Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.851855
Write A Review
April 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Kids Excel works with my Special Needs students. I like the positivity of the program they offer. Watching the students smile and knowing they are feeling good about themselves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

For 4 years I was fortunate enough to have worked with Kids EXCEL at a school in El Paso. I remember bugging the new principal to bring them back because we were rated non acceptable at one point and she thought that it was just something taking from instructional time. School has never been rated like that again and they were even exemplary. I moved to Houston and I can tell I really miss having something like that despite my kids having art and music on a regular schedule. I wish they had Kids EXCEL here and really think is one of the best things that can happen to any school. Keep it up!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

4th graders learning to do something that takes months to see the final result

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to other cities

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

How did you find this group?

they found us :-)

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Never Give Up!!

June 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Kids Excel captures the focus and engagement of kids at just the right time in their life. The children in this program make noticeable advances in self confidence, discipline, and relating to others. These are all traits that will benefit their final stages of development into adulthood, while making measurable gains in keeping them in school. It's really a great organization that has taken an out of the box approach to making a difference for these children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The dedication shown by the staff of Kids Excel towards the mission and clients served is stellar. When I support Kids Excel, I can actually SEE the impact that my contribution makes, not only on individual children served, but also on the entire school population and even the community. In the years that I have supported Kids Excel, their programs have directly served over 12,000 children, and indirectly served 60,000 more. Their Sponsor a Child program is affordable philanthropy at its best. For only $300 per year, I am able to provide weekly programming and performance opportunities for one underserved child in El Paso. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

Kids Excel El Paso works with our 4th grade students on a weekly basis. I feel that the KEEP instructors and reps do a fine job motivating the students, however I am unsure if the program actually improves student discipline and self-motivation, outside the KEEP class.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

In a day and age when teaching is done to pass the TAKS test( Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills) and 1 of 7 low-income, preschool-aged children is obese, Kids Excel is our answer. Children who participate in the program learn positive self image, physical cognitive skills, never give up attitude and a real love for learning. By attending the classes, performing at the assemblies, and show performances the children gain a powerful approach to learning determination, discipline, excellence and teamwork. Positive attention from peers, parents, and community members reinforces all that the children learn along the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

All students served by Kid Excel thrive. This is one program where you see an immediate result in the students' self esteem. When it comes time for Kids Excel the students' faces light up because they have the opportunity to "shine". This program teaches students to listen and respond to commands with great respect for the instructors and each other. They are completely captivated by the energy of their music and dance. Through the creative talents of the instructors they plan an instructional objective which is taught through dance and music. Students are taught the discipline of following directions, respect for each other and working together as a team.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

KIDS EXCEL is in a category of their own. They work with every 4th grade student striving for each student's personal's best. We have had the privilege of having the program for the past few years and it is evident that our students self- esteem, and self-confidence have increased tremendously. Through the integration of music and movement which is encompassed with in our Educational environment has clearly increased student academic performance as well as their health. EQM

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

This organization has changed my life as well as the students, I see it happen physically, mentally, and emotionally. It's amazing to see the transformation happen!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

Kids Excel provides weekly instruction for every 4th grader at my school. Not only do our students learn to love dance and creative movement, they learn to work hard, give their personal best in everything they do, and never give up. The instructors truly care about each student. The program musicians play live for every class so no one can resist dancing their hearts out!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers