Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
126 Reviews
1234.817465
Write A Review
November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love this organization - at last, a rational, research based, clearly explained plan. Kidpower doesn't just say platitudes. Kidpower gives specific concrete actions to take, and insists that we practice. Kidpower is very loving wil they guide us to a new mindset - one that helps us feel empowered, free to put our own safety first (at last! who knew it would feel sooo radical, to put my and my daughter's safety first?). When I am asked for advice about safety and bullying, I always refer people to Kidpower, because they translate their deep care for every human being into easy, fun, practicable action.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

KidPower teaches valuable safety skills to children and adults. This group really walks their talk, it is never ok to accept abuse. I have been involved with them for 20 years. I have practiced martial arts and taught self defense for many years and KidPower really does a great job, and it does it in a fun and safe way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The excellent information and training helped my husband and me support our daughter's freedom and safety. We owe our increased peace of mind to Kidpower.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The most valuable platform for teaching safety skills. Everyone can benefit from Kidpower and it's effective techniques for teaching emotional and physical safety skills!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I attended a kid power seminar with our 8 yr old son. It was great. The instructor was very upbeat and great with the kids. She really kept the seminar moving and the audience engaged. There were some great tips we all came away with. I would love to bring this to the entire class at school especially to cover the information about personal space/boundaries/bullying. I highly recommend spending 2 hrs attending a seminar. I will do it again in a year or two because the information is worth hearing again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I took each of my girls to a Kidpower workshop when they were in Elementary School (and my older daughter just attended a Teenpower workshop). These are so great; they are not scary but do help a child know exactly what to do if they are in a threatening situation. They kids actually get to practice in a strong but fun way. The email newsletters that Irene puts out addressing some tragedy that I've been following in the news are SO HELPFUL in making sure that I deal with my own fears before trying to help my kids be safe. Their free PDF articles are also very timely and helpful. I don't know of another organization like this in the whole country. It is unusual, desperately needed and workshops are free for low-income kids. It is the top non-profit that I know of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

KidPower is my go-to resource for the most thoughtful, caring and proactive approach for parenting for issues on safety and confidence. They explain everything well, give supportive reasons, and ultimately appeal to my comon sense and real-life experience. I love KidPower!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Such a powerful message, and SO MUCH FUN! I wanted a way to talk with my 4 year old daughter about personal safety. She was getting to the age that she wasn't always near me at the park or the grocery store. I found Kidpower's articles and comic books online and began practicing role playing with her. She loved it so much that she will pull down the comics herself and ask to practice again! I hear and see her using the skills all the time. Thank you Kidpower! I will certainly use this with my son when he gets old enough to walk away!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an elementary/middle school Principal and Licensed Educational Psychologist, I have experienced the power of Kidpower through workshops my students have attended. The positive, proactive approach is one of the most effective strategies to keep children safe, secure and confident. In a time when we often turn on the news to hear only the negative, I find it important to acknowledge such a forward-thinking organization. Kidpower has contributed to a healthy, supportive climate at my school and I am thankful for their work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a mother who was sexually abused when I was little, I've struggled with how to keep my son safe without scaring him or being so over protective as to stifle his growth. Fortunately, my son's school PTA arranged for Kidpower to teach a parent workshop about how to talk with kids about their safety. I left that event with the most profound sense of relief - that there was a way to keep my son safe without scaring him - and empowerment - that I could help him to be safe in ways I never was. At the parent class, I bought one of Kidpower's safety comic books and used that as a way to introduce the subject with my son. He loved the comic book and insisted on reading the whole thing in one sitting! Since the parent event, my son and I have participated in several other workshops. Even though he didn't want to go to the classes before hand, afterwards, he admitted to having fun, especially during the class where he learned the physical self-defense skills. All that I've learned through Kidpower has helped me support my son to stay aware of and, sometimes, be cautious of the world around him, but not afraid. I, of course, wish there was a guarentee that nothing bad would ever happen to him, but I know that's not possible. Instead, I've done what I can, and will continue to do, to give him the best tools I know of to deal with lifes challenges, threats, and upsets. The best tools I've found come from Kidpower.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.