Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
123 Reviews
1234.813015
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

Kidpower is a wonderful organization, and provides age-appropriate, upbeat and positive training in safety skills for people of all ages. Merely thinking and talking about safety problems can create a lot of anxiety, and in Kidpower they combat that anxiety by focusing on positive practice and relevant skills. The leaders in this organization have consulted experts in the fields of education, violence prevention, law enforcement, martial arts, psychology and development to create workshops that are thoughtful, dynamic and effective.

Kidpower is also an organization that respects the people who work within it. Those who work with Kidpower are encouraged to do so in a way that is fulfilling and manageable for them. That way, no one gets burned out and bitter. This organization values clear and open communication and lives their values.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower is a huge resource for kids and others worldwide. Many years of research and careful thought have gone into the basic skills and how to teach them. No other source even comes close in terms of comprehensive information and teacher training, and the resources are shared freely.
Irene van der Zande has done many walks on the beach with authorities from all over the world as part of her effort to get every grain of information she can. We've all been called to share our views and expertise. Look out, her energy is formidable--good luck keeping up! The end-result is that she has built an organization that is out there for everyone's benefit, and never settles for "the job is done."
--Carol Middleton, self defense specialist since 1971.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have attended a training at KP which is very very helpful to teach child protection in the field

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2014

more

April 18, 2014

Kidpower has taught me how to talk to my children about scary topics in a fun, non-scary way. My kids left the workshop saying, "That was so awesome!! When can we do another Kidpower class? "
Thanks to the expertise of the Kidpower curriculum, the whole family is aware, calm and confident about
our safety.
April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great Organization and Wonderful Program. Kidpower Safety Skills have and will continue to save lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I honestly can't begin to enumerate the ways that Kidpower has changed my life. On a personal level, I can say that the people safety principals I have have learned from Kidpower are applicable everywhere and anywhere. I have countless "Kidpower moments" throughout the course of my day, whether its dealing with an irate client or excited toddler, or my own self-talk on the drive home. Regardless of the situation, when I apply the concepts, language, and skills the Kidpower practices, I am greatly benefitted, and so are those around me. Beyond that, witnessing Kidpower at work, both in workshop experiences and within the inner workings of the organization, has awakened in me the realization that change is totally possible. We can change the world around us for the better. Kidpower is, and I can too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that every man, woman and child experienced the Kidpower program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2010

The Fullpower course I took in 1992 changed my perception of the world. I am small, a woman, love traveling and doing all kinds of independent activities. Before Fullpower, I always felt that the worl... more

April 17, 2014

Kidpower's approach to safety is so positive and hands-on, it just stays with you and helps build positive relationships everywhere in your life.
After doing a course in Switzerland, I was hooked and 21 years later we now have taught over 36,000 people in New Zealand, where I live with my
family.

People who have done Kidpower, Teenpower or Fullpower so often report to not only feel and be safer but also happier.

The organisation upholds high values and standards. It's definitely one that deserves to get five stars. ( :

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more funding for it

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Fullpower course I took in 1992 changed my perception of the world. I am small, a woman, love traveling and doing all kinds of independent activities. Before Fullpower, I always felt that the world was an unfair, unsafe place for people like me. I felt that I was at the mercy of stronger people who could overpower me whenever they wanted to. Through Fullpower I experienced that I can access the innate, amazing power we all have, that have nothing to do with physical power. Like the small fluffy cat, we all have the ferocious tiger in us that can be unleashed when we need it and that can give us more strength and focus than we physically and mentally have. (i.e. A physically unfit women lifted a car when her baby was underneath it.) I was already a 3rd degree black belt then, but Fullpower gave me the experience, support and the tools to EXPERIENCE that I - and all beings - are equipped with emergency energy and emergency power. Having this knowledge and experience freed up my life, put me at peace and enabled me to enjoy the beauty of the world, enjoy fellow human beings, my family and life in general. It is my passion to help others to have access to this truly empowering experience. Even just two hours of professionally coached full force work and carefully formatted scenarios can be life-changing. What I further like about Fullpower is: - We don’t need to teach - we just facilitate and create an opportunity for women to find out what they actually already got. - It works for women with disabilities, low fitness, and trauma. - The positive impact this has in all areas of life and relationships. - The experience lasts (usually for decades). - It builds community. - It’s fun! I want all people to have a Kidpower, a Teenpower and a Fullpower training as part of their general education. This is ambitious as we still struggle to secure funding for the next 12 months. However, I think it’s a matter of building enough momentum. I think Fullpower is a revolution from inside out, one person at a time. Once a mass of people experienced what a Fullpower session does for their lives, their families and their communities, the movement will become unstoppable. I’m proud that the Kidpower Teenpower Fullpower Trust NZ reached over 24,500 people in New Zealand since 1993 with the help of my family and hundreds of supporters, including the New Zealand Police, the New Zealand Ministry of Justice, many professionals, etc.. Your support will help us - reach more women who can’t pay and who are usually the ones who benefit most from our empowering and - build ‘critical mass’ to get to the next level of capacity, impact and recognition. Please spread the word and/or give freely. Thank you!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fullpower put me at peace and enabled me to perceive the beauty of the world, enjoy fellow human beings and life. I’m moved deeply to now see similar changes in the faces, the bodies, the feedback, the success stories, and the smiles of the women we teach

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We have to work much harder to become sustainable, i.e. attract long-term sponsorship, Government support, investments etc. Large (and small) donation will help us build ‘critical mass’ to get to the next level of capacity, impact and recognition.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I love how it's about helping women discover and access the power they already have and that it's about building good relationships. (:

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, passionate, professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Turn most conflict into positive opportunities throughout the world.

Ways to make it better...

there was more financial support.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of funds and/or committed pro-bono support.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower has enabled me to find my voice, and to learn how to set my own boundaries better, to be and act aware and safer, and to be more assertive, while still being respectful.
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a martial arts instructor that regularly teaches children and adults about safety, bullying and self defense. The articles and resources that Kidpower put together and provide are some of my favorite. The way they relate to the parents is different than anywhere else, with time tested tips combined with recent stories in the news. I love seeing a newsletter pop into my email. It helps me stay relevant and up to date in my teachings.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

i teach Kidpower skill for hundreds kids in Vietnam, many of them are disabled kids, and they just love the skill, they also had a good time while learning the skills

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.