them), but alas! God opened a way. Many occasions they have gone to the extremes of borrowing friends finances to support this kids. With better place to live, spacious home with enough playing ground would be good for these deserving kids. KHI are doing a great Job and its my prayer that they get donors to make it better for the kids.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i have seen this Organization bring kids from a near death situation to a vibrant healthy life, a life with no hope to an educated and brighter promise of a future. This organization has made me appreciate life more and help the needy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them build a bigger home of their own, provide teaching staff for the kids, start up a project that would be income generating so as to help then during financial strains.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Change a live of a child Volunteer