Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
126 Reviews
1234.81755
Write A Review
November 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My 14 year old daughter and friend just attended a workshop in Palo Alto. Although long, it was well worth the time. I think it really gave them the tools to think about how to handle themselves in uncomfortable situations, how to protect themselves, and how to deal with others in a variety of settings. The instructor was very professional and knowledgeable. Although my daughter would not have chosen to go on her own, she did believe that it was time well spent and gave my husaband and me a full run down afterwards.
November 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have a 10 year-old son who is autistic and a 7 year-olddaughter and have been looking for resources to teach safety to our kids without fear and without discrimination. When I looked for info on the web, I found the excellent Kidpower web site and books. My son and daughter and I read the cover page of the coloring book last night, and they coloured it in. We are now practicing that page.

As I looked through the Kidpower book, I recognized how much it can help my children. My son, being autistic, doesn't always know the best way to solve a problem. They say that social stories help autistic kids learn what to do. And I find that each page of the Kidpower safety book is like a social story. It gives examples of what to do and not do (with your hands), and what to say.


I'm sure these Kidpower stories and skills will give my son the knowledge and self-confidence he needs to act in appropriate ways in the future when someone disrespects him or doesn't follow the rules.


The Kidpower website and program provide an important service that can help many families.
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My 11 year old daughter and I took the course last weekend and I was impressed. Kidpower did a great job of arming the kids in the class with the confidence and tools to keep themselves safe without scaring them. They also opened the door to talking about safety and increased independence with parents. I loved that one of the first things the instructor said was that in order for kids to be aware they had to put away their cell phones - thank you!
September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I took a Kidpower class with my son (age 11).

This is a very well put-together class taught by very experienced teachers.
It is obvious that the material has been fine-tuned and perfected over the years
with input from various experts. The take-home materials allow parents to
continue
and solidify the lessons imparted in the class. The price is very fair.

I'm going to recommend this organization to my friends. They are providing a very
important service.
June 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have taken a few Kidpower classes, and the skills have really helped me feel much safer and more comfortable both out in public and in my personal relationships. My Kidpower skills give me the confidence of knowing how to avoid problems when possible, and how to keep myself safe if a problem is unavoidable. Because of these skills I am not afraid to go out and about and I cannot overstate what a wonderful set of skills Kidpower teaches in a safe, non-threatening environment. The teachers were warm and friendly and were helpful answering questions and explaining the material. I am very pleased with my experiences with Kidpower and would recommend them highly to anyone looking to take a personal safety class. Kidpower is awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I took a Fullpower course several months ago after several increasingly scary incidents that we encountered both in the small city of Santa Cruz and in SF. Even with a background in martial arts and wrestling, I still got A LOT out of the physical skills presented at the workshop. The padded instructors are incredibly skilled individuals who generally do this as a second job, because THEY CARE about the safety of the community at large.

The verbal skills presented are invaluable for all ages, and I immediately noticed a changed in my girlfriend's perception of potentially dangerous situations and quick thinking in the event that someone might approach her at night. It has given both of us a peace of mind and I would recommend the workshop to not only all children, but adults as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund it to be available to all disadvantaged communties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are so grateful to have Kidpower skills and vocabulary as an integral part of our family dialogue about not just safety, but also relationships. This morning my 5-year-old daughter said, "Mom, I have to tell you something about safety." I used my get-centered power and I smiled at her and said, "tell me all about it." She told me about some teasing and mean language among some of the kids at school and she wanted to know what some of the words meant. We had a talk on the way to school about friendship, how problems don't have to be secrets, using and teaching others the Kidpower trash can, and standing up for what is right. By the time we got to school for drop-off she was telling me she was ready to speak up if it happened again and help the kids who were getting teased. She had the words to say and the confidence to say them. She was smiling and happy and excited for her day. Thank you Kidpower!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nationalize it so that the curriculum could be taught in every school, from daycare through the university level for teaching preparation programs, MBAs and trade schools. The skills and the approach is tried and true for fostering safe, open, respectful and caring communication - that's needed everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I use Kidpower skills with my 23-month old daughter ALL THE TIME! Just last weekend, when we were on a family trip, we used the Kidpower Safety Signs with her constantly. Every time I pat my arm, she remembers that she needs to "Check First" with mom and dad. She also uses "Hands Down Power" when we're around things we don't want her to touch. These may sound like little things, but they make a big difference in our lives as parents!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more classes! I have family in other areas that are interested but can't take classes themselves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had Kidpower in my classroom twice now, and have been pleased and impressed with how fast students learn the skills; how easily they incorporate them into their daily school interactions, and how simple the skills are for me to keep relevant. With all the talk about bullying these days it is heartening and hopeful to see that this organization can actually make a positive difference for our kids. Where other groups simply talk and process a lot - Kidpower gives kids actual steps to take when confronted with a bullying situation. I believe this is the only way we'll see real change!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kid Power is an amazing resource for everyone! All their work to end bullying with helpful stories and advice helped me as teacher work to create a safe place in my school and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Host more clinics!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.