Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I have witnessed the transformation of youth perspectives in just ONE leadership workshop/class. I had the privilege of joining a workshop recently about adopting accountability and integrity as a daily practice for empathy and social change. I saw kids of all ages lining up afterwards asking the instructor if they could please bring the program to their school. The content, delivery, impact, and retention is unlike any youth empowerment course I have ever seen. Students from diverse backgrounds, different age groups with different socioeconomic statuses, social groups, academic performance levels and self-esteem challenges we seeing each other for the first time as a human spirit and not what they look like or how much money they have. It was beautiful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get their leadership curriculum/style in every school across the Nation!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Kids Helping Kids is a wonderful organization! My husband, niece and I have all been honored to participate in local events. They are not only very active in our community, but in many others parts of the world as well! Their recent trip to Africa must have been an amazing and beneficial experience We have participated in local fundraisers at The Streets of Brentwood during the Christmas season. I look forward to my continued involvement with this non-profit. It gives me a good feeling knowing that a small amount of my time can benefit others so positively.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

Kids Helping Kids inspired my daughters to be more giving, and to be more aware of the circumstances of those around them and around the globe. Our family continues to support KHK as part of our monthly giving. As Christians, we feel KHK is doing Gods work in not only changing the lives of children in Ghana but changing the lives of children in our community. What is special about KHK is the learning and leadership the participants receive when they are part of KHK.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

A simple idea spawned from a pure heart has now grown into an organization governed to free children from the bondage of their environment. We are who we see ourselves to be and this is what they encourage all children to see themselves... free and walking in integrity in their hearts, mind and soul. All who come into contact with this organization will be inspired to aid and become participants their cause to free the children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

What I love about KHK is the combination of applied leadership skills and peer support, that help kids discover their own sense of self-worth and be able to share in the joy of imparting to others something larger than themselves. KHK is a grass-roots organization that I am proud to support because I know that my small contribution is dramatically impacting someone's life for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Kids Helping Kids (KHK): The power of belief can enable amazing outcomes, but it's the power of the people that can change the world! Gifted with the opportunity to work with Tyler Page (KHK teen co-founder) at TEDxREDMOND, I have first-hand knowledge of the rare opportunity this non-profit affords youth. Kids Helping Kids is not a catchy name, it is a reality that touches and helps children in Africa and across the United States. Laura Page (KHK co-founder) has envisioned opening KHK Leadership Academies across the USA, and I'd love to see her dream become a reality. Please join me in supporting this possibility.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Spending 8 days traveling to& through Ghana Africa with KHK was the absolute best thing I have ever done in my life. On our mission of the heart, we rescued 4 children from child slave labor. Children sold by their parents to fisherman for as little as $2.50. Imagine… tapping into that place: Your personal power?! The leader within you?! The one that knows and believes that what you say & do actually can make a difference. How unstoppable would you have been? What you might have created? Just having that extra dose of confidence…What part of the change that you wanted to see in your own life or others; might you have been? I have fun exploring all the possibilities in my mind of what that may have looked like for me. Soo happy that these infinite possibilities are being planted, nurtured and groomed in so many kids through the Kids Helping Kids Leadership Academy. I can’t tell you how incredible it is to be a part of the possibilities that are unfolding amongst the participants today. To WITNESS seeds of power, leadership, humility, enthusiasm and grace planted in the mind, body & souls of young people. Our hands reached across the world to ‘shake’ without barriers. Honestly?? What is KHK lacking?? More financial resources to expand their reach and really penetrate deeper into their projects.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I met Laura and Tyler on a trip to Ghana where we rescued kids from slavery. I loved the enthusiasm and love that Tyler and Laura had for the project. They worked hard for years to make the trip possible and I will be forever grateful that I was able to participate and get to know them. We all became like family and I loved every minute spent with them. Kids helping kids is a great organization with tons ahead of them in the future. I am so impressed by the dedication and commitment to service that this nonprofit has and my life was definitely touched by it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Kids Helping Kids has been a wonderful influence in my daughters life. Through Kids Helping Kids, children are taught leadership, responsibility, integrity, and commitment. They are encouraged not only to show kindness and help those in need, but to live their life with purpose and passion, while leading others to do the same. My daughter started attending the Kids Helping Kids Leadership Academy about a year and a half ago. During the monthly meetings she and her peers, have learned about and discussed various topics & projects such as: Integrity, standing up for yourself, nutrition & health, technology etiquette, commitment, gift giving on a budget, organization, manners & table etiquette, fundraising, reducing your carbon footprint-living green, pay it forward challenge, and even how to run a small lemonade stand business. During this time, she has also participated in KHK fundraising events to help fight child trafficking in Ghana,the orphans in Haiti, homeless children, and local children in need of expensive surgeries. Laura Page, founder Tyler Page's mother and current KHK executive director, is a wonderful leader and has been instrumental in teaching the kids to follow their own passions and to take action. This has led my 10 year old daughter to raise money for the music program at her elementary school, as well as start her own fundraising Project; Kids Take the Stage, with which she hopes to raise enough money to send local children in need to drama camp.  Jordyn believes in KHK's mission so much that when she won 100 dollars in a local singing "idol" competition, she did not hesitate to turn the check over to Laura Page- right then and there. This past summer Jordyn and her best friend Kelsi participated in the KHK annual lemonade stand challenge. The girls contact the city on their own and arranged to host a booth at a weekly downtown festival. It was a great experience that not only helped raise money for charity but it also helped them build character and confidence, while teaching them how to run a business. I have seen her blossom through Kids Helping Kids. Meeting Eric Peasah, who works for IOM to help rescue children in Ghana, has been another profound life shaping experience for Jordyn. With such amazing and inspirational role models, programs, and support.... Kids Helping Kids is exactly the type of program our children need to help keep them on the right path. Another thing I should mention... here I just wrote what seems like a book of information, and I didn't even scratch the surface.. there is so much more to this program and I feel so blessed that Kids Helping Kids is here in our community.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Brentwood, CA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the Kids Helping Kids leadership academy in EVERY community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes it opened my eyes and made me realize how resourceful and passionate children are, and how important it is to involve them in charitable activities early in life. Kids Helping Kids has provided my child with tools and confidence to help change the world!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Positive and inspired

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
January 11, 2011

I met Laura Page through our church and it was an instant bond. Our principles, values and beliefs are very much aligned. I soon came to learn all about KHK and immediately wanted to get involved. Their leadership academy teaches all the core values that our youth so desparately need, especially in our world today when there is so much negativity. Watching these young individuals is like watching a seed you plant grow and mature and blossom. And when they give back, the love they pour into their cause is amazing, you might even say it is contagious, you cannot help but to want to be a part of what they are doing.

The world does not honor kids enough and place enough value on them. They are important, they are our future generations who will be running the world. Who better to help KIDS who ARE amazing, than KIDS!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By going to the Leadership Academy and watching and listening to the training. Helped organize our Halloween Trading Post and working on fundraising for our Rescue Mission to Africa in 2012.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope to help it grow with sponsors, donors and fundraising events and bring more awareness to it throughout the world so that it can make more of an impact on lives of youth every where and any where.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

See above.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Due diligence and run the organization like we teach and train our youth. To grow with purpose and direction.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To be able to expand and be more involved in causes they support.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Post updates on our website, Twitter, Facebook, etc. They could send newsletters, speak at one of our meetings,