Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Kids Connection Haiti provides very targeted support to help educate at-risk Haitian youth. A few years ago, many current KCH students did not have secure housing, food or jobs. They had few to no economic opportunities. Now, however, these same young adults are pursuing their dreams. I appreciate that KCH students have worked so hard to make their goals a reality. I also like that proceeds to KCH overwelmingly go to defray educational costs. The organization is very lean. There is no luxurious office. There is no fleet of cars. There are no exorbitant salaries. A dollar donated to KCH directly helps a student in need finish high school, vocational school or university. I firmly believe that my donations have helped these deserving people to have a more secure future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The efforts of everyone involved at Kids Connection Haiti, especially the students themselves, inspire me each day to do more myself each day. I've been involved with KCH since just after the earthquake in Haiti in 2010. Since then, I've seen volunteers give their heart and sole in Haiti to advance our programs in very difficult working and living conditions. I've seen others volunteering in the United States and Canada also giving their time, money and energy to a cause that has earned their respect. The students themselves overcome great adversity each day just getting to and from school in the heat and the dust and studying in their noisy and often dark neighbourhoods.

These people inspire me to keep giving myself. Many agencies and organizations offer help to the children of Haiti but KCH offers economic self-sufficiency to young adults – those who can make an immediate and real impact on the lives of their entire family in the very short term. The KCH formula shows results quickly and impacts an entire community of family and friends. When one person in a community secures employment, the entire community benefits almost immediately. I'm proud to be part of it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been working as a Youth Development consultant for an NGO in Haiti for the last two and a half years and met with Astrid Fitzgerald on many occasions.
Her Kids Connection Haiti Program works with and for many young adults that I know.
KCH makes the difference in their lives
!

Astrid has lived in Haiti for many years and knows what these young adults are going through, what their needs are and what difficulties they have to overcome. She knows the troubles of the country.
With a simple, very effective philosophy she built a small but slowly growing organization were each one who gets help, gets a better change in live !

Astrid's heart is in Haiti. She is not only passionate about her work but she also has clear goals and knows how she wants to get there. KCH financial donations all benefits the young adults education or microcredit for business.
But equally important is the emotional support these young adults get through regular meetings, workshops and seminars.

KCH to me stands for; a small initiative can makes a big difference !

Joanne Schipper (Youth Development consultant)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered for KCH for two months in Port-au-Prince, Haiti during the summer of 2012. I was lucky enough to be given this great opportunity to go to Haiti and spend time with the wonderful students KCH and its donors sponsor. In Haiti, I taught English classes 3 days a week to KCH students and to neighborhood kids. I also helped out our local coordinator with various tasks. it was my second trip to Haiti, but my first working in a development country. I keep saying that I couldn't have had a better experience. With KCH, I was able to dive into a different workplace, learning so much more about myself, Haitians and Haiti. I was challenged in my work but also in my daily life, which always kept things interesting for me. The KCH team is made of hard-working and caring people. They helped me make my experience in Haiti an unforgettable one. I would encourage anyone to work with KCH, you won't regret it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been helping out in KCH for almost a month and am happy to be in such a creative, easy-going and loving environment. The team members and leaders are not only inspiring professionals but they are good and caring human beings that show their efforts with the dedication that they put into the organization's mission. Thank you for this opportunity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered for KCH for 6 months in 2010-11 when the organization was establishing itself on the ground in Haiti. The work that KCH does for young adults in providing them with education and social support is exceptional, and the way that the organization works is rare. KCH puts almost its entire operating budget towards providing for the young adults in the program, and it exponentially improves the opportunities that these young adults have to succeed. I would fully recommend working with the organization in whatever capacity available.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I work in Kids Connection Haiti since mid-September, 2012. This job helps me get familiar with crowd funding, grant searching, and many new projects that I never got a chance to know in the university campus before. Besides, the job also helps me get in touch with society more profoundly, at least it gives me a clearer idea on how non-profit organization runs. I therefore highly recommend Kids Connection Haiti, for, as a volunteer here, not only you would obtain more knowledge about Haiti but also a stronger feeling of your being as a member of your own society, a society from which you are benefited and to which you are to benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I currently work in the Washington D.C. office of KCH. It's only been a few months work of work but I have had the great pleasure of working with such motivated and dedicated people who are passionate about seeing improvment in Haiti. I encourage anyone reading this review if you're even a little curious about volunteering in/for Haiti take a few seconds to check out Kids Connection Haiti!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with KCH in Haiti for the first half of 2012. It was such a great experience. The youth in the program are such an inspiration. I highly recommend KCH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It is humbling to have had the honor to work with people as dedicated as those that assist at Kids Connection Haiti. The mission of KCH is one which truly transforms lives through the most self-sustaining process known--education. Kids Connection Haiti and Global Impact Collective have a had a wonderful relationship and I would encourage other volunteers and individuals to get involved with a group so set on positively impacting the lives of Haitians through education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers