Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Free The Children's holistic and sustainable Adopt a Village model is what initially drew me to this organization. Furthermore, it's a youth based approach which leads to empowered, motivated, and inspired young people taking the initiative to make a positive impact not only globally, but locally in their communities as well. It's an incredible cycle of systematic service learning that leads to a greater sense of social responsibility and leadership for all who are engaged with Free The Children's programming!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

My 4th grader along with 7 of his classmates and their elementary school teacher started a Free The Children Chapter last year. The group chose to support education in Kenya. So far the group has hosted 2 fundraisers (coin drive and hike). The group has raised over $6,000. This organization has inspired these kids that thru hard work, diligence and passion that they too can make a difference in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

2 years ago was my first We Day, and as cheesy as it may sound, it changed my life. The speakers moved the crowd, and there was a sense of positive energy I realized I had been missing. Seeing Craig and Marc and hearing their story inspired me, and I was ready to make a change. I've come to appreciate t he environment, and how SO important it is to think globally, locally, and the issues that surround the world. Since We Day, I helped lead a school quarter drive, went through the change of high school and joined clubs, volunteered. In the summer I went to Take Action Academy and had an amazing week! I learned so much, met amazing people who are inspired just like me, and connected with others on the issues we realize are possible to make a difference in. Now, I took my action plan to action and organized a charity walk for fundraising to build a school, and am considering applying for a scholarship to go to Kenya, and see the change I can make first hand. I can't wait for the opportunities ahead of me, and Craig and Marc have been the key to greatly impact young people, to show you CAN be the change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 23, 2012

I had the opportunity to travel on a MetoWe trip to Kenya this past summer and can honestly say that I will never be the same. I was fortunate enough to experience a completely alternate way of life and find what was truly valuable in this world, which is helping others. On top of an incredible trip, I was also presented with the chance of introducing Spencer West to this years Waterloo Region WE Day. I found the event so well organized and inspiring. Free the Children and MetoWe are like no other organization, they not only do good within our local and global societies, but also empower youth to implement however they can. I am so thankful for all that this organization has done to help me grow and show me how I can now also help others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I had the opportunity to travel on a MetoWe trip to Kenya this past summer and can honestly say that I will never be the same. I was fortunate enough to experience a completely alternate way of life and find what was truly valuable in this world, which is helping others. On top of an incredible trip, I was also presented with the chance of introducing Spencer West to this years Waterloo Region WE Day. I found the event so well organized and inspiring. Free the Children and MetoWe are like no other organization, they not only do good within our local and global societies, but also empower youth to implement however they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

This past summer, my 9-year-old daughter and I travelled to Kenya to particpate in a "Volunteer Vacation" organized by Free the Children. This trip changed our lives and taught my daughter lessons she could never learn in the classroom. We had read about the organization and the various projects around the world - but words cannot describe our experience of meeting the girls at Kisaruni, building a classroom with with our group members, and seeing the impact that education has made on the communities we visited. We left with new many friends, an appreciation for a different culture and joy in our hearts at the good that Free the Children has done in Kenya. My once shy daughter now has the courage to speak passionately about her experience this past summer and the difference that children can make on the lives other children. Thank you Craig, Mark, Cameron, Sarah and all our friends at Free the Children and Me to We for helping us find our spark! We can't wait for our next trip!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

Free The Children is absolutely amazing. I'm so thankful to be involved with this organization as it does many great things for people all across the world. We Day and Free The Children have changed my life for the better, and I say this with all honesty. By being a part of this organization I've built many friendships and learned how to take action within the community. Their staff has become my second family. I learned to stand up for issues that I believe in and to never be afraid to ask anyone to help take a stand with you. We Day has taught me that it is cool to care. From this one event one can really see how powerful Free The Children is. In Toronto alone, 18,000 students gather to celebrate social change and it's empowering beyond belief. It shows that no matter how young you may be, you have the ability to change the world. I've had the opportunity to speak on stage at We Day and these kids are amazing. They want to learn about different ways in which they can help change the world, and this is often hard to find. Through Free The Children and We Day, I was given the opportunity to inspire thousands and I thank them for this opportunity. I could never have asked for anything better. I'm honored to be a part of Free The Children and I hope I will be for the many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 22, 2012

Last year I visited the Kisaruni High School for girls in Kenya where one of the classrooms is the tangible result of my contributions made to Free the Children in memory of my son. This was an amazing opportunity to actually see how my donations were working there...on the Mara ..in Kenya!! Free the Children constantly keeps in contact with me, keeping me up-to-date on new projects and the evolution of current successes. On top of this there is always an appreciation of my contributions and support. This summer Marc and Robin sent a video message from Kisaruni so I could see the growth of a passion fruit tree I had planted. I have absolutely no hesitation in encouraging others...from my peers in the educational field to my friends and family to contribute generously to FTC. My 8 year old granddaughter has just asked her invited friends to her birthday next week to give donations to Free the Children rather than gifts to her.!!She knows the money will be used to buy a goat for a Kenyan family or maybe help with building a well for pure water. Getting involved with Free the Children...with the knowledge of the effectiveness and the enthusiasm and dedication of Craig, Marc and all the co-workers at FTC is a life changing experience for me. I can hardly wait to return to Kenya...to visit once again with the girls and the "Mamas".!! Leona from Montreal, Quebec,Canada

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 22, 2012

My family of four children (2 boys and 2 girls ages 8-16) went to Kenya this summer and participated in the Free the Children program based in Bogani. It was truly a life-changing experience for each member of my family. We met many incredible Kenyans who have very little in terms of material possessions, but who are filled with hope and a belief that their lives can be improved through hard work, perseverence, education, and economic self-sufficiency. We met teenage girls, who without Free the Children would have no place or opportunity to go to high school, who will one day be leaders of their communities and country. We met mothers and fathers who treated us like rock stars because they were so grateful for the work Free the Children was doing to give their children an education, clean drinking water, and health care facilities. We also met many happy, smiling, beautiful children who were curious and interested in who we were, and who immediately welcomed us by holding our hands and walking with us. These children never once asked us for anything other than to return their warmth and affection. In short, our trip helped our family put the world and our lives into their proper perspectives. Since returning, we are committed to staying involved with Free the Children, to champion its causes, and to do what we can to improve the lives of those who are less fortunate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I went to Kenya with FTC last summer, and it changed my life. The staff are personable, they make you think with exercises that examine your life in comparison to those with less, and encourage you to make a change. In a dark time in my life, they gave me a light to move towards. I owe FTC so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers