Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
123 Reviews
1234.813015
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I took a Kidpower class with my son (age 11).

This is a very well put-together class taught by very experienced teachers.
It is obvious that the material has been fine-tuned and perfected over the years
with input from various experts. The take-home materials allow parents to
continue
and solidify the lessons imparted in the class. The price is very fair.

I'm going to recommend this organization to my friends. They are providing a very
important service.
June 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have taken a few Kidpower classes, and the skills have really helped me feel much safer and more comfortable both out in public and in my personal relationships. My Kidpower skills give me the confidence of knowing how to avoid problems when possible, and how to keep myself safe if a problem is unavoidable. Because of these skills I am not afraid to go out and about and I cannot overstate what a wonderful set of skills Kidpower teaches in a safe, non-threatening environment. The teachers were warm and friendly and were helpful answering questions and explaining the material. I am very pleased with my experiences with Kidpower and would recommend them highly to anyone looking to take a personal safety class. Kidpower is awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I took a Fullpower course several months ago after several increasingly scary incidents that we encountered both in the small city of Santa Cruz and in SF. Even with a background in martial arts and wrestling, I still got A LOT out of the physical skills presented at the workshop. The padded instructors are incredibly skilled individuals who generally do this as a second job, because THEY CARE about the safety of the community at large.

The verbal skills presented are invaluable for all ages, and I immediately noticed a changed in my girlfriend's perception of potentially dangerous situations and quick thinking in the event that someone might approach her at night. It has given both of us a peace of mind and I would recommend the workshop to not only all children, but adults as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund it to be available to all disadvantaged communties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are so grateful to have Kidpower skills and vocabulary as an integral part of our family dialogue about not just safety, but also relationships. This morning my 5-year-old daughter said, "Mom, I have to tell you something about safety." I used my get-centered power and I smiled at her and said, "tell me all about it." She told me about some teasing and mean language among some of the kids at school and she wanted to know what some of the words meant. We had a talk on the way to school about friendship, how problems don't have to be secrets, using and teaching others the Kidpower trash can, and standing up for what is right. By the time we got to school for drop-off she was telling me she was ready to speak up if it happened again and help the kids who were getting teased. She had the words to say and the confidence to say them. She was smiling and happy and excited for her day. Thank you Kidpower!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nationalize it so that the curriculum could be taught in every school, from daycare through the university level for teaching preparation programs, MBAs and trade schools. The skills and the approach is tried and true for fostering safe, open, respectful and caring communication - that's needed everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I use Kidpower skills with my 23-month old daughter ALL THE TIME! Just last weekend, when we were on a family trip, we used the Kidpower Safety Signs with her constantly. Every time I pat my arm, she remembers that she needs to "Check First" with mom and dad. She also uses "Hands Down Power" when we're around things we don't want her to touch. These may sound like little things, but they make a big difference in our lives as parents!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more classes! I have family in other areas that are interested but can't take classes themselves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My favorite part here is how Ed van der Zande, famous for the pension/financial scandal in Santa Cruz, is the husband of the co-founder and actively involved in their day to day financial operations. I guess newspaper records aren't as searchable then as they are now, plus memories are short.

So then, you put a fox in charge of the hen house, eh? I was at a party where he told a group of citizens how he faked the remodeling plans for his house (making it look like offices for the non-profit were other rooms, like a dining room, by pretending it was an open plan when in fact they built walls).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

May 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

The Kidpower organization is made up of wonderfully dedicated and passionate individuals who believe "Life is more fun when you're safe!" There are many nonprofits focused on how to deal with or defe... more

May 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The beauty of Kidpower is in it's simplicity and involvement of individuals in their own safety. By not just learning but practicing safety skills people are more prepared to deal with threatening situations, defend their boundaries and advocate for themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Kidpower organization is made up of wonderfully dedicated and passionate individuals who believe "Life is more fun when you're safe!" There are many nonprofits focused on how to deal with or defend yourself against violence or bullying once it occurs but Kidpower focuses on how to act, talk, react, walk and behave on a daily basis to avoid being the target of bullying, abduction, violence, predators or other dangers. They advocate practicing safety skills in a hands-on fun, interactive and non-threatening way. The Kidpower method is focused on learning through doing and that's what makes it so effective with kids of all ages, seniors, adults with disabilities and everyone who learns better through getting involved!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 3, 2011

I'm a center director in the Netherlands. I went to the states to bring Kidpower to our country. I love the down to earth and age apropriate aproach to people safety skills. I'm very impressed wit... more

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have set up Kidpower in the Netherlands after we had a great eye opening training in Santa Cruz.
I was delighted to see how serious personal safety topics were presented in a down to earth, but fun and emotionally safe way to young children. We are still using the skills today and many kids
have had great results in (re)gaining self confidence and the joy of being able to go to school and play in the neighbourhood without being afraid of bullies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring instructor training to other places in the world so it will spread more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a center director in the Netherlands. I went to the states to bring Kidpower to our country. I love the down to earth and age apropriate aproach to people safety skills.

I'm very impressed with the down to earth attitude of the workshops.
I particularly like the parents- Kids
workshops where parents learn alongside their children how to address serious issues in an emotionally safe and effective manner.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the workshops I attended and taught

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work together more with martial arts organisations.

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kidpower brings, not just more safety, but more joy to people's lives. Kidpower's programs are tailored to fit all ages and abilities and focus on what people can DO ; they help people use the personal power they already have to build their skills and confidence. Kidpower empowers its participants by helping them use their minds, hearts and bodies to know how to act with awareness, calm and confidence, take charge of a problem, often even before its starts, and persist in getting help till they get the help they need. And Kidpower does this in age-appropriate way that stays fun for all involved.
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

Kidpower is a wonderful organization, and provides age-appropriate, upbeat and positive training in safety skills for people of all ages. Merely thinking and talking about safety problems can create a lot of anxiety, and in Kidpower they combat that anxiety by focusing on positive practice and relevant skills. The leaders in this organization have consulted experts in the fields of education, violence prevention, law enforcement, martial arts, psychology and development to create workshops that are thoughtful, dynamic and effective.

Kidpower is also an organization that respects the people who work within it. Those who work with Kidpower are encouraged to do so in a way that is fulfilling and manageable for them. That way, no one gets burned out and bitter. This organization values clear and open communication and lives their values.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Share our free website Library resources by telling everyone they know about what we have to offer; put a link to Kidpower on their own Facebook page, etc; make a presentation to their school or community organization about organizing a Kidpower workshop.