Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
126 Reviews
1234.817465
Write A Review
April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 3, 2011

I'm a center director in the Netherlands. I went to the states to bring Kidpower to our country. I love the down to earth and age apropriate aproach to people safety skills. I'm very impressed wit... more

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have set up Kidpower in the Netherlands after we had a great eye opening training in Santa Cruz.
I was delighted to see how serious personal safety topics were presented in a down to earth, but fun and emotionally safe way to young children. We are still using the skills today and many kids
have had great results in (re)gaining self confidence and the joy of being able to go to school and play in the neighbourhood without being afraid of bullies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring instructor training to other places in the world so it will spread more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a center director in the Netherlands. I went to the states to bring Kidpower to our country. I love the down to earth and age apropriate aproach to people safety skills.

I'm very impressed with the down to earth attitude of the workshops.
I particularly like the parents- Kids
workshops where parents learn alongside their children how to address serious issues in an emotionally safe and effective manner.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the workshops I attended and taught

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work together more with martial arts organisations.

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower brings, not just more safety, but more joy to people's lives. Kidpower's programs are tailored to fit all ages and abilities and focus on what people can DO ; they help people use the personal power they already have to build their skills and confidence. Kidpower empowers its participants by helping them use their minds, hearts and bodies to know how to act with awareness, calm and confidence, take charge of a problem, often even before its starts, and persist in getting help till they get the help they need. And Kidpower does this in age-appropriate way that stays fun for all involved.
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

Kidpower is a wonderful organization, and provides age-appropriate, upbeat and positive training in safety skills for people of all ages. Merely thinking and talking about safety problems can create a lot of anxiety, and in Kidpower they combat that anxiety by focusing on positive practice and relevant skills. The leaders in this organization have consulted experts in the fields of education, violence prevention, law enforcement, martial arts, psychology and development to create workshops that are thoughtful, dynamic and effective.

Kidpower is also an organization that respects the people who work within it. Those who work with Kidpower are encouraged to do so in a way that is fulfilling and manageable for them. That way, no one gets burned out and bitter. This organization values clear and open communication and lives their values.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower is an amazing nonprofit! First and foremost, the programs they offer on people safety are world-class. Their teaching methods emphasize teaching people practical skills in a safe and non-threatening manner. Any participant in any workshop will come away with a host of skills that are effective and useful for everyday living, as well as for keeping yourself safe in high risk situations.

I first came across Kidpower when I was looking for a program to help young women learn self-defense skills. At the time (over 20 years ago!) Kidpower was just developing the teen programs. I joined Kidpower, first as an office assistant and then as a teacher, and have remained committed to the organization in one way or another for all these years. Kidpower offers a resource to the world that is in a class of it's own! The interesting thing, is that although I first sought out Kidpower for self-defense skills, I quickly discovered that the skills they taught changed my life by helping me improve my self-esteem, practice effective boundary setting skills, and develop a more refined sense about how to stay out of danger in the first place.

I use the Kidpower resource library all the time. I refer to The Kidpower Book routinely as a parent, and I am now utilizing the Kidpower resources on bullying to address workplace issues. The writings, cartoons and videos that Kidpower has available are very helpful and easy to search.
April 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower is a huge resource for kids and others worldwide. Many years of research and careful thought have gone into the basic skills and how to teach them. No other source even comes close in terms of comprehensive information and teacher training, and the resources are shared freely.
Irene van der Zande has done many walks on the beach with authorities from all over the world as part of her effort to get every grain of information she can. We've all been called to share our views and expertise. Look out, her energy is formidable--good luck keeping up! The end-result is that she has built an organization that is out there for everyone's benefit, and never settles for "the job is done."
--Carol Middleton, self defense specialist since 1971.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have attended a training at KP which is very very helpful to teach child protection in the field

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2014

more

April 18, 2014

Kidpower has taught me how to talk to my children about scary topics in a fun, non-scary way. My kids left the workshop saying, "That was so awesome!! When can we do another Kidpower class? "
Thanks to the expertise of the Kidpower curriculum, the whole family is aware, calm and confident about
our safety.
April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great Organization and Wonderful Program. Kidpower Safety Skills have and will continue to save lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a pediatric occupational therapist for 28 years and was introduced to Kidpower by a friend. I was fortunate to be able to attend the training which included an eclectic and international group of instructors and attendees. The basic tenets and philosophy of teaching kids and adults how to optimize their safety should be included in every classroom. Having started as a grassroots movement in Santa Cruz 20 plus years ago, Irene and the staff keep the program and materials updated to reflect the ever changing world in which we live. I could not believe more strongly in the principles and methods used by Kidpower to educate and support safety in all our communities. I am proud to be associated with such an incredible program and group of people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more frequent trainings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first took the Kidpower course with my children when they were ages 4 & 6. My daughter was the older child, & even a year later when we might be talking about a topic related to relationships or personal boundaries, she would say, "Well, Kidpower says... " That speaks volumes to how easily the concepts are learned by children because of how Kidpower teaches them. Even today, 8 years later, I can still reference some of the skills & relationship concepts we were taught as a way I know my children will understand from their experience with Kidpower.

This is an excellent program & because the things that are taught are done so in a way which is so user-friendly, I seriously recommend it to everyone I know (to people personally, as well as schools, churches, & other organizations of which I am a part. My children's school actually hired Kidpower to conduct workshops at the school!).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.