Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
122 Reviews
1234.811485
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have taken a few Kidpower classes, and the skills have really helped me feel much safer and more comfortable both out in public and in my personal relationships. My Kidpower skills give me the confidence of knowing how to avoid problems when possible, and how to keep myself safe if a problem is unavoidable. Because of these skills I am not afraid to go out and about and I cannot overstate what a wonderful set of skills Kidpower teaches in a safe, non-threatening environment. The teachers were warm and friendly and were helpful answering questions and explaining the material. I am very pleased with my experiences with Kidpower and would recommend them highly to anyone looking to take a personal safety class. Kidpower is awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I took a Fullpower course several months ago after several increasingly scary incidents that we encountered both in the small city of Santa Cruz and in SF. Even with a background in martial arts and wrestling, I still got A LOT out of the physical skills presented at the workshop. The padded instructors are incredibly skilled individuals who generally do this as a second job, because THEY CARE about the safety of the community at large.

The verbal skills presented are invaluable for all ages, and I immediately noticed a changed in my girlfriend's perception of potentially dangerous situations and quick thinking in the event that someone might approach her at night. It has given both of us a peace of mind and I would recommend the workshop to not only all children, but adults as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund it to be available to all disadvantaged communties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are so grateful to have Kidpower skills and vocabulary as an integral part of our family dialogue about not just safety, but also relationships. This morning my 5-year-old daughter said, "Mom, I have to tell you something about safety." I used my get-centered power and I smiled at her and said, "tell me all about it." She told me about some teasing and mean language among some of the kids at school and she wanted to know what some of the words meant. We had a talk on the way to school about friendship, how problems don't have to be secrets, using and teaching others the Kidpower trash can, and standing up for what is right. By the time we got to school for drop-off she was telling me she was ready to speak up if it happened again and help the kids who were getting teased. She had the words to say and the confidence to say them. She was smiling and happy and excited for her day. Thank you Kidpower!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nationalize it so that the curriculum could be taught in every school, from daycare through the university level for teaching preparation programs, MBAs and trade schools. The skills and the approach is tried and true for fostering safe, open, respectful and caring communication - that's needed everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I use Kidpower skills with my 23-month old daughter ALL THE TIME! Just last weekend, when we were on a family trip, we used the Kidpower Safety Signs with her constantly. Every time I pat my arm, she remembers that she needs to "Check First" with mom and dad. She also uses "Hands Down Power" when we're around things we don't want her to touch. These may sound like little things, but they make a big difference in our lives as parents!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more classes! I have family in other areas that are interested but can't take classes themselves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had Kidpower in my classroom twice now, and have been pleased and impressed with how fast students learn the skills; how easily they incorporate them into their daily school interactions, and how simple the skills are for me to keep relevant. With all the talk about bullying these days it is heartening and hopeful to see that this organization can actually make a positive difference for our kids. Where other groups simply talk and process a lot - Kidpower gives kids actual steps to take when confronted with a bullying situation. I believe this is the only way we'll see real change!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kid Power is an amazing resource for everyone! All their work to end bullying with helpful stories and advice helped me as teacher work to create a safe place in my school and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Host more clinics!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has taken 3 KidPower Classes and as a result of what she learned a much more confident and competent fourteen year old. I found the self defense portion of the class so valuable. Kidpower has found the perfect recipe of how to explain to a child that scary things can happen without scaring them. Instead Kidpower empowers children. They were able to explain and teach in ways that I as a parent could not master.
Thank you kidpower. You are saving lives and helping us to raise children who thrive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Run, don't walk, to a Kidpower class. If there are conversations about 'strangers' or personal space or safety that you feel ill-equipped to have with your child(ren), let the experts help out! Kidpower basically initiates these conversations and then gives your kids the voice, words and actions to use in a number of situations.

It was money - and prime Sunday hours - well-spent!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower is fantastic. It offers age-appropriate, positive, empowering, effective tools in a very positive context. It allows children to both "nourish their hopes and not their fears" and be prepared to make the safest choices for themselves. The teaching is excellent, the role-plays are fun, and the comic book continues to engage our daughter, reminding her of the tools we learned in class.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a parent of a 5 year old and a 2 year old, I found their workshop to be very informative, entertaining and applicable. The thing that impressed me most, is how well the material was conveyed to both the parents and the children in the room. My son and I now have a common language that we can use to discuss topics around safety and empowerment. The follow up materials (the included comic book) was a hit with my son and he likes to go back and read it with me from time to time. It is an extremely effective way to reinforce the topics that we had discussed during the workshop so that he can apply the principles on a daily basis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.