Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.871795
Write A Review
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I started supporting this organization as a volunteer. I learned about this organization from a friend and being a cancer survivor myself, I wanted to give back. The more I got involved and began to understand how they help the children with cancer and other diseases, I dropped all my other charity work and give my time to this organization. Their focus on helping the children and their families is amazing.
August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

When I first found about this charity I was very eager to get involved. Soon after I began volunteering I was treated badly by the woman in charge. She was so rude to all of the volunters and acted like she was better than us. One of the other volunteers was crying because she yelled at her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a different director who treats volunteers better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a volunteer for Kids Beating Cancer through a business class at UCF. I did not realize how much working with this organization would change my life. Through this experience, we gained an extreme understanding of what the Kids Beating Cancer organization does for the children within the treatment center. It is amazing what they do to try and help these children and families financially and make everyday easier. I got the liberty of being able to see the treatment center. It is beautiful, clean, and perfect for making kids feel welcome within the unit. I was able to meet Margaret, Cicilia and Dyan. I personally worked a lot with Dyan and Cici, who I was honored to work with. My team Guardian Knights and I were in charge of helping and raising donations for their annual Fall/Halloween Party. I actually got to spend some time with the children who have or were receiving treatment. These kids were STUNNING, these children, their siblings, and their families were a joy to be around. I fell in love with some of the kids I was able to interact with and get to know. This organization is incredible and is truly there for these kids and their families. They do everything is their power to help out and make the process as smooth as possible!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Volunteering with Kids Beating Cancer has truly been an incredible experience. This organization is phenomenal and gives children and their parents hope when everything is going against them. Not only do they raise funds for transplants for children they also go into the hospital and decorate the rooms for the children based on their desired characters. It is truly a blessing to be able to work with such an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

We have been a part of Kids Beating Cancer for several years, starting with attending an American Girl Fashion Show & Fashion Show held as a fundraiser, and later by participating in the show. My children got involved recently by helping design a room for a future patient at the Florida Hospital Transplant Unit. As a family we chose to decorate with a "Toy Story" theme. How wonderful to get a 6, 9, and 11 year old thinking of other children with this horrible disease! Margaret and the ladies of KBC are passionate about curing cancer in children. We have been blessed beyond measure by doing our very small part in helping the cause of Kids Beating Cancer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is a most amazing charity. To be a part of the organization is to be moved by all the children/families lives that are being helped. Vaolunteering is a truly life enriching experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am always amazed when I hear Margaret tell the story of her son’s battle with cancer, and how the loss of her beautiful son became her inspiration for helping other kids get life-saving treatment, without delay and without separating families. Margaret and her Kids Beating Cancer team have accomplished so much for children over the past twenty years and, in doing so, keep costs very low so that almost every dollar raised goes toward making children well. At first, I thought that seeing the children and hearing their stories of battling life-threatening illnesses would be difficult to handle. On the contrary, it is so inspiring and humbling to witness the spirit and courage these kids display while fighting for their lives. They are all little heroes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2011

more

July 17, 2011

As a volunteer with Kids Beating Cancer, it is a privilege and honor to be be able to assist through marrow drives and more to do my part to help save a life of a young person. Kudos to Adele and the rest of the organization in all of their efforts and passion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

setting up a marrow drive at my church; signing up donors, especially in the African-American community; knowing that the holiday gifts received are appreciated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

volunteer more and recruit more volunteers.

July 5, 2011

more

July 5, 2011

Working with Adele Doctor and Kids Beating Cancer in Orlando, Florida has been such a rewarding experience. Kids Beating Cancer, is such a motivating and inspiring organization to volunteer for. When people ask what am I doing this summer, I gladly reply "helping kids beat cancer!"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Not sure what this question is asking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase amounts of funding by reaching out to more private donors and sponsors.

July 1, 2011

more

July 1, 2011

I have volunteered for Kids Beating Cancer for a few years now, Adele and Cecelia are great organizers and you really feel like you're contributing to a great cause when working with them. The Christmas Party is my favorite event, because you can see the happiness and pure joy on the children's faces when they meet Santa and receive gifts. I appreciate the hard work and effort these ladies provide, and look forward to helping out more in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Whenever I volunteer, I feel a personal sense of gratitude to know this charity really helps children live a better life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Employ more people if possible. You can never have enough help for this organization!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble packages for children with cancer while in the hospital, "My Room" decorations, toys and crafts. Participate at children's parties, events and activities. Volunteer