Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a volunteer for Kids Beating Cancer through a business class at UCF. I did not realize how much working with this organization would change my life. Through this experience, we gained an extreme understanding of what the Kids Beating Cancer organization does for the children within the treatment center. It is amazing what they do to try and help these children and families financially and make everyday easier. I got the liberty of being able to see the treatment center. It is beautiful, clean, and perfect for making kids feel welcome within the unit. I was able to meet Margaret, Cicilia and Dyan. I personally worked a lot with Dyan and Cici, who I was honored to work with. My team Guardian Knights and I were in charge of helping and raising donations for their annual Fall/Halloween Party. I actually got to spend some time with the children who have or were receiving treatment. These kids were STUNNING, these children, their siblings, and their families were a joy to be around. I fell in love with some of the kids I was able to interact with and get to know. This organization is incredible and is truly there for these kids and their families. They do everything is their power to help out and make the process as smooth as possible!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I have been aware of this organization for about 2 years. Everyone I have met is sincerely dedicated to the cause of helping children (and their families) with cancer. They will have my continued support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

We are new to this organization but they have exceeded our expectations. Everyone I have ever spoke with has been helpful and pleasant. They are sincere about helping kids and their families! Thank you KBC :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Kids Beating Cancer gives kids hope. When we are in treatment during the holidays they come through with presents for the kids and the siblings and they throw great events always thinking about the kids that are in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Volunteering with Kids Beating Cancer has truly been an incredible experience. This organization is phenomenal and gives children and their parents hope when everything is going against them. Not only do they raise funds for transplants for children they also go into the hospital and decorate the rooms for the children based on their desired characters. It is truly a blessing to be able to work with such an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

When my son was diagnosed with CML in 2007 and we were told he needed a bone marrow transplant I didn't know where to turn. I contacted Kids Beating Cancer and spoke to Adele. Insurance wouldn't pay for family and friends to be tested as a potential match for Matty. KBC set up donor drives for family and friends to be tested. Not only for Matthew, but any child needing a life saving bone marrow transplant. We are very honored to be part of the Kids Beating Cancer family. Margaret, Adele, Cecelia and all the people at KBC work hard every day for children needing a bone marrow transplant. I can never thank them enough for what they have done for Matthew and our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

We have been a part of Kids Beating Cancer for several years, starting with attending an American Girl Fashion Show & Fashion Show held as a fundraiser, and later by participating in the show. My children got involved recently by helping design a room for a future patient at the Florida Hospital Transplant Unit. As a family we chose to decorate with a "Toy Story" theme. How wonderful to get a 6, 9, and 11 year old thinking of other children with this horrible disease! Margaret and the ladies of KBC are passionate about curing cancer in children. We have been blessed beyond measure by doing our very small part in helping the cause of Kids Beating Cancer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is a most amazing charity. To be a part of the organization is to be moved by all the children/families lives that are being helped. Vaolunteering is a truly life enriching experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am always amazed when I hear Margaret tell the story of her son’s battle with cancer, and how the loss of her beautiful son became her inspiration for helping other kids get life-saving treatment, without delay and without separating families. Margaret and her Kids Beating Cancer team have accomplished so much for children over the past twenty years and, in doing so, keep costs very low so that almost every dollar raised goes toward making children well. At first, I thought that seeing the children and hearing their stories of battling life-threatening illnesses would be difficult to handle. On the contrary, it is so inspiring and humbling to witness the spirit and courage these kids display while fighting for their lives. They are all little heroes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 11, 2011

As a non-profit professional and RN, I have had to pleasureto know and work with Margaret Guedes and Kids Beating Cancer for nine years. The moment I met Margaret and learned about her son John and w... more

October 25, 2012

As both a non-profit professional and advisory board member of KBC, plus a former critical care nurse I feel uniquely qualified to provide the highest recommendation for Kids Beating Cancer. I met the founder, Margaret Guedes over 10 years ago as she passionately described the goals, and missionn of KBC. I asked if she was a nurse or a mother of a child with cancer, and she told me she was the mother of a child who had died of cancer. I attend a luncheon in spring 2012 and learned that Margaret's dream and the long term goal of having children treated in Orlando was about to become a reality with the opening of the Kids Beating Cancer transplant unit at Florida Hospital. After her 20 years of hard work, and watching and learning from Margaret for the past 10 years, I nominated Margaret for the Lifetime Achievement Award for the Central Florida Association of Fundraising Professionals and she won this prestigious award. Margaret will be awarded this honor in November in Orlando in front of 500 community leaders.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2011

As a non-profit professional and RN, I have had to pleasureto know and work with Margaret Guedes and Kids Beating Cancer for nine years. The moment I met Margaret and learned about her son John and why she formed Kids Beating Cancer, I knew she would impact many lives with her courage and strength. This organization was born out of her love for son but her desire to save lives and help other families dealing with leukemia and other cancers is what keeps the organization going strong. I have seen children and their families who received a bone marrow transplant that would not have been possilble without Kids Beating Cancer and the dedicated work of Margaret Guedes in honor of John.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the families who have received bone marrow transplants at special events and heard their stories of survival.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire one person to run special events leaving more time for donor drives and fundraising to the exisitng staff.

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble packages for children with cancer while in the hospital, "My Room" decorations, toys and crafts. Participate at children's parties, events and activities. Volunteer