Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
126 Reviews
1234.817465
Write A Review
November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Hello, My name is Olguta Iordache and I am writting from Romania. I noticed Kidpower when I was searching for books and articles about safety and prevention of violence. I wrote to Irene van der Zande and I was pleasently surprised when she answered me right back. I support Irene work to educate people about prevention of violence and people safety.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I took a KidPower seminar through my son's preschool and felt inspired and empowered as a parent and also just as a person. The "people safety" skills that KidPower teaches are important for kids and adults, alike. I've been using the information from the seminar with both of my children for the last year and am excited to be taking my daughter to a parent/child KidPower workshop next weekend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The first Kidpower workshop I ever attended taught me more about parenting than any book I've ever read on the subject. I finally had useful language to use while trying to teach my son about how to behave in the world and keep himself safe! With the skills he and I have learned from Kidpower, I am confident about our journey through childhood. I look forward to attending more workshops as he enters adolescence so that I can help him better navigate that difficult period. I believe so deeply in what Kidpower is teaching that I have become a regular donor, and I have organized Kidpower workshops for parents in two of my son's schools in our home town. I think EVERYONE should have a chance to hear what they have to say. Even if you have parenting down to a science, I truly believe you can still learn from them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We went to the Family safety training classes. The kids loved it, and are confident now when they deal with other adults. They both learned how to stand up for themselves, set healthy boundries, and protect themselves from stranger danger and from bullies if they ever need to.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We love Kidpower! I teach at Sun Dragon Martial Arts and Self Defense in Austin, Texas, and we use many of the Kidpower resources. They have a great newsletter with lots of free articles, and I would highly recommend their books to any teacher, parent, or other adult who wants to be able to talk with kids about safety in a way that is fun and not at all scary.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My teen with LD and I traveled up to SF on a week night from Silicon Valley to attend the program, and it was worth it. I came away recommending the program to my child's school principal to incorporate in their guest speaker programs yearly! This session was oriented towards teens with disabilities, and it was excellent- took the information at an appropriate pace, and was fun and interactive for all. Thank you, Kidpower!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization. It has very helpful classes. My son took their class twice at differnt age and benefited from the classes immensely. The teachers were well-trained and vey energetic. I, as a parent, had learned a lot too. I am very grateful. Also, they publish a wonderful newsletter. Lots of helpful info! I would definitely recommned this organization to all my friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing organization that approaches child safety in a way that is logical for the adults and not at all scary for the child. Our family has been influenced by KidPower in everyday speech and in how we approach safety.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower came to my daughter's school and did a presentation for the adults prior to the presentation with the children. I really enjoyed the presentation. There were so many tools that I learned that I wished someone had taught me as a child. I am so glad my daughters were able to participate in this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Kid power is a fabulous resource for parents of any age kids. I attended workshops with my 2 children when they were each around 5 years old, right about the time they were going off to elementary school which is a stressful time for most parents. Kidpower helped me by articulating safety rules for common situations they might encounter. As parents my husband and I were worried about the unknown dangers, your imagination can go a little overboard when you are sending your precious child some where without you for the first time. Kidpower helped us to realize what the true dangers are and also to prepare for situations that we may not have thought about. More recently I got a call from the founder asking for support in the form of a donation and I took the opportunity to ask her about an issue I was facing with my teenager and she took the time to discuss my concerns, reassure me, and offered advice on how best to handle the situation. We were on the phone for at least 20 minutes discussing parenting issues, now that is an organization that really cares!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.